Powered by GoogleTranslate

Inspection Detail

Inspection: 312367576 - Crucible Specialty Metals

Inspection Information - Office: Syracuse

Nr: 312367576Report ID: 0215800Open Date: 01/15/2009

Crucible Specialty Metals
975 State Fair Blvd
Syracuse, NY 13209
Union Status: Union
SIC: 3312/Steel Works, Blast Furnaces (Including Coke Ovens), and Rolling Mills
NAICS: 331111/Iron and Steel Mills

Inspection Type:Accident
Scope:Complete Advanced Notice:N
Ownership:Private
Safety/Health:Safety Close Conference:03/26/2009
Emphasis: N:Amputate, S:AmputationsClose Case:09/03/2010

Related Activity:TypeIDSafetyHealth
 Accident100882133    

Violation Summary
Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 66 3 1 70
Current Violations 66 3 1 70
Initial Penalty $174,500 $0 $70,200 $0 $0 $244,700
Current Penalty $126,800 $0 $49,140 $0 $0 $175,940
FTA Amount $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

Violation Items
# ID Type Standard Issuance Abate Curr$ Init$ Fta$ Contest LastEvent
  1. 01001 Serious 5A0001 07/14/2009 06/30/2010 $1,750 $2,500 $0 07/27/2009 P - Petition to Mod Abatement
  2. 01002 Serious 5A0001 07/14/2009 12/31/2009 $3,500 $5,000 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  3. 01003A Serious 19100022 A01 07/14/2009 12/31/2009 $3,500 $3,500 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  4. 01003B Serious 19100022 B01 07/14/2009 12/31/2009 $0 $0 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  5. 01004 Serious 19100022 A02 07/14/2009 12/31/2009 $5,000 $5,000 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  6. 01005A Serious 19100022 C 07/14/2009 12/31/2009 $1,750 $2,500 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  7. 01005B Serious 19100023 A08 07/14/2009 12/31/2009 $0 $0 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  8. 01006A Serious 19100023 A02 07/14/2009 10/31/2009 $1,750 $2,500 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  9. 01006B Serious 19100023 A03 I 07/14/2009 12/31/2009 $0 $0 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  10. 01007A Serious 19100023 C03 07/14/2009 05/31/2010 $1,750 $2,500 $0 07/27/2009 P - Petition to Mod Abatement
  11. 01007B Serious 19100023 E04 07/14/2009 08/17/2009 $0 $0 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  12. 01008A Serious 19100023 D01 I 07/14/2009 08/17/2009 $1,400 $2,000 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  13. 01008B Serious 19100023 D01 III 07/14/2009 12/31/2009 $0 $0 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  14. 01009A Serious 19100024 B 07/14/2009 06/18/2010 $1,400 $2,000 $0 07/27/2009 P - Petition to Mod Abatement
  15. 01009B Serious 19100024 F 07/14/2009 12/31/2009 $0 $0 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  16. 01010A Serious 19100025 D01 I 07/14/2009 12/31/2009 $1,400 $2,000 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  17. 01010B Serious 19100026 C02 IV 07/14/2009 12/31/2009 $0 $0 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  18. 01011 Serious 19100027 D03 07/14/2009 08/17/2009 $1,050 $1,500 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  19. 01012 Serious 19100036 B01 07/14/2009 12/31/2009 $1,750 $2,500 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  20. 01013A Serious 19100037 A03 07/14/2009 12/31/2009 $3,500 $5,000 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  21. 01013B Serious 19100037 B02 07/14/2009 12/31/2009 $0 $0 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  22. 01014 Serious 19100037 A02 07/14/2009 10/31/2009 $1,750 $2,500 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  23. 01015A Serious 19100037 A04 07/14/2009 12/31/2009 $1,750 $2,500 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  24. 01015B Serious 19100037 B01 07/14/2009 12/31/2009 $0 $0 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  25. 01016A Serious 19100101 B 07/14/2009 08/17/2009 $1,400 $2,000 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  26. 01016B Serious 19100253 B02 I 07/14/2009 08/17/2009 $0 $0 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  27. 01016C Serious 19100253 B04 III 07/14/2009 08/17/2009 $0 $0 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  28. 01017A Serious 19100106 D03 IIA 07/14/2009 10/31/2009 $1,400 $2,000 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  29. 01017B Serious 19100106 E02 II 07/14/2009 08/17/2009 $0 $0 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  30. 01017C Serious 19100106 E06 I 07/14/2009 08/17/2009 $0 $0 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  31. 01018A Serious 19100110 B06 I 07/14/2009 08/17/2009 $1,750 $2,500 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  32. 01018B Serious 19100110 F07 07/14/2009 10/31/2009 $0 $0 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  33. 01019A Serious 19100125 E01 II 07/14/2009 08/17/2009 $1,750 $2,500 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  34. 01019B Serious 19100125 E02 07/14/2009 07/17/2009 $0 $0 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  35. 01019C Serious 19100125 F03 07/14/2009 10/31/2009 $0 $0 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  36. 01020A Serious 19100132 A 07/14/2009 10/31/2009 $1,750 $2,500 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  37. 01020B Serious 19100133 A01 07/14/2009 10/31/2009 $0 $0 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  38. 01021A Serious 19100145 C02 I 07/14/2009 08/17/2009 $1,050 $1,500 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  39. 01021B Serious 19100146 C02 07/14/2009 10/31/2009 $0 $0 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  40. 01022A Serious 19100147 D04 I 07/14/2009 12/31/2009 $3,500 $5,000 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  41. 01022B Serious 19100147 D04 II 07/14/2009 12/31/2009 $0 $0 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  42. 01022C Serious 19100147 F03 II 07/14/2009 12/31/2009 $0 $0 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  43. 01023A Serious 19100157 G01 07/14/2009 08/17/2009 $1,750 $2,500 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  44. 01023B Serious 19100157 G02 07/14/2009 08/17/2009 $0 $0 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  45. 01023C Serious 19100158 E02 III 07/14/2009 08/17/2009 $0 $0 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  46. 01024A Serious 19100169 B03 I 07/14/2009 08/17/2009 $1,750 $2,500 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  47. 01024B Serious 19100169 B03 IV 07/14/2009 12/31/2009 $0 $0 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  48. 01025 Serious 19100176 B 07/14/2009 10/31/2009 $1,050 $1,500 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  49. 01026A Serious 19100178 A04 07/14/2009 12/31/2009 $1,750 $2,500 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  50. 01026B Serious 19100178 O01 07/14/2009 12/31/2009 $0 $0 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  51. 01027A Serious 19100178 P01 07/14/2009 12/31/2009 $1,750 $2,500 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  52. 01027B Serious 19100178 Q07 07/14/2009 10/31/2009 $0 $0 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  53. 01028 Serious 19100179 C02 07/14/2009 12/31/2009 $1,750 $2,500 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  54. 01029 Serious 19100179 E04 07/14/2009 12/31/2009 $1,400 $2,000 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  55. 01030A Serious 19100179 E05 I 07/14/2009 07/31/2010 $1,750 $2,500 $0 07/27/2009 P - Petition to Mod Abatement
  56. 01030B Serious 19100179 H02 V 07/14/2009 08/17/2009 $0 $0 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  57. 01030C Serious 19100179 J02 VII 07/14/2009 08/17/2009 $0 $0 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  58. 01030D Serious 19100179 J02 III 07/14/2009 12/31/2009 $0 $0 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  59. 01031A Serious 19100179 F04 V 07/14/2009 10/31/2009 $1,750 $2,500 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  60. 01031B Serious 19100179 F04 VII 07/14/2009 07/31/2010 $0 $0 $0 07/27/2009 P - Petition to Mod Abatement
  61. 01032A Serious 19100179 G01 I 07/14/2009 12/31/2009 $1,750 $2,500 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  62. 01032B Serious 19100179 G02 II 07/14/2009 12/31/2009 $0 $0 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  63. 01033A Serious 19100179 L03 II 07/14/2009 12/31/2009 $1,750 $2,500 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  64. 01033B Serious 19100179 L03 III 07/14/2009 12/31/2009 $0 $0 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  65. 01034A Serious 19100179 N03 I 07/14/2009 12/31/2009 $1,750 $2,500 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  66. 01034B Serious 19100179 N03 VI 07/14/2009 10/31/2009 $0 $0 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  67. 01034C Serious 19100184 C06 07/14/2009 12/31/2009 $0 $0 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  68. 01035 Serious 19100179 N03 IV 07/14/2009 06/11/2010 $1,750 $2,500 $0 07/27/2009 P - Petition to Mod Abatement
  69. 01036A Serious 19100180 B02 07/14/2009 08/17/2009 $1,750 $2,500 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  70. 01036B Serious 19100180 H01 I 07/14/2009 08/17/2009 $0 $0 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  71. 01037A Serious 19100184 F05 I 07/14/2009 08/17/2009 $1,400 $2,000 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  72. 01037B Serious 19100184 F05 III 07/14/2009 08/17/2009 $0 $0 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  73. 01037C Serious 19100184 I09 IV 07/14/2009 08/17/2009 $0 $0 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  74. 01038 Serious 19100212 A03 II 07/14/2009 11/30/2009 $3,500 $5,000 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  75. 01039 Serious 19100212 A05 07/14/2009 11/30/2009 $1,750 $2,500 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  76. 01040 Serious 19100212 B 07/14/2009 08/17/2009 $1,050 $1,500 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  77. 01041 Serious 19100213 H02 07/14/2009 08/17/2009 $1,050 $1,500 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  78. 01042A Serious 19100215 B09 07/14/2009 08/17/2009 $1,750 $2,500 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  79. 01042B Serious 19100215 D01 07/14/2009 08/17/2009 $0 $0 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  80. 01043A Serious 19100217 B04 I 07/14/2009 08/17/2009 $1,750 $2,500 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  81. 01043B Serious 19100217 B04 II 07/14/2009 08/17/2009 $0 $0 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  82. 01043C Serious 19100217 E01 I 07/14/2009 08/17/2009 $0 $0 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  83. 01044 Serious 19100217 C01 I 07/14/2009 08/17/2009 $1,750 $2,500 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  84. 01045 Serious 19100219 B01 07/14/2009 08/17/2009 $1,750 $2,500 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  85. 01046A Serious 19100219 C02 I 07/14/2009 12/31/2009 $7,000 $7,000 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  86. 01046B Serious 19100219 C03 07/14/2009 05/31/2010 $0 $0 $0 07/27/2009 P - Petition to Mod Abatement
  87. 01046C Serious 19100219 C04 I 07/14/2009 12/31/2009 $0 $0 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  88. 01046D Serious 19100219 H01 07/14/2009 12/31/2009 $0 $0 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  89. 01046E Serious 19100219 I02 07/14/2009 12/31/2009 $0 $0 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  90. 01047A Serious 19100219 D01 07/14/2009 12/31/2009 $1,750 $2,500 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  91. 01047B Serious 19100219 E03 I 07/14/2009 12/31/2009 $0 $0 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  92. 01048 Serious 19100219 F01 07/14/2009 12/31/2009 $1,750 $2,500 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  93. 01049 Serious 19100219 F03 07/14/2009 12/31/2009 $1,750 $2,500 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  94. 01050A Serious 19100242 A 07/14/2009 12/31/2009 $1,400 $2,000 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  95. 01050B Serious 19100242 B 07/14/2009 10/31/2009 $0 $0 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  96. 01051 Serious 19100243 C01 07/14/2009 10/31/2009 $1,400 $2,000 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  97. 01052 Serious 19100253 B05 IIG 07/14/2009 08/17/2009 $1,050 $1,500 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  98. 01053 Serious 19100253 E03 IIC2 07/14/2009 10/31/2009 $1,400 $2,000 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  99. 01054 Serious 19100254 D09 I 07/14/2009 10/31/2009 $1,400 $2,000 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  100. 01055A Serious 19100303 B02 07/14/2009 12/31/2009 $3,500 $5,000 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  101. 01055B Serious 19100303 B07 IV 07/14/2009 11/30/2009 $0 $0 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  102. 01055C Serious 19100305 B01 I 07/14/2009 08/17/2009 $0 $0 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  103. 01055D Serious 19100305 B01 II 07/14/2009 08/17/2009 $0 $0 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  104. 01055E Serious 19100305 B02 I 07/14/2009 08/17/2009 $0 $0 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  105. 01055F Serious 19100305 G02 III 07/14/2009 10/31/2009 $0 $0 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  106. 01056 Serious 19100303 F 07/14/2009 11/30/2009 $1,050 $1,500 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  107. 01057A Serious 19100303 G02 I 07/14/2009 11/30/2009 $3,500 $5,000 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  108. 01057B Serious 19100303 H02 I 07/14/2009 10/31/2009 $0 $0 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  109. 01058 Serious 19100303 G02 II 07/14/2009 12/31/2009 $1,750 $2,500 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  110. 01059 Serious 19100303 H05 IIIA 07/14/2009 08/17/2009 $1,750 $2,500 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  111. 01060 Serious 19100304 A02 07/14/2009 11/30/2009 $1,750 $2,500 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  112. 01061A Serious 19100304 B03 I 07/14/2009 08/17/2009 $1,750 $2,500 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  113. 01061B Serious 19100304 G05 07/14/2009 12/31/2009 $0 $0 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  114. 01062 Serious 19100304 F01 IV 07/14/2009 12/31/2009 $1,750 $2,500 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  115. 01063A Serious 19100305 A02 XG 07/14/2009 08/17/2009 $1,050 $1,500 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  116. 01063B Serious 19100305 G01 IVA 07/14/2009 12/31/2009 $0 $0 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  117. 01064 Serious 19100305 E01 07/14/2009 12/31/2009 $1,750 $2,500 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  118. 01065 Serious 19100332 B01 07/14/2009 11/30/2009 $1,750 $2,500 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  119. 01066 Serious 19100335 A01 I 07/14/2009 11/30/2009 $1,750 $2,500 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  120. 02001 Repeat 19100023 C01 07/14/2009 05/31/2010 $24,500 $35,000 $0 07/27/2009 P - Petition to Mod Abatement
  121. 02002 Repeat 19100212 A01 07/14/2009 06/30/2010 $24,500 $35,000 $0 07/27/2009 P - Petition to Mod Abatement
  122. 02003 Repeat 19101200 F05 07/14/2009 08/17/2009 $140 $200 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision
  123. 03001 Other 19101200 H02 II 07/14/2009 08/17/2009 $0 $0 $0 07/27/2009 J - ALJ Decision

Accident Investigation Summary
Summary Nr: 200881571Event: 01/15/2009Employee Is Killed In Roller Mill
On January 15, 2009, Employee #1 was connecting a water line to a roller mill. He slipped and his hand went into the pinch point between two rotating drive shafts. Employee #1 was pulled through an opening that was approximately 7 in. wide and was killed.
Keywords: milling machine, roller--mach/part, crushed, slippery surface, nip point, hand
Inspection Degree Nature Occupation
1 312367576 Fatality Fracture Laborers, except construction

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close