Powered by GoogleTranslate

Occupational Safety and Health Administration OSHA

Inspection Detail

Inspection: 300482270 - Jones Sign Co Inc

Inspection Information - Office: Appleton

Nr: 300482270Report ID: 0521100Open Date: 07/24/1998

Jones Sign Co Inc
Highway 41s, 14 Miles N Of Green Bay
Green Bay, WI 54307
Union Status: NonUnion
SIC: 7312/Outdoor Advertising Services
Mailing: 711 Hinkle Rd, Po Box 2187, Green Bay, WI 54306

Inspection Type:Unprog Rel
Scope:Partial Advanced Notice:N
Ownership:Private
Safety/Health:Safety Close Conference:10/20/1998
Emphasis: L:FallClose Case:04/01/1999

Violation Summary
Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 5 2 7
Current Violations 4 3 7
Initial Penalty $11,400 $0 $0 $0 $0 $11,400
Current Penalty $5,800 $0 $0 $0 $0 $5,800
FTA Amount $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

Violation Items
# ID Type Standard Issuance Abate Curr$ Init$ Fta$ Contest LastEvent
  1. 01001 Serious 19100023 C01 10/22/1998 11/24/1998 $1,600 $3,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  2. 01002A Serious 19100147 C04 I 10/22/1998 03/31/1999 $600 $1,200 $0 P - Petition to Mod Abatement
  3. 01002B Serious 19100147 C04 II 10/22/1998 03/31/1999 $0 $0 $0 P - Petition to Mod Abatement
  4. 01003 Serious 19100332 B01 10/22/1998 03/31/1999 $1,100 $2,100 $0 P - Petition to Mod Abatement
  5. 01004 Serious 19100333 C03 IA1 10/22/1998 10/28/1998 $2,500 $3,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  6. 01005A Other 19101200 E01 10/22/1998 11/24/1998 $0 $2,100 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  7. 01005B Other 19101200 F05 II 10/22/1998 11/24/1998 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  8. 02001 Other 19100095 D01 10/22/1998 12/07/1998 $0 $0 $0 -
  9. 02002 Other 19100132 D02 10/22/1998 12/31/1998 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement

Accident Investigation Summary
Summary Nr: 300482270Event: 07/24/1998Electric Shock - Contact With Overhead Line Thru Metal Pipe
Two employees working for an outdoor advertising company were removing a 6.1-meter long section of rigid metal conduit from a billboard. An overhead power line was located within 3.3 meters of the billboard's catwalk platform, which was 11.6 meters above ground. The conduit contacted the 14.4-kilovolt power line, and both employees received electric shocks. One of the employees fell from the catwalk. Both employees were hospitalized with permanent, partially disabling injuries.
Keywords: overhead power line, electrical, electric shock, fall, advertising sign, metal pipe, e gi ib
Inspection Degree Nature Occupation
1 300482270 Hospitalized injury Electric Shock Occupation not reported
2 300482270 Hospitalized injury Electric Shock Occupation not reported

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close