Powered by GoogleTranslate

Occupational Safety and Health Administration OSHA

Inspection Detail

Inspection: 306139189 - West Pharmaceutical Services

Inspection Information - Office: Nc Raleigh

Nr: 306139189Report ID: 0453710Open Date: 01/29/2003

West Pharmaceutical Services
2525 Rouse Road Extension
Kinston, NC 28504
Union Status: NonUnion
SIC: 3061/Molded, Extruded, and Lathe-Cut Mechanical Rubber Goods
NAICS: 326291/Rubber Product Manufacturing for Mechanical Use
Mailing: Po Box 1048, Kinston, NC 28503

Inspection Type:Accident
Scope:Partial Advanced Notice:N
Ownership:Private
Safety/Health:Safety Close Conference:07/15/2003
Planning Guide: Safety-Manufacturing Close Case:10/08/2003

Related Activity:TypeIDSafetyHealth
 Accident100354927    

Violation Summary
Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 86 86
Current Violations 1 1
Initial Penalty $602,000 $0 $0 $0 $0 $602,000
Current Penalty $100,000 $0 $0 $0 $0 $100,000
FTA Amount $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

Violation Items
# ID Type Standard Issuance Abate Curr$ Init$ Fta$ Contest LastEvent
  1. 01001 Serious 95012901 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $100,000 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 2. 01002 Serious 95012901 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 3. 01003 Serious 95012901 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 4. 01004 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 5. 01005 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 6. 01006 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 7. 01007 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 8. 01008 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 9. 01009 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 10. 01010 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 11. 01011 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 12. 01012 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 13. 01013 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 14. 01014 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 15. 01015 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 16. 01016 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 17. 01017 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 18. 01018 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 19. 01019 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 20. 01020 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 21. 01021 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 22. 01022 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 23. 01023 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 24. 01024 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 25. 01025 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 26. 01026 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 27. 01027 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 28. 01028 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 29. 01029 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 30. 01030 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 31. 01031 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 32. 01032 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 33. 01033 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 34. 01034 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 35. 01035 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 36. 01036 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 37. 01037 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 38. 01038 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 39. 01039 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 40. 01040 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 41. 01041 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 42. 01042 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 43. 01043 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 44. 01044 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 45. 01045 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 46. 01046 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 47. 01047 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 48. 01048 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 49. 01049 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 50. 01050 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 51. 01051 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 52. 01052 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 53. 01053 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 54. 01054 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 55. 01055 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 56. 01056 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 57. 01057 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 58. 01058 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 59. 01059 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 60. 01060 Serious 19101200 H03 II 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 61. 01061 Serious 19101200 H03 II 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 62. 01062 Serious 19101200 H03 II 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 63. 01063 Serious 19101200 H03 II 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 64. 01064 Serious 19101200 H03 II 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 65. 01065 Serious 19101200 H03 II 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 66. 01066 Serious 19101200 H03 II 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 67. 01067 Serious 19101200 H03 II 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 68. 01068 Serious 19101200 H03 II 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 69. 01069 Serious 19101200 H03 II 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 70. 01070 Serious 19101200 H03 II 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 71. 01071 Serious 19101200 H03 II 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 72. 01072 Serious 19101200 H03 II 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 73. 01073 Serious 19101200 H03 II 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 74. 01074 Serious 19101200 H03 II 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 75. 01075 Serious 19101200 H03 II 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 76. 01076 Serious 19101200 H03 II 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 77. 01077 Serious 19101200 H03 II 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 78. 01078 Serious 19101200 H03 II 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 79. 01079 Serious 19101200 H03 II 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 80. 01080 Serious 19101200 H03 II 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 81. 01081 Serious 19101200 H03 II 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 82. 01082 Serious 19101200 H03 II 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 83. 01083 Serious 19101200 H03 II 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 84. 01084 Serious 19101200 H03 II 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 85. 01085 Serious 19101200 H03 II 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 86. 01086 Serious 19101200 H03 II 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement

Accident Investigation Summary
Summary Nr: 200352961Event: 01/29/2003Six Employees Died From Combustible Dust Explosion
On January 29, 2003, combustible dust was ignited and caused an initial explosion in the Milling Room, which dislodged ceiling tiles, steel beams, and wall panels. The explosion created a large quantity of combustible dust in suspension, which was added fuel to the blast wave from the first explosion, creating a second and larger explosion that exited through the roof of the northeast tower section of the building. Employees #1, #2, and #3 were killed in the explosion and Employees #4, #5, and #6 died later from their injuries at the UNC Burn Center in Chapel Hill, NC.
Keywords: explosion, combustible dust
Inspection Degree Nature Occupation
1 306139189 Fatality Fracture Janitors and cleaners
2 306139189 Fatality Burn/Scald(Heat) Occupation not reported
3 306139189 Fatality Burn/Scald(Heat) Stock handlers and baggers
4 306139189 Fatality Burn/Scald(Heat) Stock handlers and baggers
5 306139189 Fatality Burn/Scald(Heat) Occupation not reported
6 306139189 Fatality Burn/Scald(Heat) Occupation not reported

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close