Powered by GoogleTranslate

Occupational Safety and Health Administration OSHA

Inspection Detail

Case Status: CLOSED
Inspection: 1448086.015 - Doonwood Engineering Inc

Inspection Information - Office: Hawaii

Nr: 1448086.015Report ID: 0951510Open Date: 11/27/2019

Doonwood Engineering Inc
1433 Kewalo Street
Honolulu, HI 96822
Union Status: NonUnion
SIC:
NAICS: 238220/ Plumbing, Heating, and Air-Conditioning Contractors
Mailing: P.O. Box 1267, Kailua, HI 96734

Inspection Type:Fat/Cat
Scope:Partial Advanced Notice:N
Ownership:Private
Safety/Health:Safety Close Conference:11/27/2019
Close Case:07/10/2020

Related Activity:TypeIDSafetyHealth
 Accident1522279    
Case Status: CLOSED

Violation Summary
Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 4 4
Current Violations 4 4
Initial Penalty $18,660 $0 $0 $0 $0 $18,660
Current Penalty $13,995 $0 $0 $0 $0 $13,995
FTA Amount $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

Violation Items
# ID Type Standard Issuance Abate Curr$ Init$ Fta$ Contest LastEvent
  1. 01001 Serious 19100028 B03 I 03/12/2020 04/01/2020 $4,453 $5,937 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  2. 01002 Serious 12-60-2(B)(1)(B)(I) 03/12/2020 04/01/2020 $3,181 $4,241 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  3. 01003 Serious 12-60-2(B)(4)(A) 03/12/2020 04/01/2020 $3,181 $4,241 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  4. 01004 Serious 12-60-2(B)(4)(C)(II) 03/12/2020 04/01/2020 $3,181 $4,241 $0 I - Informal Settlement

Accident Investigation Summary
Summary Nr: 122074.015Event: 11/27/2019Employee Is Killed In Fall Into Unguarded Sump Pump Pit
At 11:30 a.m. on November 27, 2019, Employee and a coworker removed a sump pump from a pit to service the pump. The employee and coworker removed the steel plate covers and did not place barricades around the pit while the work was conducted to prevent falling in. The coworker stepped away for a few minutes and left the employee to ensure no one came near the pit. When the coworker returned, he found the employee had fallen twelve feet into the pit and was partially submerged and unresponsive. Emergency responders pulled the employee out of the pit and found he was killed due to skull fracture injuries sustained in the fall.
Keywords: pit, cover, fall protection, fracture, fall, unresponsive, skull, unguarded, unguarded fl opening
Inspection Degree Nature Occupation
1 1448086.015 Fatality Other Mechanical engineering technicians

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close