Powered by GoogleTranslate

Occupational Safety and Health Administration OSHA

Alert: Due to routine maintenance on the OSHA website, some pages may be temporarily unavailable.
To report an emergency, file a complaint with OSHA or ask a safety and health question, call 1-800-321-6742 (OSHA).

Inspection Detail



Violation Summary
Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 5 1 6
Current Violations 4 4
Initial Penalty $21,000 $0 $0 $0 $0 $21,000
Current Penalty $10,000 $0 $0 $0 $0 $10,000
FTA Amount $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

Violation Items
# ID Type Standard Issuance Abate Curr$ Init$ Fta$ Contest LastEvent
  1. 01001 Serious 701076001 A 12/30/2013 01/02/2014 $2,100 $4,200 $0 01/22/2014 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 2. 01002 Serious 702022113 A 12/30/2013 01/02/2014 $0 $4,200 $0 01/22/2014 I - Informal Settlement
  3. 01003 Serious 19100179 N03 I 12/30/2013 01/02/2014 $4,200 $4,200 $0 01/22/2014 I - Informal Settlement
  4. 01004 Serious 702022113 C 12/30/2013 01/02/2014 $3,200 $4,200 $0 01/22/2014 I - Informal Settlement
  5. 01005 Serious 702022801 F 12/30/2013 01/02/2014 $500 $4,200 $0 01/22/2014 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 6. 02006A Other 702022801 J 12/30/2013 01/02/2014 $0 $0 $0 01/22/2014 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 7. 02006B Other 702022801 K 12/30/2013 01/02/2014 $0 $0 $0 01/22/2014 I - Informal Settlement

Accident Investigation Summary
Summary Nr: 201615515 Event: 07/12/2013Employee Is Crushed And Killed By Falling Steel Sheet
At approximately 2:15 p.m. on July 12, 2013, Employee #1 was placing a sheet of steel, approximately 15 ft tall by 4 ft wide, onto a press brake. He used a Harrington hoist with a C-clamp attachment. Employee #1 placed the C-clamp onto the leading edge of the steel and started to raise it. Employee #1 raised it vertically and placed the lower edge onto the lip of the press brake. As the steel sheet was being balanced on the lip, the sheet fell out of the C-clamp and landed on the back of Employee #1. The weight of the steel sheet crushed him against the concrete floor. Employee #1 sustained traumatic crushing injuries that killed him.
Keywords: brake, steel, press brake, hoist, back, crushed, concrete
Inspection Degree Nature Occupation
1 316640804 Fatality Other Fabricating machine operators, n.e.c.

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close