Powered by GoogleTranslate

Occupational Safety and Health Administration OSHA

Inspection Detail



Violation Summary
Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 4 4
Current Violations 2 2
Initial Penalty $8,750 $0 $0 $0 $0 $8,750
Current Penalty $2,500 $0 $0 $0 $0 $2,500
FTA Amount $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

Violation Items
# ID Type Standard Issuance Abate Curr$ Init$ Fta$ Contest LastEvent
Deleted 1. 01001A Serious 19260020 B01 12/05/2006 01/19/2007 $2,500 $2,500 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  2. 01001B Serious 19260021 B02 12/05/2006 01/19/2007 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 3. 01002 Serious 19260020 B02 12/05/2006 01/19/2007 $2,500 $2,500 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 4. 01003 Serious 19260020 B04 12/05/2006 01/19/2007 $2,500 $2,500 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  5. 01004 Serious 19260200 G01 12/05/2006 01/19/2007 $2,500 $1,250 $0 I - Informal Settlement

Accident Investigation Summary
Summary Nr: 201261971 Event: 07/05/2006Employee Working In Trench Is Struck By Backhoe And Killed
At approximately 1:15 p.m. on July 5, 2006, Employee #1 was working as a construction laborer for Albin Carlson & Company. He had been with this company since June 1, 2006. He was working in a trench that was approximately four feet deep, installing pipe not far from a Caterpillar combination backhoe and front end loader. The unit he was with had finished digging at that location and had moved across a secondary road to its next location, approximately twelve feet away. The operator of the combination backhoe and front end loader, who worked for another company, was attempting to put the outriggers down and throttle up the machine. This was a normal routine operation for the trenching crew, but the operator was on his first day of operating the combination unit alone; he had started with his employer on June 14. The machine suddenly lunged backward, travelling over the trench and pulling Employee #1 out of the trench with its bucket. The bucket then hit a wall, stopped, and dropped onto Employee #1. He was struck in his chest, and he was killed. There were no contributing weather variables; it was clear, warm, and dry. There were two other laborers at the site at the time of the accident.
Keywords: chest, front end loader, trench, inexperience, pipe, struck by, lost control, backhoe, backhoe bucket, backing up
Inspection Degree Nature Occupation
1 310113501 Fatality Other Construction laborers

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close