Occupational Safety and Health Administration OSHA

Back to eTools

Scaffolding eTool

Suspended Scaffolds Multi-level


A multi-level scaffold is a two-point or multi-point adjustable suspension scaffold with a series of platforms at various levels resting on common stirrups.

NOTE: The requirements on this page are specific to multi-level scaffolds only. For requirements that apply to all types of suspended scaffolds, please refer to the Two-point (swing stage) module.

  • Multi-level suspended scaffolds must be equipped with additional independent support lines that are [29 CFR 1926.452(v)(1)]:
    • Equal in number to the number of points supported.
    • Equal in strength to the suspension ropes.
    • Rigged to support the scaffold if the suspension ropes fail.
  • Independent support lines and suspension ropes must not be anchored to the same points. [29 CFR 1926.452(v)(2)]
  • Supports for platforms must be attached directly to support stirrups (not to other platforms). [29 CFR 1926.452(v)(3)]
Back to Top

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.