Powered by GoogleTranslate

Occupational Safety and Health Administration OSHA

Inspection Detail



Violation Summary
Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 7 7
Current Violations 3 1 4
Initial Penalty $5,700 $0 $0 $0 $0 $5,700
Current Penalty $3,100 $0 $0 $100 $0 $3,200
FTA Amount $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

Violation Items
# ID Type Standard Issuance Abate Curr$ Init$ Fta$ Contest LastEvent
Deleted 1. 01001 Serious 19100266 D01 IV 12/11/2000 12/14/2000 $750 $750 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 2. 01002 Serious 19100266 D01 VI 12/11/2000 12/14/2000 $750 $750 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 3. 01003 Serious 19100266 D01 VIIA 12/11/2000 12/14/2000 $750 $750 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 4. 01004 Serious 19100266 D01 VIIB 12/11/2000 12/14/2000 $750 $750 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  5. 01005A Other 19100266 D02 II 12/11/2000 02/16/2001 $100 $450 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  6. 01005B Other 19100266 I07 I 12/11/2000 02/16/2001 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  7. 01006 Serious 19100266 H01 I 12/11/2000 12/14/2000 $1,200 $1,500 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  8. 01007 Serious 19100266 I03 12/11/2000 02/16/2001 $400 $750 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  9. 01008A Serious 19100266 D01 IV 12/11/2000 12/14/2000 $1,500 $0 $0 Q - National Office Adjustment
  10. 01008B Serious 19100266 D01 VI 12/11/2000 12/14/2000 $0 $0 $0 Q - National Office Adjustment
  11. 01008C Serious 19100266 D01 VIIA 12/11/2000 12/14/2000 $0 $0 $0 Q - National Office Adjustment
  12. 01008D Serious 19100266 D01 VIIB 12/11/2000 12/14/2000 $0 $0 $0 Q - National Office Adjustment

Accident Investigation Summary
Summary Nr: 201521028 Event: 11/16/2000Employee Struck And Killed By Falling Utility Pole
A tree care firm was clearing trees from a lot. The owner of the firm and an employee started working around 7:00 am. The employee was using a Stihl 066 Magnum chain saw to fell the trees, while the owner was operating an Ingersoll-Rand Bobcat to push the trees over and move the limbs, logs, and branches around the site. After lunch that day, they started felling three trees along a street on one side of the lot. A 6-millimeter-diameter guy connected to two utility poles ran through the trees. The guy was 6 meters above the ground. The owner and employee started felling the northernmost of the three trees first. They felled that tree without incident. After cutting up the first tree, the employee went to the next tree and made the undercut and back cut. At the same time, a sanitation worker, who was driving a Ford F350 sanitation truck with a 6.1-cubic-meter, open-top container mounted on the rear, stopped his truck on the road between the two utility poles. He was apparently waiting for the tree to fall. After the chain saw operator made the back cut, the owner used the Bobcat to push the tree over, and it landed in the lot in a westerly direction. The falling tree pulled the guy down with it. The guy, in turn, pulled the northernmost utility pole down. This pole supported a 240-volt overhead power line that ran to a third utility pole across the street. The falling pole pulled down the third pole. This pole, on which three transformers were mounted, fell across the street and landed on the cab of the sanitation truck. The tree firm owner and the chain saw operator ran over to the cab but did not touch the truck because of the electric shock hazard. The sanitation worker died of injuries sustained in the accident. (The original form incorrectly lists the sanitation worker as an employee of the tree care firm, but he was employed by P & G Sanitation.)
Keywords: tree felling, crushed, tree, struck by, falling object, logging, utility pole
Inspection Degree Nature Occupation
1 123305328 Fatality Fracture Truck drivers, heavy

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close