Powered by GoogleTranslate

Occupational Safety and Health Administration

Inspection Detail

Inspection: 315308205 - Omega Protein, Inc.

Inspection Information - Office: Jackson

Nr: 315308205Report ID: 0419400Open Date: 04/10/2012

Omega Protein, Inc.
5735 Elder Ferry Road
Moss Point, MS 39562
Union Status: NonUnion
SIC: 2077/Animal and Marine Fats and Oils
NAICS: 311712/Fresh and Frozen Seafood Processing
Mailing: 2105 City West Blvd., Houston, TX 77043

Inspection Type:Accident
Scope:Complete Advanced Notice:N
Ownership:Private
Safety/Health:Safety Close Conference:07/12/2012
Emphasis: L:Foodpro, L:Forklift, N:Amputate, S:Amputations, S:Fall From Height, S:Noise, S:Powered Ind Vehicle, S:Struck-ByClose Case:10/17/2012

Related Activity:TypeIDSafetyHealth
 Accident101365815    

Violation Summary
Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 21 4 25
Current Violations 18 4 22
Initial Penalty $79,200 $0 $0 $0 $0 $79,200
Current Penalty $50,000 $0 $0 $0 $0 $50,000
FTA Amount $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

Violation Items
# ID Type Standard Issuance Abate Curr$ Init$ Fta$ Contest LastEvent
  1. 01001 Serious 19100023 A09 09/07/2012 10/03/2012 $1,998 $2,700 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  2. 01002 Serious 19100023 C01 09/07/2012 10/02/2012 $3,380 $4,500 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  3. 01003 Serious 19100023 D01 III 09/07/2012 09/12/2012 $1,998 $2,700 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  4. 01004 Serious 19100095 B01 09/07/2012 10/24/2012 $2,664 $3,600 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  5. 01005 Serious 19100095 G06 09/07/2012 12/05/2012 $2,664 $3,600 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  6. 01006 Serious 19100095 K02 09/07/2012 12/05/2012 $2,664 $3,600 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  7. 01007 Serious 19100132 A 09/07/2012 09/12/2012 $1,998 $2,700 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 8. 01008A Serious 19100134 C01 09/07/2012 10/02/2012 $2,700 $2,700 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 9. 01008B Serious 19100134 E01 09/07/2012 10/24/2012 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 10. 01008C Serious 19100134 F01 09/07/2012 10/24/2012 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 11. 01008D Serious 19100134 K01 09/07/2012 10/24/2012 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 12. 01009 Serious 19100147 C04 I 09/07/2012 09/12/2012 $6,300 $6,300 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  13. 01010 Serious 19100147 F03 IID 09/07/2012 09/12/2012 $4,662 $6,300 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  14. 01011 Serious 19100151 C 09/07/2012 09/19/2012 $1,998 $2,700 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 15. 01012 Serious 19100178 L01 I 09/07/2012 10/03/2012 $2,700 $2,700 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  16. 01013 Serious 19100212 A01 09/07/2012 09/12/2012 $4,662 $6,300 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  17. 01014 Serious 19100212 A05 09/07/2012 09/19/2012 $1,998 $2,700 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  18. 01015 Serious 19100219 C02 I 09/07/2012 09/12/2012 $4,662 $6,300 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  19. 01016A Serious 19100219 D01 09/07/2012 09/12/2012 $4,662 $6,300 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  20. 01016B Serious 19100219 E03 I 09/07/2012 09/12/2012 $0 $0 $0 -
  21. 01017A Serious 19100253 B02 II 09/07/2012 09/12/2012 $1,998 $2,700 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  22. 01017B Serious 19100253 B04 III 09/07/2012 09/12/2012 $0 $0 $0 -
  23. 01018 Serious 19100303 B02 09/07/2012 09/12/2012 $1,998 $2,700 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  24. 01019 Serious 19100303 F01 09/07/2012 09/19/2012 $1,998 $2,700 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  25. 01020A Serious 19100305 B01 09/07/2012 09/12/2012 $1,998 $2,700 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  26. 01020B Serious 19100305 B01 09/07/2012 09/12/2012 $0 $0 $0 -
  27. 01021A Serious 19100305 B02 09/07/2012 09/12/2012 $1,998 $2,700 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  28. 01021B Serious 19100305 B02 09/07/2012 09/12/2012 $0 $0 $0 -
  29. 02001 Other 19100037 Q01 09/07/2012 09/12/2012 $0 $0 $0 -
  30. 02002 Other 19100145 C02 09/07/2012 09/12/2012 $0 $0 $0 -
  31. 02003 Other 19100305 G02 III 09/07/2012 09/12/2012 $0 $0 $0 -
  32. 02004 Other 19101200 F05 II 09/07/2012 09/12/2012 $0 $0 $0 -

Accident Investigation Summary
Summary Nr: 201363843Event: 04/09/2012Worker Is Killed When Caught In Conveyor
On April 10, 2012, Employee #1, a 24-year-old male with Omega Protein Inc., was performing maintenance on multiple legs of conveyor system in plant. Employee #1 and a coworker were welding a cover for a double screw conveyor and welding on a box which allowed product from the double screw conveyor to be dumped onto a single screw conveyor system. The coworker went to take a break. Employee #1 was standing in a trough containing the single screw conveyor when it became operational. Employee #1 became caught and was killed in the conveyor.
Keywords: lockout, roller--mach/part, caught between, crushed, conveyor, untrained
Inspection Degree Nature Occupation
1 315308205 Fatality Cut/Laceration Occupation not reported

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close