Powered by GoogleTranslate

Occupational Safety and Health Administration OSHA

Alert: Due to routine maintenance on the OSHA website, some pages may be temporarily unavailable.
To report an emergency, file a complaint with OSHA or ask a safety and health question, call 1-800-321-6742 (OSHA).

Inspection Detail



Violation Summary
Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 4 4
Current Violations 3 3
Initial Penalty $21,150 $0 $0 $0 $0 $21,150
Current Penalty $13,820 $0 $0 $0 $0 $13,820
FTA Amount $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

Violation Items
# ID Type Standard Issuance Abate Curr$ Init$ Fta$ Contest LastEvent
  1. 01001 Serious 5A0001 08/01/2003 08/13/2003 $8,820 $6,300 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 2. 01002 Serious 19100212 A04 08/01/2003 08/13/2003 $6,300 $6,300 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  3. 01003 Serious 19100264 D01 V 08/01/2003 08/13/2003 $4,000 $6,300 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  4. 01004 Serious 19101200 H03 II 08/01/2003 08/13/2003 $1,000 $2,250 $0 I - Informal Settlement

Accident Investigation Summary
Summary Nr: 200461515 Event: 03/25/2003Commercial Washer Starts By Accident Decapitating Employee
On March 25, 2003, Employee #1 was loading 200 pounds of linen napkins into a commercial washer, Number 4. The washer was 54 inches in diameter and the clothes opening was approximately 30 inches by 30 inches. The machine was designed only to operate with both the loading door and the safety cover door closed. Both were wide open. Employee #1 was leaning into the opening with his arms and head inside the machine. The washer unexpectedly started and was shutdown by Employee #2 who had loaded napkins into washer Number 3, and who was standing by the control panel logging the loads onto a data sheet. Before machine Number 4 could be stopped, Employee #1 was killed. He had his arms amputated and his head decapitated by the rotating drum.
Keywords: head, rotating parts, amputated, cover, drum, caught by, arm, decapitated, washing machine, door
Inspection Degree Nature Occupation
1 305548190 Fatality Amputation Laborers, except construction

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close