Powered by GoogleTranslate

Occupational Safety and Health Administration OSHA

Inspection Detail

Inspection: 305844714 - Georgia Pacific Corporation

Inspection Information - Office: Cincinnati

Nr: 305844714Report ID: 0522000Open Date: 09/19/2002

Georgia Pacific Corporation
4225 Curliss Lane
Batavia, OH 45103
Union Status: Union
SIC: 2653/Corrugated and Solid Fiber Boxes

Inspection Type:Complaint
Scope:Partial Advanced Notice:N
Ownership:Private
Safety/Health:Safety Close Conference:09/25/2002
Planning Guide: Safety-Manufacturing Close Case:07/30/2003

Related Activity:TypeIDSafetyHealth
 Complaint204079412 Yes  

Violation Summary
Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 6 6
Current Violations 2 4 6
Initial Penalty $17,550 $0 $0 $0 $0 $17,550
Current Penalty $6,700 $0 $0 $800 $0 $7,500
FTA Amount $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

Violation Items
# ID Type Standard Issuance Abate Curr$ Init$ Fta$ Contest LastEvent
  1. 01001 Serious 19100147 C04 I 09/30/2002 11/01/2002 $2,200 $2,250 $0 10/22/2002 F - Formal Settlement
  2. 01002 Other 19100147 C06 I 09/30/2002 11/01/2002 $200 $2,250 $0 10/22/2002 F - Formal Settlement
  3. 01003 Other 19100147 C07 I 09/30/2002 11/01/2002 $200 $4,500 $0 10/22/2002 F - Formal Settlement
  4. 01004 Serious 19100147 D03 09/30/2002 10/03/2002 $4,500 $4,500 $0 10/22/2002 F - Formal Settlement
  5. 01005 Other 19100147 D04 I 09/30/2002 11/01/2002 $200 $2,250 $0 10/22/2002 F - Formal Settlement
  6. 01006A Other 19100219 D01 09/30/2002 10/10/2002 $200 $1,800 $0 10/22/2002 F - Formal Settlement
  7. 01006B Other 19100219 E03 I 09/30/2002 10/10/2002 $0 $0 $0 10/22/2002 F - Formal Settlement

Accident Investigation Summary
Summary Nr: 201953254Event: 09/07/2002Employee Amputates Fingers While Cleaning Die Cutter
On September 7, 2002, an employee, a helper on a Ward two-color printing machine, and the operator of the die cutter were setting up and cleaning the machine. This consisted of changing the print dies and/or the die cut blanket. It also required cleaning the ink from the anilox and the rubber metering rolls, as well as from the ink pan. The employee was bending over to remove the ink pan below the rollers when his left hand became caught in the nip point between the anilox and the rubber rolls. He amputated the first digit of his middle finger, his fourth finger, and his little finger. Although the entry points of the different sections of the die cutter had been locked out, there was no procedure to lock out the machine when the guard was removed from the rolls to permit cleaning.
Keywords: printing press, amputated, finger, work rules, cleaning, lockout, roller--mach/part, caught between, nip point, hand
Inspection Degree Nature Occupation
1 305844714 Hospitalized injury Amputation Miscellaneous printing machine operators

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close