US Dept of Labor

Occupational Safety & Health AdministrationWe Can Help

Inspection Detail

Inspection: 316365303 - The Smithfield Packing Company, Incorporated

Inspection Information - Office: Nc Raleigh

Nr: 316365303Report ID: 0453710Open Date: 06/01/2012

The Smithfield Packing Company, Incorporated
15855 Nc Hwy 87 West
Tar Heel, NC 28392
Union Status: Union
SIC: 2011/Meat Packing Plants
NAICS: 311611/Animal (except Poultry) Slaughtering
Mailing: 15855 Hwy 87 West, Tar Heel, NC 28392

Inspection Type:Accident
Scope:Complete Advanced Notice:N
Ownership:Private
Safety/Health:Safety Close Conference:11/19/2012
Planning Guide: Safety-Manufacturing Close Case:01/30/2015
Emphasis: N:Psmpqv, N:Sstarg11, S:Program Improvement, S:Sst

Related Activity:TypeIDSafetyHealth
 Accident100363621    
 Complaint208796110 Yes Yes
 Complaint208829952 Yes Yes

Violation Summary
Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 21 1 7 29
Current Violations 21 1 7 29
Initial Penalty $114,450 $12,600 $1,950 $129,000
Current Penalty $85,840 $9,450 $1,460 $96,750
FTA Amount

Violation Items
# ID Type Standard Issuance Abate Curr$ Init$ Fta$ Contest LastEvent
  1. 01001A Repeat 19100212 A03 II 11/21/2012 11/26/2012 $9,450 $12,600 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  2. 01001B Repeat 19100212 A01 11/21/2012 11/26/2012 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  3. 02001 Serious 19100023 C01 11/21/2012 11/26/2012 $4,725 $6,300 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  4. 02002 Serious 19100023 E01 11/21/2012 11/26/2012 $2,438 $3,250 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  5. 02003 Serious 19100024 B 11/21/2012 11/26/2012 $1,463 $1,950 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  6. 02004 Serious 19100024 F 11/21/2012 11/26/2012 $1,463 $1,950 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  7. 02005A Serious 19100027 D01 III 11/21/2012 11/26/2012 $4,725 $6,300 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  8. 02005B Serious 19100027 B01 II 11/21/2012 11/26/2012 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  9. 02006 Serious 19100119 D03 II 11/21/2012 11/26/2012 $4,725 $6,300 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  10. 02007A Serious 19100119 F01 11/21/2012 01/07/2013 $4,725 $6,300 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  11. 02007B Serious 19100119 F03 11/21/2012 01/07/2013 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  12. 02008 Serious 19100119 G03 11/21/2012 12/17/2012 $4,725 $6,300 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  13. 02009 Serious 19100119 F04 11/21/2012 01/07/2013 $4,725 $6,300 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  14. 02010 Serious 19100119 H02 V 11/21/2012 01/07/2013 $4,725 $6,300 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  15. 02011 Serious 19100119 J02 11/21/2012 01/07/2013 $4,725 $6,300 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  16. 02012 Serious 19100119 N 11/21/2012 01/07/2013 $4,725 $6,300 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  17. 02013A Serious 19100120 Q06 IIA 11/21/2012 12/17/2013 $2,438 $3,250 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  18. 02013B Serious 19100120 Q08 I 11/21/2012 01/07/2013 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  19. 02014 Serious 19100133 A03 11/21/2012 11/26/2012 $2,438 $3,250 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  20. 02015 Serious 19100146 C08 I 11/21/2012 01/07/2013 $4,725 $6,300 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  21. 02016 Serious 19100147 F02 I 11/21/2012 01/07/2013 $4,725 $6,300 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  22. 02017 Serious 19100165 B02 11/21/2012 06/30/2014 $4,725 $6,300 $0 P - Petition to Mod Abatement
  23. 02018 Serious 19100165 B03 11/21/2012 06/30/2014 $4,725 $6,300 $0 P - Petition to Mod Abatement
  24. 02019 Serious 19100212 A05 11/21/2012 11/26/2012 $4,725 $6,300 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  25. 02020 Serious 19100305 B01 II 11/21/2012 11/26/2012 $4,725 $6,300 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  26. 02021 Serious 19100305 G02 II 11/21/2012 11/26/2012 $4,725 $6,300 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  27. 03001A Other 19100119 E05 11/21/2012 01/07/2013 $730 $975 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  28. 03001B Other 19100119 D03 IE 11/21/2012 01/07/2013 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  29. 03001C Other 19100119 D02 IC 11/21/2012 11/26/2012 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  30. 03002 Other 19100212 B 11/21/2012 11/26/2012 $730 $975 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  31. 03003A Other 19100303 G01 I 11/21/2012 11/26/2012 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  32. 03003B Other 19100303 G01 II 11/21/2012 11/26/2012 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  33. 03004 Other 19100305 B01 11/21/2012 11/26/2012 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  34. 03005 Other 19100305 B02 11/21/2012 11/26/2012 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  35. 03006 Other 19100305 G01 IVA 11/21/2012 11/26/2012 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  36. 03007 Other 19100334 A02 II 11/21/2012 11/26/2012 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement

Accident Investigation Summary
Summary Nr: 200360915Event: 05/31/2012Six Employees Hospitalized Following Ammonia Release
On May 31, 2012, Employees #1 through #6 were working for the Smithfield Packing Company, Inc. The narrative did not state their occupations. When an evaporator that had been deactivated was mistakenly activated by a worker, approximately 68.5 pounds (31 kilograms) of ammonia were released on an overhead catwalk. Employees #1 through #6 inhaled the fumes, and they were transported to a hospital. Employee #1 was not hospitalized, but Employees #2 through #6 were. The narrative did not specify whether the inadvertent release of the ammonia was caused by a coworker or one of the six employees who were injured.
Keywords: refrigerator, refrigerant, chemical, ammonia, pressure release, toxic fumes, chemical vapor, inhalation, lung
Inspection Degree Nature Occupation
1 316365303 Hospitalized injury Other Occupation not reported
2 316365303 Hospitalized injury Other Occupation not reported
3 316365303 Hospitalized injury Other Occupation not reported
4 316365303 Hospitalized injury Other Occupation not reported
5 316365303 Hospitalized injury Other Occupation not reported
6 316365303 Non Hospitalized injury Other Occupation not reported

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close