Powered by GoogleTranslate

Occupational Safety and Health Administration OSHA

Alert: Due to routine maintenance on the OSHA website, some pages may be temporarily unavailable.
To report an emergency, file a complaint with OSHA or ask a safety and health question, call 1-800-321-6742 (OSHA).

Inspection Detail

Inspection: 125873331 - A & A Steam Cleaning

Inspection Information - Office: Ca San Diego

Nr: 125873331Report ID: 0950632Open Date: 08/09/2005

A & A Steam Cleaning
2652 Via Del Ville
Del Mar, CA 92130
Union Status: NonUnion
SIC: 3822/Automatic Controls for Regulating Residential and Commercial Environments and Appliances
NAICS: 334512/ Automatic Environmental Control Manufacturing for Residential, Commercial, and Appliance Use
Mailing: 2737 Via Orange Way, Suite 105, Spring Valley, CA 91978

Inspection Type:Accident
Scope:Partial Advanced Notice:N
Ownership:Private
Safety/Health:Safety Close Conference:08/29/2005
Planning Guide: Safety-Manufacturing Close Case:03/28/2008

Related Activity:TypeIDSafetyHealth
 Accident362424194    

Violation Summary
Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 6 6
Current Violations 6 6
Initial Penalty $0 $0 $0 $5,425 $0 $5,425
Current Penalty $0 $0 $0 $150 $0 $150
FTA Amount $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

Violation Items
# ID Type Standard Issuance Abate Curr$ Init$ Fta$ Contest LastEvent
  1. 01001 Other 342 A 08/29/2005 10/17/2005 $0 $5,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  2. 01002 Other 23400016 A 08/29/2005 10/17/2005 $50 $85 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  3. 01003 Other 3241 C 08/29/2005 10/17/2005 $50 $85 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  4. 01004 Other 5194 H01 08/29/2005 10/17/2005 $50 $85 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  5. 01005 Other 5194 F04 A 08/29/2005 10/17/2005 $0 $85 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  6. 01006 Other 5194 G01 08/29/2005 10/17/2005 $0 $85 $0 I - Informal Settlement

Accident Investigation Summary
Summary Nr: 201068939Event: 07/29/2005Employee Injures Foot With High-Pressure Steam Gun
At approximately 3:30 a.m. on July 29, 2005, Employee #1, a laborer, was steam cleaning a sidewalk in a small shopping center. During the cleaning operation, he pulled the hose to get more slack in the line. When he did so, the nozzle on the end of the high pressure spraying wand swept across his outside right neoprene boot. The high pressure steam cut through the outside of the neoprene right boot, lacerating and burning his right ankle. Emergency medical personnel were summoned. They arrived and transported him to a medical center. He stayed at this hospital for three days and then was transported to another hospital, where he stayed for an additional six days. Employee #1 received a nosocomial staphylococcus infection during the stay in the first hospital and was readmitted into another hospital. At the second hospital, he received skin graft surgery to replace the damage skin burned in the accident.
Keywords: burn, portable power tool, steam cleaner, struck against, steam, laceration, high pressure, foot
Inspection Degree Nature Occupation
1 125873331 Hospitalized injury Burn/Scald(Heat) Laborers, except construction

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close