Powered by GoogleTranslate

Occupational Safety and Health Administration OSHA

Inspection Detail

Inspection: 302574702 - Wfi International, Inc.

Inspection Information - Office: Houston North

Nr: 302574702Report ID: 0626600Open Date: 08/16/2000

Wfi International, Inc.
4407 Haygood
Houston, TX 77022
Union Status: NonUnion
SIC: 3494/Valves and Pipe Fittings, Not Elsewhere Classified

Inspection Type:Accident
Scope:Partial Advanced Notice:N
Ownership:Private
Safety/Health:Safety Close Conference:11/20/2000
Close Case:02/16/2001

Related Activity:TypeIDSafetyHealth
 Accident101760908    

Violation Summary
Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 4 4
Current Violations 3 3
Initial Penalty $15,400 $0 $0 $0 $0 $15,400
Current Penalty $11,900 $0 $0 $0 $0 $11,900
FTA Amount $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

Violation Items
# ID Type Standard Issuance Abate Curr$ Init$ Fta$ Contest LastEvent
  1. 01001 Serious 19100212 A01 11/29/2000 01/31/2001 $4,900 $4,900 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 2. 01002 Serious 19100218 A02 I 11/29/2000 12/04/2000 $3,500 $3,500 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 3. 01003 Serious 19100218 A02 II 11/29/2000 12/04/2000 $3,500 $3,500 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  4. 01004 Serious 19100218 A02 III 11/29/2000 12/07/2000 $3,500 $3,500 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  5. 01005A Serious 19100218 A02 I 11/29/2000 12/04/2000 $3,500 $0 $0 Q - National Office Adjustment
  6. 01005B Serious 19100218 A02 II 11/29/2000 12/04/2000 $0 $0 $0 Q - National Office Adjustment

Accident Investigation Summary
Summary Nr: 201761186Event: 08/16/2000Hydraulic Press Operator Killed When Struck By Flying Object
Employee #1 was operating an E.W. Bliss hydraulic press manufacturing a tee. A metal ring was placed underneath the tapered pot. Metal blocks were placed on the top of the tapered pot to extract the split insert from within the pot. As the press was lowered onto the metal blocks the pressure increased. The metal blocks kicked out and shot across the forge shop striking Employee #1 in the face, killing him.
Keywords: die, blocks, struck by, hydraulic press, face, press operator, press
Inspection Degree Nature Occupation
1 302574702 Fatality Concussion Punching and stamping press machine operators

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close