Powered by GoogleTranslate

Occupational Safety and Health Administration OSHA

Alert: Due to routine maintenance on the OSHA website, some pages may be temporarily unavailable.
To report an emergency, file a complaint with OSHA or ask a safety and health question, call 1-800-321-6742 (OSHA).

Inspection Detail

Case Status: CLOSED
Inspection: 1362582.015 - Heritage Plastics, Inc.

Inspection Information - Office: Jackson

Nr: 1362582.015Report ID: 0419400Open Date: 11/28/2018

Heritage Plastics, Inc.
1002 Hunt Street
Picayune, MS 39466
Union Status: NonUnion
SIC:
NAICS: 326122/Plastics Pipe and Pipe Fitting Manufacturing
Mailing: 1002 Hunt Street, Picayune, MS 39466

Inspection Type:Referral
Scope:Partial Advanced Notice:N
Ownership:Private
Safety/Health:Safety Close Conference:11/28/2018
Emphasis: N:AmputateClose Case:04/30/2019

Related Activity:TypeIDSafetyHealth
 Referral1402953 Yes  
Case Status: CLOSED

Violation Summary
Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 2 1 3
Current Violations 3 3
Initial Penalty $26,520 $132,598 $0 $0 $0 $159,118
Current Penalty $66,300 $0 $0 $0 $0 $66,300
FTA Amount $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

Violation Items
# ID Type Standard Issuance Abate Curr$ Init$ Fta$ Contest LastEvent
  1. 01001A Serious 19100147 C07 I A 04/03/2019 04/11/2019 $13,260 $13,260 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  2. 01001B Serious 19100147 C07 I B 04/03/2019 04/11/2019 $13,260 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  3. 01002 Serious 19100212 A03 II 04/03/2019 04/25/2019 $13,260 $13,260 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  4. 02001A Serious 19100147 C04 I 04/03/2019 04/18/2019 $13,260 $132,598 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  5. 02001B Serious 19100147 D04 I 04/03/2019 04/18/2019 $13,260 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement

Accident Investigation Summary
Summary Nr: 111327.015Event: 11/23/2018Employee Amputates Fingers And Thumb When Caught By Auger Bi
At 8:30 a.m. on November 23, 2018, an employee was cleaning around auger pits inside the machine without locking it down. The employee's gloved right hand was caught by the rotating auger and pulled into the bits. The employee amputated four fingers below the knuckles and his thumb was amputated above the knuckle. The employee was hospitalized.
Keywords: thumb, amputated, caught by, finger, amputation, glove, drill, auger
Inspection Degree Nature Occupation
1 1362582.015 Hospitalized injury Amputation Machine operators, not specified

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close