Powered by GoogleTranslate

Occupational Safety and Health Administration OSHA

Alert: Due to routine maintenance on the OSHA website, some pages are temporarily unavailable.
To report an emergency, file a complaint with OSHA or ask a safety and health question, call 1-800-321-6742 (OSHA).

Inspection Detail

Inspection: 303726780 - Armstrong Cabinets

Inspection Information - Office: Omaha

Nr: 303726780Report ID: 0728900Open Date: 02/20/2001

Armstrong Cabinets
R.R. 2, Box 13
Auburn, NE 68305
Union Status: Union
SIC: 2434/Wood Kitchen Cabinets
NAICS: 337110/Wood Kitchen Cabinet and Countertop Manufacturing

Inspection Type:Accident
Scope:Complete Advanced Notice:N
Ownership:Private
Safety/Health:Safety Close Conference:04/24/2001
Planning Guide: Safety-Manufacturing Close Case:08/29/2001
Emphasis: N:Mmtarg, S:Amputations

Related Activity:TypeIDSafetyHealth
 Accident360889687    

Violation Summary
Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 15 1 2 18
Current Violations 9 3 2 14
Initial Penalty $55,500 $70,000 $0 $0 $0 $125,500
Current Penalty $23,125 $0 $0 $3,000 $73,875 $100,000
FTA Amount $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

Violation Items
# ID Type Standard Issuance Abate Curr$ Init$ Fta$ Contest LastEvent
  1. 01001A Other 19100147 C05 IIB 08/08/2001 08/27/2001 $2,000 $3,500 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  2. 01001B Other 19100147 C05 IID 08/08/2001 08/27/2001 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  3. 01002 Serious 19100147 F03 II 08/08/2001 08/27/2001 $1,875 $2,500 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  4. 01003A Unclass 19100178 L01 I 08/08/2001 09/10/2001 $3,875 $5,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 5. 01003B Serious 19100178 L02 II 08/08/2001 09/10/2001 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 6. 01003C Serious 19100178 L03 IIA 08/08/2001 09/10/2001 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 7. 01004 Serious 19100178 L04 I 08/08/2001 09/10/2001 $5,000 $5,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  8. 01005 Serious 19100212 A01 08/08/2001 08/27/2001 $5,625 $5,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  9. 01006 Serious 19100212 A03 II 08/08/2001 08/27/2001 $5,000 $5,000 $0 -
  10. 01007 Serious 19100213 B06 08/08/2001 08/27/2001 $0 $2,500 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 11. 01008 Serious 19100213 H01 08/08/2001 08/27/2001 $5,000 $5,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  12. 01009 Serious 19100213 H03 08/08/2001 08/27/2001 $2,500 $5,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  13. 01010 Serious 19100213 H04 08/08/2001 08/27/2001 $2,500 $5,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  14. 01011 Other 19100213 S06 08/08/2001 08/27/2001 $1,000 $3,500 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  15. 01012 Serious 19100303 B02 08/08/2001 10/29/2001 $1,500 $1,500 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  16. 01013 Other 19100303 G01 II 08/08/2001 10/29/2001 $0 $2,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  17. 01014 Serious 19100305 B01 08/08/2001 10/29/2001 $2,625 $3,500 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  18. 01015 Serious 19100305 G01 III 08/08/2001 10/29/2001 $1,500 $1,500 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  19. 02001A Unclass 19100178 P01 08/08/2001 10/29/2001 $70,000 $70,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  20. 02001B Unclass 19100178 Q07 08/08/2001 10/29/2001 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 21. 03001 Other 19100022 A02 08/08/2001 09/10/2001 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 22. 03002 Other 19100030 A04 08/08/2001 08/27/2001 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement

Accident Investigation Summary
Summary Nr: 200051175Event: 02/19/2001Employee Caught Between Fork Truck And Semi Tractor
On February 19, 2001, Employee #1 was attempting to pull a semi-tractor that had become stuck on the ice in the parking lot. Employee #1 had pulled the powered industrial truck up to the front of the semi- tractor, gotten off the fork truck and was attempting to hook up a rope/chain to free the tractor. As employee #1 was doing this the fork truck slid forward crushing Employee #1 between the fork truck and the semi-tractor. The fork truck being used was a Hyster fork truck, Serial Number E006A02699, and weighed approximately 17,900 lbs. Employee #1 sustained crushing injuries. After the accident it was learned that the training the company provided to fork truck drivers did not include practical, hands-on training, and that this Hyster had some problems with the parking brake. The parking lot was covered with 1.5 to 2.5 in. of ice making the conditions very slick at the time of the accident. Employee #1 was killed.
Keywords: caught between, crushed, industrial truck, tractor
Inspection Degree Nature Occupation
1 303726780 Fatality Other Occupation not reported

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close