Powered by GoogleTranslate

Occupational Safety and Health Administration OSHA

Inspection Detail

Inspection: 302578471 - Global Intermodal Systems, Inc.

Inspection Information - Office: Houston North

Nr: 302578471Report ID: 0626600Open Date: 05/02/2001

Global Intermodal Systems, Inc.
11700 Wallisville Road
Houston, TX 77013
Union Status: NonUnion
SIC: 7359/Equipment Rental and Leasing, Not Elsewhere Classified

Inspection Type:Accident
Scope:Partial Advanced Notice:N
Ownership:Private
Safety/Health:Safety Close Conference:05/31/2001
Planning Guide: Safety-Manufacturing Close Case:09/26/2001

Related Activity:TypeIDSafetyHealth
 Accident101761039    

Violation Summary
Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 15 2 17
Current Violations 11 2 13
Initial Penalty $27,375 $0 $0 $0 $0 $27,375
Current Penalty $17,125 $0 $0 $0 $0 $17,125
FTA Amount $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

Violation Items
# ID Type Standard Issuance Abate Curr$ Init$ Fta$ Contest LastEvent
  1. 01001 Serious 19100023 C01 08/28/2001 10/15/2001 $2,000 $2,625 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  2. 01002A Serious 19100146 C05 IIC 08/28/2001 09/03/2001 $4,500 $4,500 $0 -
  3. 01002B Serious 19100146 D04 I 08/28/2001 09/15/2001 $0 $0 $0 -
  4. 01002C Serious 19100146 D04 I 08/28/2001 09/15/2001 $0 $0 $0 -
  5. 01003A Serious 19100146 G01 08/28/2001 09/15/2001 $3,000 $4,500 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  6. 01003B Serious 19100146 G04 08/28/2001 09/24/2001 $0 $0 $0 -
Deleted 7. 01004A Serious 19100147 C01 08/28/2001 09/15/2001 $1,875 $1,875 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 8. 01004B Serious 19100178 M05 I 08/28/2001 08/31/2001 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  9. 01005 Serious 19100303 F 08/28/2001 09/15/2001 $800 $1,125 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  10. 01006 Serious 19100303 G01 II 08/28/2001 09/15/2001 $1,000 $1,500 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  11. 01007 Serious 19100304 F04 08/28/2001 09/15/2001 $600 $1,125 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 12. 01008 Serious 19100305 A02 IIIG 08/28/2001 09/15/2001 $1,125 $1,125 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  13. 01009 Serious 19100305 B01 08/28/2001 09/15/2001 $800 $1,125 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 14. 01010 Serious 19100305 G01 III 08/28/2001 09/15/2001 $1,125 $1,125 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 15. 01011 Serious 19100305 G02 II 08/28/2001 09/15/2001 $1,125 $1,125 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  16. 01012 Serious 19100305 G02 III 08/28/2001 08/31/2001 $800 $1,125 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  17. 01013 Serious 19100307 B 08/28/2001 09/15/2001 $1,500 $1,500 $0 -
Deleted 18. 01014 Serious 19100334 A01 08/28/2001 09/15/2001 $1,125 $1,125 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  19. 01015 Serious 19100334 A02 I 08/28/2001 09/15/2001 $1,000 $1,875 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  20. 01016A Serious 19100305 A02 IIIG 08/28/2001 09/15/2001 $1,125 $0 $0 Q - National Office Adjustment
  21. 01016B Serious 19100305 G01 III 08/28/2001 09/15/2001 $0 $0 $0 Q - National Office Adjustment
  22. 01016C Serious 19100305 G02 II 08/28/2001 09/15/2001 $0 $0 $0 Q - National Office Adjustment
  23. 01016D Serious 19100334 A01 08/28/2001 09/15/2001 $0 $0 $0 Q - National Office Adjustment
  24. 02001 Other 19100132 D02 08/28/2001 09/15/2001 $0 $0 $0 -
  25. 02002 Other 19101200 G01 08/28/2001 09/15/2001 $0 $0 $0 -

Accident Investigation Summary
Summary Nr: 201761335Event: 05/02/2001Employee Killed By Explosion Of Fuel Trailer
Employee #1 was paired up with a coworker for the inspection of the fuel trailer on May 2, 2001. Employee #1 asked the coworker to fill out his permit paperwork. Employee #1 started at the rear compartment and started his inspection of the interior of the fuel trailer. As Employee #1 would complete the inspection of each compartment he would ask the coworker to move the fresh air blower hose from one curbside connection to the next connection as needed. During the inspection of the forward-most compartment, which was the final compartment for this trailer, there was an explosion. Employee #1 died immediately from his injuries.
Keywords: explosion, concussion, fuel truck
Inspection Degree Nature Occupation
1 302578471 Fatality Concussion Occupation not reported

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close