Powered by GoogleTranslate

Occupational Safety and Health Administration OSHA

Inspection Detail

Note: The following inspection has not been indicated as closed. Please be aware that the information shown may change, e.g. violations may be added or deleted. For open cases, in which a citation has been issued, the citation information may not be available for 5 days following receipt by the employer for Federal inspections or for 30 days following receipt by the employer for State inspections.

Inspection: 1521414.015 - Department Of Corrections, State Of Iowa

Inspection Information - Office: Iowa

Nr: 1521414.015Report ID: 0751910Open Date: 03/24/2021

Department Of Corrections, State Of Iowa
406 North High Street
Anamosa, IA 52205
Union Status: Union
SIC:
NAICS: 922140/Correctional Institutions
Mailing: 510 East 12th Streetattn: Samantha Tucker, Des Moines, IA 50319

Inspection Type:Fat/Cat
Scope:Partial Advanced Notice:N
Ownership:StateGovt
Safety/Health:Safety Close Conference:03/24/2021
Close Case:

Related Activity:TypeIDSafetyHealth
 Inspection1524936 Yes  
 Accident1749307    
 Complaint1750749 Yes  
 Complaint1763032 Yes  

Violation Summary
Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 6 6
Current Violations 3 3
Initial Penalty $76,475 $0 $0 $0 $0 $76,475
Current Penalty $32,438 $0 $0 $0 $0 $32,438
FTA Amount $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

Violation Items
# ID Type Standard Issuance Abate Curr$ Init$ Fta$ Contest LastEvent
  1. 01001 Serious 88.4 - CODE OF IOWA (2021) 09/17/2021 11/03/2021 $13,494 $13,494 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  2. 01002A Serious 19100023 B01 09/17/2021 11/03/2021 $9,472 $9,472 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  3. 01002B Serious 19100023 B02 09/17/2021 11/03/2021 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 4. 01003 Serious 19100029 B01 09/17/2021 11/03/2021 $13,494 $13,494 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 5. 01004 Serious 19100146 C02 09/17/2021 11/03/2021 $7,577 $7,577 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  6. 01005A Serious 19100212 A01 09/17/2021 $9,472 $9,472 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  7. 01005B Serious 19100219 D01 09/17/2021 $0 $9,472 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  8. 01005C Serious 19100219 E02 I 09/17/2021 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 9. 01007 Serious 19101030 F03 III A 09/17/2021 11/03/2021 $13,494 $13,494 $0 I - Informal Settlement

Accident Investigation Summary
Summary Nr: 134272.015Event: 03/23/2021Two Employees Are Killed During Escape Attempt At Prison
At 10:15 a.m. on March 23, 2021, Employee #1, a corrections officer, and Employe e #2, a nurse, were assaulted by two inmates with hammers during an escape attem pt from a prison medical housing unit. The inmates struck the two employees in t he back of the head multiple times causing blunt force trauma injuries. Both emp loyees died as a result of their injuries.
Keywords: assault, blunt force trauma, guard, prison, workplace violence
Inspection Degree Nature Occupation
1 1521414.015 Fatality Registered nurses
2 1521414.015 Fatality Correctional institution officers

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close