Powered by GoogleTranslate

Occupational Safety and Health Administration OSHA

Inspection Detail

Inspection: 313178154 - Wrr Environmental Services Co.,Inc

Inspection Information - Office: Eau Clair

Nr: 313178154Report ID: 0523900Open Date: 06/30/2010

Wrr Environmental Services Co.,Inc
5200 Ryder Road
Eau Claire, WI 54701
Union Status: Union
SIC: 5169/Chemicals and Allied Products, Not Elsewhere Classified
NAICS: 424690/Other Chemical and Allied Products Merchant Wholesalers

Inspection Type:Referral
Scope:Partial Advanced Notice:N
Ownership:Private
Safety/Health:Safety Close Conference:07/09/2010
Emphasis: N:Psmpqv, N:SvepClose Case:09/28/2015

Related Activity:TypeIDSafetyHealth
 Referral200342764 Yes  

Violation Summary
Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 1 14 15
Current Violations 1 14 15
Initial Penalty $3,000 $784,000 $0 $0 $0 $787,000
Current Penalty $500 $339,500 $0 $0 $0 $340,000
FTA Amount $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

Violation Items
# ID Type Standard Issuance Abate Curr$ Init$ Fta$ Contest LastEvent
  1. 01001 Serious 19100119 N 12/14/2010 02/11/2011 $500 $3,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  2. 02001A Willful 19100119 D02 IA 12/14/2010 03/04/2011 $24,250 $56,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  3. 02001B Willful 19100119 D02 ID 12/14/2010 10/07/2011 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  4. 02001C Willful 19100119 D02 IE 12/14/2010 10/07/2011 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  5. 02002 Willful 19100119 D03 IA 12/14/2010 09/06/2011 $24,250 $56,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  6. 02003 Willful 19100119 D03 IB 12/14/2010 07/06/2011 $24,250 $56,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  7. 02004A Willful 19100119 D03 IF 12/14/2010 07/06/2011 $24,250 $56,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  8. 02004B Willful 19100119 D03 IG 12/14/2010 04/06/2011 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  9. 02004C Willful 19100119 D03 IH 12/14/2010 07/06/2011 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  10. 02005 Willful 19100119 D03 II 12/14/2010 11/04/2011 $24,250 $56,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  11. 02006A Willful 19100119 E01 12/14/2010 10/07/2011 $24,250 $56,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  12. 02006B Willful 19100119 E03 III 12/14/2010 10/07/2011 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  13. 02006C Willful 19100119 E03 IV 12/14/2010 10/07/2011 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  14. 02006D Willful 19100119 E03 V 12/14/2010 10/07/2011 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  15. 02007 Willful 19100119 E05 12/14/2010 09/30/2011 $24,250 $56,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  16. 02008A Willful 19100119 F01 12/14/2010 10/07/2011 $24,250 $56,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 17. 02008B Willful 19100119 F01 IB 12/14/2010 01/28/2011 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  18. 02008C Willful 19100119 F01 ID 12/14/2010 10/07/2011 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  19. 02008D Willful 19100119 F01 IE 12/14/2010 10/07/2011 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  20. 02008E Willful 19100119 F01 IG 12/14/2010 10/07/2011 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  21. 02008F Willful 19100119 F01 II 12/14/2010 10/07/2011 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 22. 02008G Willful 19100119 F01 III 12/14/2010 01/28/2011 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  23. 02008H Willful 19100119 F01 IV 12/14/2010 10/07/2011 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  24. 02009 Willful 19100119 G01 I 12/14/2010 10/21/2011 $24,250 $56,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  25. 02010A Willful 19100119 I01 12/14/2010 08/05/2011 $24,250 $56,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  26. 02010B Willful 19100119 I02 I 12/14/2010 08/05/2011 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  27. 02010C Willful 19100119 I02 II 12/14/2010 08/05/2011 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  28. 02010D Willful 19100119 I02 IV 12/14/2010 08/05/2011 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  29. 02011A Willful 19100119 J02 12/14/2010 12/09/2011 $24,250 $56,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  30. 02011B Willful 19100119 J04 I 12/14/2010 12/09/2011 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  31. 02011C Willful 19100119 J04 II 12/14/2010 12/09/2011 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  32. 02012 Willful 19100119 J05 12/14/2010 07/30/2011 $24,250 $56,000 $0 P - Petition to Mod Abatement
  33. 02013 Willful 19100119 L01 12/14/2010 01/28/2011 $24,250 $56,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  34. 02014 Willful 19100119 M01 12/14/2010 01/28/2011 $24,250 $56,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement

Accident Investigation Summary
Summary Nr: 200340941Event: 06/29/2010Flammable Solvent Vapors Ignite And Cause Tank Explosion
At approximately 9:40 p.m. on the evening of June 29, 2010, an ignition source in a solvent sludge feed tank ignited flammable solvent vapor. The vapor was in the head space of a partially filled atmospheric tank, either tank Q and/or tank R in the E-II solvent sludge feed tank area. The explosion flame front spread to the adjacent tank, and as a result, both tank covers were removed by the force of the event. The tank cover for tank Q was peeled back to the east but still partially attached. The tank cover for tank R was jettisoned; it struck the E-II processing building to the northwest in several locations before landing on the roof of the Dock 4/5 building to the east. The subsequent tank fires resulting from the explosion were extinguished by the local fire department. The likely ignition source was determined to be ultrasonic high-level sensors within the solvent sludge feed tanks. Apparently they had separated due to solvent degradation, exposing internal wiring. There were no injuries or fatalities.
Keywords: flammable vapors, fire, explosion, flying object, process safety, tank
Inspection Degree Nature Occupation
1 313178154 Occupation not reported

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close