US Dept of Labor

Occupational Safety & Health AdministrationWe Can Help

Inspection Detail

Inspection: 307002899 - Agp Grain Marketing, Inc.

Inspection Information - Office: Lubbock

Nr: 307002899Report ID: 0627400Open Date: 11/21/2003

Agp Grain Marketing, Inc.
1000 Avenue A
Farwell, TX 79325
Union Status: NonUnion
SIC: 4221/Farm Product Warehousing and Storage
NAICS: 493130/Farm Product Warehousing and Storage
Mailing: P. O. Box 850, Bovina, TX 79009

Inspection Type:Accident
Scope:Partial Advanced Notice:Y
Ownership:Private
Safety/Health:Safety Close Conference:11/21/2003
Close Case:07/08/2004

Related Activity:TypeIDSafetyHealth
 Accident100812023    

Violation Summary
Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 7 7
Current Violations 4 4
Initial Penalty $49,000 $49,000
Current Penalty $19,600 $19,600
FTA Amount

Violation Items
# ID Type Standard Issuance Abate Curr$ Init$ Fta$ Contest LastEvent
  1. 01001 Serious 19100272 E01 II 05/03/2004 06/30/2004 $4,900 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  2. 01002 Serious 19100272 E02 05/03/2004 06/30/2004 $4,900 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  3. 01003 Serious 19100272 G01 I 05/03/2004 06/30/2004 $4,900 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 4. 01006 Serious 19100272 G02 05/03/2004 05/05/2004 $7,000 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 5. 01007 Serious 19100272 G03 05/03/2004 05/05/2004 $7,000 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 6. 01008 Serious 19100272 G04 05/03/2004 05/05/2004 $7,000 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  7. 01009A Serious 19100272 G01 II 05/03/2004 06/30/2004 $4,900 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  8. 01009B Serious 19100272 G01 IV 05/03/2004 06/30/2004 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement

Accident Investigation Summary
Summary Nr: 200811685Event: 11/20/2003Employee Is Asphyxiated While Cleaning Grain Storage Tank
On November 20, 2003, Employee #1 entered a grain storage tank to clean it. At the same time 12-ft to 15-ft of grain was dumped into the tank, engulfing Employee #1. Employee #1 died from asphyxiation.
Keywords: grain, storage tank, cleaning, asphyxiated
Inspection Degree Nature Occupation
1 307002899 Fatality Asphyxia Occupation not reported

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close