Powered by GoogleTranslate

Occupational Safety and Health Administration OSHA

Inspection Detail

Case Status: PENALTY PAYMENT PLAN IN PLACE

Note: The following inspection has not been indicated as closed. Please be aware that the information shown may change, e.g. violations may be added or deleted. For open cases, in which a citation has been issued, the citation information may not be available for 5 days following receipt by the employer for Federal inspections or for 30 days following receipt by the employer for State inspections.

Inspection: 1443690.015 - Jk & T Wings, Inc.

Inspection Information - Office: North Boston

Nr: 1443690.015Report ID: 0134000Open Date: 11/08/2019

Jk & T Wings, Inc.
15 South Avenue
Burlington, MA 01803
Union Status: NonUnion
SIC:
NAICS: 722511 
Mailing: 13405 West Star Drivesuite 2, Shelby Township, MI 48315

Inspection Type:Fat/Cat
Scope:Partial Advanced Notice:N
Ownership:Private
Safety/Health:Health Close Conference:11/08/2019
Close Case:

Related Activity:TypeIDSafetyHealth
 Accident1516349    
Case Status: PENALTY PAYMENT PLAN IN PLACE

Violation Summary
Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 7 1 8
Current Violations 7 1 8
Initial Penalty $75,183 $0 $0 $1,082 $0 $76,265
Current Penalty $49,200 $0 $0 $800 $0 $50,000
FTA Amount $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

Violation Items
# ID Type Standard Issuance Abate Curr$ Init$ Fta$ Contest LastEvent
  1. 01001 Serious 19100120 Q01 05/06/2020 06/10/2020 $6,000 $9,639 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  2. 01002A Serious 19100120 Q03 II 05/06/2020 06/10/2020 $9,600 $13,494 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  3. 01002B Serious 19100120 Q03 III 05/06/2020 06/10/2020 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  4. 01002C Serious 19100120 Q03 IV 05/06/2020 06/10/2020 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  5. 01003A Serious 19100120 Q06 III 05/06/2020 06/10/2020 $9,600 $13,494 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  6. 01003B Serious 19100120 Q06 V 05/06/2020 06/10/2020 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  7. 01004A Serious 19100132 A 05/06/2020 06/10/2020 $6,000 $9,639 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  8. 01004B Serious 19100133 A01 05/06/2020 06/10/2020 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  9. 01004C Serious 19100138 A 05/06/2020 06/10/2020 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  10. 01005 Serious 19100151 C 05/06/2020 06/10/2020 $6,000 $9,639 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  11. 01006A Serious 19101200 E01 05/06/2020 06/10/2020 $6,000 $9,639 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  12. 01006B Serious 19101200 E02 05/06/2020 06/10/2020 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  13. 01007 Serious 19101200 H01 05/06/2020 06/10/2020 $6,000 $9,639 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  14. 02001 Other 19100132 D02 05/06/2020 06/10/2020 $800 $1,082 $0 I - Informal Settlement

Accident Investigation Summary
Summary Nr: 121529.015Event: 11/07/2019Employee Is Killed When Incompatible Cleaning Chemicals Are
At approximately 5:00 p.m. on November 7, 2019, an employee was working at a full-service restaurant. He was working as the general manager, and he was overseeing the operation of the restaurant. At least two coworkers were present at the time of the incident. The first coworker was a cook. The employee was working with the cook to clean and organize the back hallway of the restaurant. The second worker present was the assistant general manager. The employee would be transferring control of the restaurant to the assistant general manager soon. Employee #1 left the cook to clean the area. The assistant general manager arrived to start working shortly after the employee left the area. The assistant general manager had a brief conversation with the cook. Shortly after that, the cook poured a gallon of Super 8, a sodium hypochlorite-based disinfectant, all over the floor of the back hallway. The cook then left the area. When he returned, he poured a gallon of Scale Kleen, an acid-based scale remover, all over the back hallway. The second liquid combined with the Super 8. The cook then began to scrub the floor with a long-handled brush. The combination of these cleaning chemicals resulted in the creation of a toxic atmosphere. The fumes were irritating to the respiratory tract, eyes, and skin of the people in the immediate and surrounding area. The cook notified the assistant general manager of the problem. The assistant general manager attempted to clear the mixture out of the back door of the restaurant. The cook had propped the door open. The employee took over the effort of squeegeeing the combination of cleaning chemicals out of the back door. He was soon overcome by the fumes. He sustained a seizure from which he did not recover. Following his noticeable debilitation, the coworkers contacted emergency services. They took over control of the scene when they arrived. The employee was taken to a hospital. The employee was declared dead at the hospital. Meanwhile, between the time emergency services had been contacted and their arrival, the cook continued to squeegee the combination of cleaning chemicals out the back door. He also went through the danger area to the kitchen to remove some food from the fryer. He was one of many of the restaurant workers who initially evacuated through the danger area. Several of these workers also returned to the danger prior to any evidence that the hazardous atmosphere had subsided. Only the employee, the cook, and the assistant general manager were involved directly in the response to the incident. The employee died as the result of this incident. His employer believed that a pre-existing medical condition contributed to his severe reaction. Numerous other workers sustained varying degrees of irritation to their respiratory tracts, eyes, and skin. Eight workers were admitted to the hospital for observation and testing and released shortly thereafter. According to reports by the Burlington MA police and fire departments, six other individuals were also admitted to the hospital for the same reason. The toxic atmosphere created by the combination of the Super 8 and the Scale Kleen was the cause of the harm.
Keywords: toxic atmosphere, lung, inhalation, eye, cleaning, chemical vapor, respiratory tract, skin, vapor, chemical reaction, restaurant, poisoning
Inspection Degree Nature Occupation
1 1443690.015 Fatality Burn(Chemical) Managers and administrators, n.e.c
2 1443690.015 Fatality Burn(Chemical) Managers and administrators, n.e.c
3 1443690.015 Fatality Burn(Chemical) Managers and administrators, n.e.c
4 1443690.015 Fatality Burn(Chemical) Managers and administrators, n.e.c
5 1443690.015 Fatality Burn(Chemical) Managers and administrators, n.e.c

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close