Powered by GoogleTranslate

Occupational Safety and Health Administration OSHA

Inspection Detail

Inspection: 303396345 - Pse&G

Inspection Information - Office: Marlton

Nr: 303396345Report ID: 0213900Open Date: 05/16/2002

Pse&G
Red Bank Ave.
Woodbury, NJ 08096
Union Status: Union
SIC: 4911/Electric Services
Mailing: 300 New Albany Rd, Moorestown, NJ 08057

Inspection Type:Accident
Scope:Partial Advanced Notice:Y
Ownership:Private
Safety/Health:Health Close Conference:08/23/2002
Close Case:11/01/2002

Related Activity:TypeIDSafetyHealth
 Accident101771798    

Violation Summary
Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 5 1 6
Current Violations 2 1 3
Initial Penalty $18,500 $0 $0 $0 $0 $18,500
Current Penalty $5,000 $0 $0 $0 $0 $5,000
FTA Amount $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

Violation Items
# ID Type Standard Issuance Abate Curr$ Init$ Fta$ Contest LastEvent
Deleted 1. 01001 Serious 19100269 D02 VIIB 10/03/2002 10/08/2002 $0 $5,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 2. 01002 Serious 19100269 D06 VII 10/03/2002 10/08/2002 $0 $5,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 3. 01003A Serious 19100269 W07 10/03/2002 10/08/2002 $0 $3,500 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 4. 01003B Serious 19100269 M03 V 10/03/2002 10/08/2002 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  5. 01004 Serious 19100269 M03 V 10/03/2002 10/08/2002 $2,500 $2,500 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  6. 01005 Serious 19100269 U05 II 10/03/2002 10/08/2002 $2,500 $2,500 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  7. 02001 Other 19100269 A02 IIA 10/03/2002 11/05/2002 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement

Accident Investigation Summary
Summary Nr: 201771672Event: 05/15/2002Burn - Electrical Fault In Circuit Breaker
Four electric utility employees were verifying ratio changes in transformers at a substation. The lead employee entered the compartment of an air circuit breaker to place a test lead on a deenergized 4160-volt bus. He contacted an energized 4160-volt busbar instead and caused an electrical fault. The ensuing electric arc severely burned the four employees. They were hospitalized for their injuries.
Keywords: burn, electric arc, electrical, power line worker, test equipment, e ptd, substation, circuit breaker, elec utility work, electrical fault
Inspection Degree Nature Occupation
1 303396345 Hospitalized injury Burn/Scald(Heat) Electrical power installers and repairers
2 303396345 Hospitalized injury Burn/Scald(Heat) Electrical power installers and repairers
3 303396345 Hospitalized injury Burn/Scald(Heat) Electrical power installers and repairers
4 303396345 Hospitalized injury Burn/Scald(Heat) Electrical power installers and repairers

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close