Powered by GoogleTranslate

Occupational Safety and Health Administration OSHA

Inspection Detail

Inspection: 309806115 - Tysinger Motor Company, Inc.

Inspection Information - Office: Virginia Safety 2

Nr: 309806115Report ID: 0355112Open Date: 02/07/2006

Tysinger Motor Company, Inc.
2712 Magruder Blvd.
Hampton, VA 23666
Union Status: NonUnion
SIC: 5511/Motor Vehicle Dealers (New and Used)
NAICS: 441110/New Car Dealers

Inspection Type:Planned
Scope:Partial Advanced Notice:N
Ownership:Private
Safety/Health:Safety Close Conference:02/10/2006
Planning Guide: Safety-Manufacturing Close Case:04/06/2006

Violation Summary
Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 6 6
Current Violations 5 5
Initial Penalty $10,450 $0 $0 $0 $0 $10,450
Current Penalty $5,405 $0 $0 $0 $0 $5,405
FTA Amount $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

Violation Items
# ID Type Standard Issuance Abate Curr$ Init$ Fta$ Contest LastEvent
  1. 01001A Serious 19100106 E02 IIB1 03/07/2006 04/09/2006 $1,650 $2,750 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  2. 01001B Serious 19100106 E02 III 03/07/2006 04/09/2006 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  3. 01001C Serious 19100106 E02 IVB 03/07/2006 04/09/2006 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  4. 01001D Serious 19100106 E07 IB 03/07/2006 04/09/2006 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  5. 01002A Serious 19100151 B 03/07/2006 04/09/2006 $1,155 $1,925 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  6. 01002B Serious 19100151 C 03/07/2006 03/24/2006 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 7. 01003 Serious 19100133 A01 03/07/2006 03/11/2006 $1,925 $1,925 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 8. 01004 Serious 19100138 B 03/07/2006 04/09/2006 $1,100 $1,100 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  9. 01005 Serious 19100334 A02 II 03/07/2006 03/10/2006 $1,100 $1,925 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  10. 01006A Serious 19101200 F05 I 03/07/2006 03/24/2006 $500 $825 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  11. 01006B Serious 19101200 F05 II 03/07/2006 03/24/2006 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  12. 01007A Serious 19100133 A01 03/07/2006 03/11/2006 $1,000 $0 $0 Q - National Office Adjustment
  13. 01007B Serious 19100138 B 03/07/2006 04/09/2006 $0 $0 $0 Q - National Office Adjustment

Accident Investigation Summary
Summary Nr: 200924264Event: 12/17/2005Employee Is Burned When Automotive Degreaser Ignites
On December 17, 2005, Employee #1 was working for an automobile dealer as an auto mechanic assigned to perform routine vehicle maintenance. He was working underneath a car raised on a lift, and he had removed the lower oil pan. He was cleaning the interior of the upper oil pan section with an aerosol degreasing compound containing that was 80 to 90 percent heptane. The degreaser had a flash point of -18 degrees C. For some reason, the vapor ignited, and Employee #1 was surrounded by a flash fire. The oil on the oil pan and on the floor beneath the car ignited as well. Coworkers in adjacent work stations extinguished the flames on Employee #1 and in the other areas. He was not wearing safety glasses or other personal protective equipment. He was transported to a local hospital, where he was hospitalized. He returned to work six days later after treatment for his facial burns.
Keywords: burn, automotive repair, flammable liquid, flammable vapors, fire, automobile, face, motor vehicle
Inspection Degree Nature Occupation
1 309806115 Hospitalized injury Burn/Scald(Heat) Automobile mechanics

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close