Powered by GoogleTranslate

Occupational Safety and Health Administration

Inspection Detail

Case Status: CLOSED
Inspection: 281167.015 - Tyson Foods Inc

Inspection Information - Office: Omaha

Nr: 281167.015Report ID: 0728900Open Date: 03/15/2012

Tyson Foods Inc
1131 Dakota Ave
Dakota City, NE 68731
Union Status: Union
SIC:
NAICS: 311611/Animal (except Poultry) Slaughtering
Mailing: Po Box 515, Dakota City, NE 68731

Inspection Type:Fat/Cat
Scope:Partial Advanced Notice:N
Ownership:Private
Safety/Health:Safety Close Conference:03/15/2012
Close Case:12/06/2016

Related Activity:TypeIDSafetyHealth
 Referral825667 Yes  
 Accident217844    
Case Status: CLOSED

Violation Summary
Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 14 1 15
Current Violations 15 15
Initial Penalty $145,600 $0 $0 $0 $0 $145,600
Current Penalty $78,150 $0 $0 $0 $0 $78,150
FTA Amount $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

Violation Items
# ID Type Standard Issuance Abate Curr$ Init$ Fta$ Contest LastEvent
  1. 01001 Serious 19100132 A 08/23/2012 08/01/2014 $5,250 $6,600 $0 08/30/2012 F - Formal Settlement
  2. 01002 Serious 19100132 D02 08/23/2012 08/01/2014 $5,250 $0 $0 08/30/2012 F - Formal Settlement
  3. 01003 Serious 19100147 C02 I 08/23/2012 08/01/2014 $5,250 $7,000 $0 08/30/2012 F - Formal Settlement
  4. 01004 Serious 19100147 C04 I 07/11/2013 08/01/2014 $5,250 $5,250 $0 08/30/2012 I - Informal Settlement
  5. 01005 Serious 19100147 C04 II 07/11/2013 08/01/2014 $5,250 $5,250 $0 08/30/2012 I - Informal Settlement
  6. 01006 Serious 19100147 C04 II D 07/11/2013 08/01/2014 $5,250 $5,250 $0 08/30/2012 I - Informal Settlement
  7. 01007 Serious 19100147 C05 II A 1 08/23/2012 08/01/2014 $5,250 $7,000 $0 08/30/2012 F - Formal Settlement
  8. 01008A Serious 19100147 C06 I A 07/11/2013 08/01/2014 $5,250 $5,250 $0 08/30/2012 I - Informal Settlement
  9. 01008B Serious 19100147 C06 I B 08/23/2012 08/01/2014 $0 $70,000 $0 08/30/2012 F - Formal Settlement
  10. 01008C Serious 19100147 C06 I C 07/11/2013 08/01/2014 $0 $0 $0 08/30/2012 I - Informal Settlement
  11. 01008D Serious 19100147 C06 I D 07/11/2013 08/01/2014 $0 $0 $0 08/30/2012 I - Informal Settlement
  12. 01009 Serious 19100147 C06 II 07/11/2013 08/01/2014 $5,250 $5,250 $0 08/30/2012 I - Informal Settlement
  13. 01010 Serious 19100147 C07 I A 08/23/2012 08/01/2014 $5,250 $7,000 $0 08/30/2012 F - Formal Settlement
  14. 01011A Serious 19100147 C07 III A 07/11/2013 08/01/2014 $5,250 $5,250 $0 08/30/2012 I - Informal Settlement
  15. 01011B Serious 19100147 C07 III B 07/11/2013 08/01/2014 $0 $0 $0 08/30/2012 I - Informal Settlement
  16. 01011C Serious 19100147 C07 III C 07/11/2013 08/01/2014 $0 $0 $0 08/30/2012 I - Informal Settlement
  17. 01012 Serious 19100147 D05 I 07/11/2013 08/01/2014 $5,250 $5,250 $0 08/30/2012 I - Informal Settlement
  18. 01013 Serious 19101200 H03 II 08/23/2012 08/01/2014 $5,250 $6,600 $0 08/30/2012 F - Formal Settlement
  19. 01014 Serious 19101200 H03 III 08/23/2012 08/01/2014 $5,250 $0 $0 08/30/2012 F - Formal Settlement
  20. 01015 Serious 19100009 B 07/11/2013 08/01/2014 $4,650 $4,650 $0 08/30/2012 I - Informal Settlement

Accident Investigation Summary
Summary Nr: 15955.015Event: 03/14/2012Employee Is Crushed When Platform Falls On Him
At 11:50 p.m. on March 14, 2012 a Kill Floor Mechanic was attempting to repair the adjustable lift platform at the split-saw station by replacing the hydraulic lift cylinder. The maintenance mechanic began to replace the main cylinder of the activating shaft for the adjustable lift platform. A chain had been used to hold the platform up while the main cylinder was being replaced. The platform fell, struck and crushed the employee, which resulted in his death. A failure of the quick link attadched to the chain allowed the force of gravity to bring the platform down on the employee causing crushing type injuries. The platform was elevated to a height of 5 feet.
Keywords: suspended load, lockout/tagout, hydraulic lift, falling object, elevated work platform, chock, broken chain, struck by
Inspection Degree Nature Occupation
1 281167.015 Fatality Cut/Laceration Not Applicable

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close