Powered by GoogleTranslate

Inspection Detail

Inspection: 311632285 - Difama Concrete, Inc.

Inspection Information - Office: Manhattan

Nr: 311632285Report ID: 0215000Open Date: 01/14/2008

Difama Concrete, Inc.
246 Spring Street
New York, NY 10013
Union Status: Union
SIC: 1771/Concrete Work
NAICS: 238110/Poured Concrete Foundation and Structure Contractors
Mailing: 131 Imlay Street, Brooklyn, NY 11231

Inspection Type:Accident
Scope:Complete Advanced Notice:N
Ownership:Private
Safety/Health:Safety Close Conference:06/17/2008
Emphasis: L:Fall, S:Fall From HeightClose Case:08/04/2008

Related Activity:TypeIDSafetyHealth
 Accident102449683    

Violation Summary
Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 7 3 10
Current Violations 3 2 5
Initial Penalty $66,500 $37,500 $104,000
Current Penalty $19,000 $25,000 $44,000
FTA Amount

Violation Items
# ID Type Standard Issuance Abate Curr$ Init$ Fta$ Contest LastEvent
Deleted 1. 01001 Serious 19260501 B04 I 07/11/2008 07/19/2008 $0 $2,500 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  2. 01002 Serious 19260703 A01 07/11/2008 07/19/2008 $7,000 $7,000 $0 -
Deleted 3. 01003 Serious 19260703 A02 07/11/2008 07/19/2008 $7,000 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 4. 01004 Serious 19260703 B01 07/11/2008 07/19/2008 $7,000 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 5. 01005 Serious 19260703 B07 07/11/2008 07/19/2008 $7,000 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  6. 01006A Serious 19260501 B04 I 07/11/2008 07/19/2008 $5,000 $2,500 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  7. 01006B Serious 19260502 I04 07/11/2008 07/19/2008 $0 $12,500 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  8. 01007A Serious 19260703 A02 07/11/2008 07/19/2008 $7,000 $7,000 $0 -
  9. 01007B Serious 19260703 B01 07/11/2008 07/19/2008 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  10. 01007C Serious 19260703 B07 07/11/2008 07/19/2008 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 11. 02001 Repeat 19260502 I04 07/11/2008 07/19/2008 $12,500 $12,500 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  12. 02002 Repeat 19260503 C03 07/11/2008 07/19/2008 $12,500 $12,500 $0 -
  13. 02003 Repeat 19260701 B 07/11/2008 07/19/2008 $12,500 $12,500 $0 -

Accident Investigation Summary
Summary Nr: 202341939Event: 01/14/2008One Killed, One Injured When Concrete Forms Collapse
On January 14, 2008, Employees #1 and #2 and a coworker, of DiFama Concrete, Inc ., were pouring concrete on the forty-second floor of a new building when the co ncrete forms collapsed and fell to the fortieth floor. Employee #1 fell all the way to the ground and was killed. Employee #2 fell into the cantilever net three floors below, and suffered a fractured arm and leg. He was successfully rescued from the netting by the Fire Department and by coworkers using a debris contain er suspended from a crane. The coworker with Employees #1 nad #2 was able to cli mb to safety. A coworker from another company who was on the pouring floor at th e time of the accident was also able to climb to safety. Employee #2 was admitte d to the hospital for treatment of his injuries. The coworkers were treated and released that same day.
Keywords: concrete form work, fracture, collapse, work rules, construction, equipment failure, fall, fall protection, arm, leg
Inspection Degree Nature Occupation
1 311632285 Fatality Other Occupation not reported
2 311632285 Hospitalized injury Other Occupation not reported

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close