Powered by GoogleTranslate

Occupational Safety and Health Administration OSHA

Inspection Detail

Inspection: 312921117 - Thermal Polymer Systems, Lc

Inspection Information - Office: Houston South

Nr: 312921117Report ID: 0626700Open Date: 01/29/2010

Thermal Polymer Systems, Lc
908 S. Velasco
Angleton, TX 77515
Union Status: NonUnion
SIC: 3479/Coating, Engraving, and Allied Services, Not Elsewhere Classified
NAICS: 332812/ Metal Coating, Engraving (except Jewelry and Silverware), and Allied Services to Manufacturers

Inspection Type:Accident
Scope:Complete Advanced Notice:Y
Ownership:Private
Safety/Health:Safety Close Conference:07/26/2010
Emphasis: N:SvepClose Case:07/17/2012

Related Activity:TypeIDSafetyHealth
 Accident101933901    

Violation Summary
Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 28 4 32
Current Violations 28 4 32
Initial Penalty $49,650 $112,000 $0 $0 $0 $161,650
Current Penalty $34,755 $78,400 $0 $0 $0 $113,155
FTA Amount $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

Violation Items
# ID Type Standard Issuance Abate Curr$ Init$ Fta$ Contest LastEvent
  1. 01001 Serious 19100037 B02 07/26/2010 08/13/2010 $1,470 $2,100 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  2. 01002 Serious 19100095 C01 07/26/2010 08/30/2010 $1,470 $2,100 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  3. 01003 Serious 19100106 D04 I 07/26/2010 12/03/2010 $1,470 $2,100 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  4. 01004 Serious 19100106 D04 III 07/26/2010 12/03/2010 $1,470 $2,100 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  5. 01005 Serious 19100106 E02 IVD 07/26/2010 08/03/2010 $1,470 $2,100 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  6. 01006 Serious 19100126 C01 07/26/2010 08/03/2010 $1,470 $2,100 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  7. 01007 Serious 19100132 D02 07/26/2010 08/09/2010 $1,470 $2,100 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  8. 01008A Serious 19100134 D01 I 07/26/2010 08/30/2010 $1,470 $2,100 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  9. 01008B Serious 19100134 D01 III 07/26/2010 08/30/2010 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  10. 01009 Serious 19100134 D03 IIIB2 07/26/2010 08/30/2010 $1,470 $2,100 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  11. 01010 Serious 19100134 H02 I 07/26/2010 08/30/2010 $1,470 $2,100 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  12. 01011 Serious 19100146 D04 V 07/26/2010 08/05/2010 $1,470 $2,100 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  13. 01012 Serious 19100146 D05 I 07/26/2010 08/30/2010 $1,470 $2,100 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  14. 01013 Serious 19100146 D05 II 07/26/2010 08/30/2010 $1,470 $2,100 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  15. 01014 Serious 19100146 D09 07/26/2010 12/03/2010 $1,470 $2,100 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  16. 01015A Serious 19100146 D14 07/26/2010 12/03/2010 $1,470 $2,100 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  17. 01015B Serious 19100146 E06 07/26/2010 12/03/2010 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  18. 01016 Serious 19100146 I01 07/26/2010 12/03/2010 $1,470 $2,100 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  19. 01017 Serious 19100146 J04 07/26/2010 12/03/2010 $1,470 $2,100 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  20. 01018 Serious 19100151 C 07/26/2010 08/30/2010 $1,470 $2,100 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  21. 01019 Serious 19100157 C01 07/26/2010 08/09/2010 $525 $750 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  22. 01020A Serious 19100178 L04 III 07/26/2010 08/09/2010 $525 $750 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  23. 01020B Serious 19100178 L06 07/26/2010 08/09/2010 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  24. 01021 Serious 19100179 E02 I 07/26/2010 08/18/2010 $525 $750 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  25. 01022 Serious 19100179 J03 07/26/2010 08/18/2010 $1,470 $2,100 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  26. 01023 Serious 19100179 L03 IIIA 07/26/2010 08/03/2010 $525 $750 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  27. 01024 Serious 19100179 L03 IIID 07/26/2010 08/03/2010 $1,470 $2,100 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  28. 01025 Serious 19100184 I09 III 07/26/2010 07/29/2010 $735 $1,050 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  29. 01026 Serious 19100253 B04 III 07/26/2010 08/03/2010 $525 $750 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  30. 01027 Serious 19100253 B05 IID 07/26/2010 07/30/2010 $525 $750 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  31. 01028 Serious 19101200 H03 III 07/26/2010 12/03/2010 $1,470 $2,100 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  32. 02001 Willful 19100134 F02 07/26/2010 08/18/2010 $19,600 $28,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  33. 02002 Willful 19100146 D03 IV 07/26/2010 08/30/2010 $19,600 $28,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  34. 02003 Willful 19100146 E01 07/26/2010 08/03/2010 $19,600 $28,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  35. 02004 Willful 19100307 C 07/26/2010 08/03/2010 $19,600 $28,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement

Accident Investigation Summary
Summary Nr: 201925070Event: 01/28/2009Employee Is Killed In Flash Fire; Another Is Burned
On January 28, 2009, Employees #1 and #2 were coating a tank trailer with a highly flammable material. When fumes ignited, a flash fire occurred and burned both employees. Employee #1 was killed, and Employee #2 was hospitalized for burns over 90 percent of his body.
Keywords: burn, tank truck, flammable liquid, fire, paint, coating operation, flashback
Inspection Degree Nature Occupation
1 312921117 Hospitalized injury Burn/Scald(Heat) Hand painting, coating and decorating occupations
2 312921117 Fatality Burn/Scald(Heat) Hand painting, coating and decorating occupations

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close