Powered by GoogleTranslate

Occupational Safety and Health Administration OSHA

Inspection Detail

Inspection: 309071231 - International Paper - Sampit Lumber Mill

Inspection Information - Office: South Carolina Priv

Nr: 309071231Report ID: 0454510Open Date: 01/18/2006

International Paper - Sampit Lumber Mill
2701 Indian Hut Road
Georgetown, SC 29440
Union Status: NonUnion
SIC: 2421/Sawmills and Planing Mills, General
NAICS: 321113/Sawmills
Mailing: 6400 Poplar Ave, Memphis, TN 38197

Inspection Type:Accident
Scope:Complete Advanced Notice:N
Ownership:Private
Safety/Health:Safety Close Conference:02/15/2006
Planning Guide: Safety-Manufacturing Close Case:05/18/2006

Related Activity:TypeIDSafetyHealth
 Accident100376391    

Violation Summary
Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 15 15
Current Violations 10 10
Initial Penalty $27,375 $0 $0 $0 $0 $27,375
Current Penalty $5,880 $0 $0 $0 $0 $5,880
FTA Amount $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

Violation Items
# ID Type Standard Issuance Abate Curr$ Init$ Fta$ Contest LastEvent
  1. 01001 Serious 10012 A 02/22/2006 04/11/2006 $600 $1,500 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  2. 01002 Serious 19100027 F 02/22/2006 02/27/2006 $600 $1,500 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  3. 01003 Serious 19100036 B01 02/22/2006 04/11/2006 $750 $1,875 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  4. 01004 Serious 19100147 C04 II 02/22/2006 04/27/2006 $750 $1,875 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 5. 01005 Serious 19100147 D03 02/22/2006 02/28/2006 $1,875 $1,875 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 6. 01006 Serious 19100147 D04 I 02/22/2006 02/28/2006 $1,875 $1,875 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 7. 01007 Serious 19100147 D05 I 02/22/2006 02/28/2006 $1,875 $1,875 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 8. 01008 Serious 19100212 A05 02/22/2006 02/27/2006 $900 $900 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 9. 01009 Serious 19100219 F03 02/22/2006 02/27/2006 $900 $900 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  10. 01010 Serious 19100265 C05 II 02/22/2006 02/27/2006 $360 $900 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 11. 01011 Serious 19100265 D01 IB 02/22/2006 04/11/2006 $4,500 $4,500 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 12. 01012 Serious 19100265 D01 IC 02/22/2006 04/11/2006 $4,500 $4,500 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 13. 01013 Serious 19100304 F04 02/22/2006 02/27/2006 $1,500 $1,500 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 14. 01014 Serious 19100304 F05 VC5 02/22/2006 02/27/2006 $900 $900 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  15. 01015 Serious 19100305 B01 02/22/2006 02/27/2006 $360 $900 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  16. 01016A Serious 19100147 D03 02/22/2006 02/28/2006 $750 $0 $0 Q - National Office Adjustment
  17. 01016B Serious 19100147 D04 I 02/22/2006 02/28/2006 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  18. 01016C Serious 19100147 D05 I 02/22/2006 02/28/2006 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  19. 01017A Serious 19100212 A05 02/22/2006 02/27/2006 $360 $0 $0 Q - National Office Adjustment
  20. 01017B Serious 19100219 F03 02/22/2006 02/27/2006 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  21. 01018A Serious 19100265 D01 IB 02/22/2006 04/11/2006 $750 $0 $0 Q - National Office Adjustment
  22. 01018B Serious 19100265 D01 IC 02/22/2006 04/11/2006 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  23. 01019A Serious 19100304 F04 02/22/2006 02/27/2006 $600 $0 $0 Q - National Office Adjustment
  24. 01019B Serious 19100304 F05 VC5 02/22/2006 02/27/2006 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement

Accident Investigation Summary
Summary Nr: 200373793Event: 01/17/2006Employee Is Killed When Caught In Debarking Machine
On January 17, 2006, Employee #1 was assigned to weld new metal onto the teeth of the feed rolls on a VKB south debarker. He had locked out two electric disconnects in the debarking room. However, some disconnects remained closed and the air line remained pressurized. Employee #1 was found by his supervisor, caught between two of the bed rolls. He sustained crushing injuries to his head and back and was killed.
Keywords: air pressure, head, welding, lockout, caught between, crushed, lumber, electrical cabinet, sawmill, air line
Inspection Degree Nature Occupation
1 309071231 Fatality Asphyxia Millwrights

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close