Powered by GoogleTranslate

Occupational Safety and Health Administration OSHA

Inspection Detail

Note: The following inspection has not been indicated as closed. Please be aware that the information shown may change, e.g. violations may be added or deleted. For open cases, in which a citation has been issued, the citation information may not be available for 5 days following receipt by the employer for Federal inspections or for 30 days following receipt by the employer for State inspections.

Inspection: 1502860.015 - Mulvaney Mechanical Incorporated

Inspection Information - Office: Bridgeport

Nr: 1502860.015Report ID: 0111500Open Date: 11/13/2020

Mulvaney Mechanical Incorporated
950 Campbell Avenuebuilding 22
West Haven, CT 06516
Union Status: Union
SIC:
NAICS: 238220/ Plumbing, Heating, and Air-Conditioning Contractors
Mailing: 4 Christopher Columbus Avenue, Danbury, CT 06810

Inspection Type:Fat/Cat
Scope:Partial Advanced Notice:N
Ownership:Private
Safety/Health:Safety Close Conference:11/13/2020
Close Case:

Related Activity:TypeIDSafetyHealth
 Accident1690242    

Violation Summary
Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 4 4
Current Violations 4 4
Initial Penalty $38,228 $0 $0 $0 $0 $38,228
Current Penalty $32,000 $0 $0 $0 $0 $32,000
FTA Amount $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

Violation Items
# ID Type Standard Issuance Abate Curr$ Init$ Fta$ Contest LastEvent
  1. 01001 Serious 19100147 C04 I 05/12/2021 09/30/2021 $8,000 $9,557 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  2. 01002 Serious 19100147 C07 III A 05/12/2021 09/30/2021 $8,000 $9,557 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  3. 01003 Serious 19100147 F02 I 05/12/2021 09/30/2021 $8,000 $9,557 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  4. 01004 Serious 19100147 F03 II D 05/12/2021 09/30/2021 $8,000 $9,557 $0 I - Informal Settlement

Accident Investigation Summary
Summary Nr: 131165.015Event: 11/13/2020Employee Is Killed In Steam Line Pressure Release
At 8:12 a.m. on November 13, 2020, Employee #1 and a coworker, employed by an HV AC company, were repairing a steam piping system leak in the mechanical room of a medical care campus building. The employees did not utilize a lockout and/or tagout device. Following the repair, as the steam line was being re-energized, a threaded drip cap at the bottom of the vertical steam pipe riser apparently fa iled. The room immediately filled with pressurized steam. The interior door wa s in the closed position, and the employees were unable to exit the room. Emplo yee #1 was killed.
Keywords: boiler, burn, construction, enclosed space, energized, equipment failure, explosion, hvac, lockout/tagout, obstructed egress, pressure release, repair, respiratory, steam line, untrained
Inspection Degree Nature Occupation
1 1502860.015 Fatality

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close