Powered by GoogleTranslate

Occupational Safety and Health Administration OSHA

Inspection Detail

Case Status: PENALTIES REFERRED TO DEBT COLLECTION

Note: The following inspection has not been indicated as closed. Please be aware that the information shown may change, e.g. violations may be added or deleted. For open cases, in which a citation has been issued, the citation information may not be available for 5 days following receipt by the employer for Federal inspections or for 30 days following receipt by the employer for State inspections.

Inspection: 1486468.015 - Ohio Valley Electric Corporation

Inspection Information - Office: Columbus

Nr: 1486468.015Report ID: 0522500Open Date: 08/04/2020

Ohio Valley Electric Corporation
5758 State Route 7 North
Cheshire, OH 45620
Union Status: Union
SIC:
NAICS: 221112/Fossil Fuel Electric Power Generation
Mailing: P.O. Box 468, Piketon, OH 45661

Inspection Type:Fat/Cat
Scope:Partial Advanced Notice:N
Ownership:Private
Safety/Health:Safety Close Conference:
Close Case:

Related Activity:TypeIDSafetyHealth
 Referral1636559 Yes  
 Accident1650282    
Case Status: PENALTIES REFERRED TO DEBT COLLECTION

Violation Summary
Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 5 5
Current Violations 5 5
Initial Penalty $80,964 $0 $0 $0 $0 $80,964
Current Penalty $43,856 $0 $0 $0 $0 $43,856
FTA Amount $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

Violation Items
# ID Type Standard Issuance Abate Curr$ Init$ Fta$ Contest LastEvent
  1. 01001 Serious 19100269 A02 I A 10/09/2020 12/31/2020 $8,771 $13,494 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  2. 01002 Serious 19100269 C01 II 10/09/2020 $8,771 $13,494 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  3. 01004A Serious 19100269 D06 10/09/2020 $8,771 $13,494 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  4. 01004B Serious 19100269 D08 II 10/09/2020 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  5. 01004C Serious 19100269 D02 IV 10/09/2020 11/16/2020 $0 $13,494 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  6. 01005 Serious 19100269 L03 III 10/09/2020 $8,771 $13,494 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  7. 01006 Serious 19100269 L08 V 10/09/2020 $8,771 $13,494 $0 I - Informal Settlement

Accident Investigation Summary
Summary Nr: 128268.015Event: 08/03/2020One Employee Is Killed, Two Are Injured In 4-Kv Arc Flash In
At 8:41 a.m. on August 3, 2020, two employees were working as electricians for an electric power utility. They and Employee #3 were working at a coal-fired generating station. The two electricians, Employees #1 and #2, were troubleshooting the generating station's pulverizer and pulverizer fan number 6 breaker. The breaker would not rack out from an energized 4,000-volt buss. The two electricians opened up the breaker cabinet door to access the breaker and to visually inspect the racking mechanism. The two employees unbolted and removed the front interphase barrier cover. Employee #1 started to unbolt the horizontal steel barrier plate directly below the exposed primary side of the breaker in order to view the back portion of the lower racking mechanism. As he was doing this, an arc flash occurred. Employee #1 received arc flash burns to his upper body. Employee #2, located behind Employee #1, also received burns. Employee #3, who responded to the incident, received an injury to his leg. Employees #1 and #2 were hospitalized with serious burn injuries. Employee #1 died on August 26, 2020, as a result of the injuries he had received. Employee #2 was hospitalized with serious burns. Employee #3 was treated for a contusion to his left leg.
Keywords: ppe, circuit breaker, electrical, elec utility work, electrical cabinet, lockout, leg, electrician, electrical fault, electric arc, e ptd, contusion, burn, torso, energized
Inspection Degree Nature Occupation
1 1486468.015 Non Hospitalized injury Bruise/Contus/Abras Supervisors; electricians & power transm. install.
2 1486468.015 Hospitalized injury Burn/Scald(Heat) Electricians
3 1486468.015 Fatality Burn/Scald(Heat) Electricians

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close