US Dept of Labor

Occupational Safety & Health AdministrationWe Can Help

Inspection Detail

Inspection: 310798327 - Edward L. And Eugene A. Garver Dba Garver Feeds

Inspection Information - Office: Peoria

Nr: 310798327Report ID: 0524500Open Date: 10/18/2007

Edward L. And Eugene A. Garver Dba Garver Feeds
3455 North Bearsdale Road
Decatur, IL 62526
Union Status: NonUnion
SIC: 0211/Beef Cattle Feedlots
NAICS: 112112/Cattle Feedlots
Mailing: 222 East Wabash Avenue, Decatur, IL 62523

Inspection Type:Accident
Scope:Partial Advanced Notice:N
Ownership:Private
Safety/Health:Safety Close Conference:11/07/2007
Emphasis: L:Piv, S:Fall From Height, S:Powered Ind VehicleClose Case:06/05/2009

Related Activity:TypeIDSafetyHealth
 Accident100273077    

Violation Summary
Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 12 2 14
Current Violations 6 1 7
Initial Penalty $22,250 $2,500 $24,750
Current Penalty $11,000 $11,000
FTA Amount

Violation Items
# ID Type Standard Issuance Abate Curr$ Init$ Fta$ Contest LastEvent
  1. 01001 Serious 19100023 C01 11/14/2007 01/03/2008 $1,250 $2,500 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  2. 01002A Serious 19100178 L01 I 11/14/2007 01/03/2008 $1,000 $1,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  3. 01002B Serious 19100178 L06 11/14/2007 01/03/2008 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 4. 01003 Serious 19100272 D 11/14/2007 01/03/2008 $1,250 $1,250 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 5. 01004A Serious 19100272 E01 II 11/14/2007 01/03/2008 $1,250 $1,250 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 6. 01004B Serious 19100272 E02 11/14/2007 01/03/2008 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 7. 01005A Serious 19100272 G01 I 11/14/2007 01/03/2008 $2,500 $2,500 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 8. 01005B Serious 19100272 G01 II 11/14/2007 01/03/2008 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 9. 01006 Serious 19100272 G02 11/14/2007 01/03/2008 $2,500 $2,500 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  10. 01007 Serious 19100272 G03 11/14/2007 01/03/2008 $2,500 $2,500 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 11. 01008 Serious 19100272 G04 11/14/2007 01/03/2008 $2,500 $2,500 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 12. 01009 Serious 19100272 G05 11/14/2007 01/03/2008 $1,250 $1,250 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  13. 01010A Serious 19100272 D 11/14/2007 01/03/2008 $2,500 $1,250 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  14. 01010B Serious 19100272 G01 I 11/14/2007 01/03/2008 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  15. 01010C Serious 19100272 G01 II 11/14/2007 01/03/2008 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  16. 01011A Serious 19100272 E01 II 11/14/2007 01/03/2008 $1,250 $1,250 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  17. 01011B Serious 19100272 E02 11/14/2007 01/03/2008 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  18. 01011C Serious 19100272 G05 11/14/2007 01/03/2008 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  19. 01012A Serious 19100272 G02 11/14/2007 01/03/2008 $2,500 $2,500 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  20. 01012B Serious 19100272 G04 11/14/2007 01/03/2008 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  21. 02001 Other 19040029 A 11/14/2007 11/27/2007 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 22. 02002 Other 19040039 A 11/14/2007 11/19/2007 $2,500 $2,500 $0 I - Informal Settlement

Accident Investigation Summary
Summary Nr: 200271799Event: 10/17/2007Employee Dies When Engulfed In Feed Bin
On October 17, 2007, Employee #1 and a coworker were loading cattle feed onto a wagon. The feed consisted of meal, gluten and screening. The employees were having trouble with the gluten falling down out of the coned bin. Employee #1 walked away and entered the coned bin to break up the gluten. The coworker started loading the feed onto the wagon. While loading the feed, the coworker noticed the gluten start to slow down. He went over to the coned bin to unclump the gluten. He stuck his hand in the bottom of the coned bin, and felt what he thought was rubber, but then realized it was a shoe. He began to look for Employee #1, but no one had seen him. Employee #1 was in the coned bin and had been engulfed in the gluten material. Employee #1 was pronounced dead at the scene. Preliminary cause of death was compressional asphyxia with airway obstruction.
Keywords: grain bin, entangled, asphyxiated, lung
Inspection Degree Nature Occupation
1 310798327 Fatality Asphyxia Occupation not reported

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close