Powered by GoogleTranslate

Occupational Safety and Health Administration OSHA

Inspection Detail

Inspection: 316471978 - Grass Choppers Inc

Inspection Information - Office: Virginia Safety 6

Nr: 316471978Report ID: 0355116Open Date: 07/02/2012

Grass Choppers Inc
38253 North Fork Road
Purcellville, VA 22132
Union Status: NonUnion
SIC: 0782/Lawn and Garden Services
NAICS: 561730/Landscaping Services
Mailing: 36625 Shoemaker School Road, Purcellville, VA 22132

Inspection Type:Accident
Scope:Partial Advanced Notice:N
Ownership:Private
Safety/Health:Safety Close Conference:11/07/2012
Planning Guide: Safety-Manufacturing Close Case:01/12/2016
Emphasis: L:Fri

Related Activity:TypeIDSafetyHealth
 Accident100922178    

Violation Summary
Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 5 5
Current Violations 3 3
Initial Penalty $23,100 $0 $0 $0 $0 $23,100
Current Penalty $5,635 $0 $0 $0 $0 $5,635
FTA Amount $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

Violation Items
# ID Type Standard Issuance Abate Curr$ Init$ Fta$ Contest LastEvent
Deleted 1. 01001 Serious VAC0120 12/17/2012 12/20/2012 $7,000 $7,000 $0 01/08/2013 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 2. 01002 Serious VAC0120 12/17/2012 12/20/2012 $7,000 $7,000 $0 01/08/2013 I - Informal Settlement
  3. 01003 Serious VAC0120 12/17/2012 05/25/2013 $735 $1,050 $0 01/08/2013 I - Informal Settlement
  4. 01004 Serious 19100151 B 12/17/2012 05/25/2013 $0 $1,050 $0 01/08/2013 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 5. 01005 Serious VAC0120 12/17/2012 12/20/2012 $7,000 $7,000 $0 01/08/2013 I - Informal Settlement
  6. 01006A Serious VAC0120 12/17/2012 12/20/2012 $4,900 $0 $0 01/08/2013 Q - National Office Adjustment
  7. 01006B Serious VAC0120 12/17/2012 12/20/2012 $0 $0 $0 01/08/2013 Q - National Office Adjustment

Accident Investigation Summary
Summary Nr: 200922813Event: 06/29/2012Employee Is Crushed And Killed When Lawnmower Rolls Over
On June 29, 2012, Employee #1 was operating a zero turn lawnmower (sit down type) next to the side of a hill. The mower apparently was too close to the incline. The mower and Employee #1 rolled down the incline of the bank. Employee #1 was discovered in a creek under the water, with the mower on top of him. The Medical Examiner determined that the cause of death (verbal from LCSO) was injuries consistent with the roll-over event (crushing injuries) along with the water present in the lungs (drowning).
Keywords: roll-over, crushed, lawn mower, drown, contusion
Inspection Degree Nature Occupation
1 316471978 Fatality Asphyxia Groundskeepers and gardeners, except farm
2 316471978 Fatality Bruise/Contus/Abras Groundskeepers and gardeners, except farm

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close