Powered by GoogleTranslate

Occupational Safety and Health Administration OSHA

Alert: Due to routine maintenance on the OSHA website, some pages may be temporarily unavailable.
To report an emergency, file a complaint with OSHA or ask a safety and health question, call 1-800-321-6742 (OSHA).

Inspection Detail

Inspection: 123332355 - B.E. & K. Construction Company

Inspection Information - Office: Hartford

Nr: 123332355Report ID: 0112000Open Date: 01/21/1997

B.E. & K. Construction Company
Route 163, Rand Whitney Containerboard
Montville, CT 06353
Union Status: NonUnion
SIC: 1629/Heavy Construction, Not Elsewhere Classified
Mailing: 2000 International Park Drive, Birmingham, AL 35243

Inspection Type:Unprog Rel
Scope:Partial Advanced Notice:N
Ownership:Private
Safety/Health:Health Close Conference:01/23/1997
Close Case:04/18/1997

Related Activity:TypeIDSafetyHealth
 Accident100080019    
 Referral902554328   Yes

Violation Summary
Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 2 1 3
Current Violations 1 1
Initial Penalty $14,000 $0 $35,000 $0 $0 $49,000
Current Penalty $7,000 $0 $0 $0 $0 $7,000
FTA Amount $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

Violation Items
# ID Type Standard Issuance Abate Curr$ Init$ Fta$ Contest LastEvent
  1. 01001 Serious 19100147 C07 I 03/14/1997 04/09/1997 $7,000 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 2. 01002 Serious 19100147 D05 I 03/14/1997 03/19/1997 $7,000 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 3. 02001 Repeat 19100147 D04 I 03/14/1997 03/19/1997 $35,000 $35,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement

Accident Investigation Summary
Summary Nr: 200080018Event: 01/20/1997Four Employees Burned With Hot Water/Steam
Employees #1 through #4 were disconnecting the outlet flange on a sheet and tube heat exchanger. The flange disengaged, and a slug of steam and hot water shot out from the outlet port. All four workers sustained burns; Employees #1, #2, and #4 were hospitalized.
Keywords: unsecured, work rules, steam, heat exchanger, hot water, burn, maintenance, construction, lockout, accidental discharge
Inspection Degree Nature Occupation
1 123332355 Non Hospitalized injury Burn/Scald(Heat) Construction laborers
2 123332355 Hospitalized injury Burn/Scald(Heat) Millwrights
3 123332355 Hospitalized injury Burn/Scald(Heat) Millwrights

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close