Powered by GoogleTranslate

Occupational Safety and Health Administration OSHA

Inspection Detail

Inspection: 303121669 - Phoenix Industrial Cleaning

Inspection Information - Office: Calumet City

Nr: 303121669Report ID: 0521700Open Date: 07/25/2000

Phoenix Industrial Cleaning
46 Mannheim Rd.
Bellwood, IL 60104
Union Status: NonUnion
SIC: 7699/Repair Shops and Related Services, Not Elsewhere Classified

Inspection Type:Accident
Scope:Partial Advanced Notice:N
Ownership:Private
Safety/Health:Safety Close Conference:01/11/2001
Planning Guide: Safety-Manufacturing Close Case:04/17/2001

Related Activity:TypeIDSafetyHealth
 Accident100030915    

Violation Summary
Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 8 1 9
Current Violations 3 1 4
Initial Penalty $9,600 $0 $0 $0 $5,600 $15,200
Current Penalty $4,000 $0 $0 $0 $5,600 $9,600
FTA Amount $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

Violation Items
# ID Type Standard Issuance Abate Curr$ Init$ Fta$ Contest LastEvent
Deleted 1. 01001 Serious 19100146 C02 01/19/2001 03/08/2001 $600 $600 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 2. 01002 Serious 19100146 D03 VI 01/19/2001 03/08/2001 $800 $800 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 3. 01003 Serious 19100146 D04 III 01/19/2001 03/08/2001 $1,400 $1,400 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  4. 01004 Serious 19100146 D04 VIII 01/19/2001 03/08/2001 $2,800 $2,800 $0 -
  5. 01005 Serious 19100146 E03 01/19/2001 03/08/2001 $400 $800 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  6. 01006 Serious 19100146 G01 01/19/2001 03/08/2001 $800 $800 $0 -
Deleted 7. 01007A Serious 19100146 J04 01/19/2001 03/08/2001 $1,400 $1,400 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 8. 01007B Serious 19100146 K01 III 01/19/2001 03/08/2001 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 9. 01008 Serious 19100146 J06 01/19/2001 03/08/2001 $1,000 $1,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  10. 02001 Unclass 19100146 D02 01/19/2001 03/08/2001 $5,600 $5,600 $0 I - Informal Settlement

Accident Investigation Summary
Summary Nr: 200031102Event: 07/21/2000One Employee Killed, One Injured, When Engulfed By Sugar
Employees #1 and #2 were contracted to clean and scrape a sugar silo. They had entered the silo five times, but on the sixth entry they became engulfed in sugar. They were rescued, but were engulfed a second time as sugar continued to pour out of the silo. Employee #1 died of asphyxia; Employee #2 sustained injuries that required hospitalization.
Keywords: asphyxiated, dust, storage bin, cleaning, inhalation, flowing material, buried, dust inhalation, silo
Inspection Degree Nature Occupation
1 303121669 Fatality Asphyxia Occupation not reported
2 303121669 Hospitalized injury Asphyxia Occupation not reported

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close