Powered by GoogleTranslate

Occupational Safety and Health Administration OSHA

Inspection Detail

Inspection: 313636185 - Graham Lumber Company

Inspection Information - Office: Jackson

Nr: 313636185Report ID: 0419400Open Date: 03/04/2011

Graham Lumber Company
21500 Highway 25 North
Fulton, MS 38843
Union Status: NonUnion
SIC: 2421/Sawmills and Planing Mills, General
NAICS: 321113/Sawmills

Inspection Type:Accident
Scope:Complete Advanced Notice:N
Ownership:Private
Safety/Health:Safety Close Conference:03/10/2011
Emphasis: N:Amputate, N:Dustexpl, S:ElectricalClose Case:10/12/2011

Related Activity:TypeIDSafetyHealth
 Accident101365559    

Violation Summary
Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 13 13
Current Violations 7 4 11
Initial Penalty $41,310 $0 $0 $0 $0 $41,310
Current Penalty $17,490 $0 $0 $3,000 $0 $20,490
FTA Amount $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

Violation Items
# ID Type Standard Issuance Abate Curr$ Init$ Fta$ Contest LastEvent
  1. 01001 Other 19100022 A01 06/17/2011 07/06/2011 $1,000 $2,430 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  2. 01002 Other 19100023 A09 06/17/2011 07/06/2011 $1,000 $2,430 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  3. 01003 Serious 19100023 D01 II 06/17/2011 07/20/2011 $2,430 $2,430 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  4. 01004 Serious 19100110 D10 06/17/2011 07/06/2011 $1,650 $3,240 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 5. 01005 Serious 19100219 C04 I 06/17/2011 07/06/2011 $2,430 $2,430 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 6. 01006 Serious 19100253 B02 II 06/17/2011 07/06/2011 $2,430 $2,430 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  7. 01007 Serious 19100253 B04 III 06/17/2011 07/06/2011 $2,000 $2,430 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  8. 01008A Serious 19100303 G02 II 06/17/2011 07/06/2011 $2,500 $3,240 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  9. 01008B Serious 19100305 G02 III 06/17/2011 07/06/2011 $0 $0 $0 -
  10. 01009 Other 19100304 G05 06/17/2011 07/06/2011 $1,000 $2,430 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  11. 01010 Other 19100332 B01 06/17/2011 08/03/2011 $0 $5,670 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  12. 01011 Serious 19100333 C02 06/17/2011 07/06/2011 $5,670 $5,670 $0 -
  13. 01012 Serious 19100335 A01 I 06/17/2011 07/06/2011 $1,620 $3,240 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  14. 01013 Serious 19100335 A02 II 06/17/2011 07/06/2011 $1,620 $3,240 $0 I - Informal Settlement

Accident Investigation Summary
Summary Nr: 201363645Event: 03/04/2011Electric Shock - Direct Contact With Energized Parts
On March 4, 2011, an employee was working in maintenance at a lumber company's sawmill. A chipper machine at the facility was clogged, so the employee stopped the chipper to unclog it. After he had finished unclogging the chipper, it would not start again. The maintenance employee went to the motor control room to troubleshoot the problem and determine why the chipper would not start. In the process of troubleshooting in the motor control room, the employee saw a loose wire and tightened it. He was electrocuted. It is believed that the employee came in contact with a live electrical part while troubleshooting the problem with the chipper.
Keywords: electric motor, maintenance, e gi iv, electrical, electrocuted, jammed, lockout, chipper, elec circ part--misc
Inspection Degree Nature Occupation
1 313636185 Fatality Electric Shock Occupation not reported

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close