Powered by GoogleTranslate

Occupational Safety and Health Administration OSHA

Inspection Detail

Inspection: 122315229 - Bergstrom, Inc.

Inspection Information - Office: Naperville

Nr: 122315229Report ID: 0521400Open Date: 01/07/1997

Bergstrom, Inc.
2390 Blackhawk Road
Rockford, IL 61125
Union Status: NonUnion
SIC: 3714/Motor Vehicle Parts and Accessories
Mailing: P.O. Box 6007, Rockford, IL 61125

Inspection Type:Accident
Scope:Partial Advanced Notice:N
Ownership:Private
Safety/Health:Safety Close Conference:04/03/1997
Close Case:12/18/1997

Related Activity:TypeIDSafetyHealth
 Accident361865249    

Violation Summary
Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 6 6
Current Violations 6 6
Initial Penalty $24,000 $0 $0 $0 $0 $24,000
Current Penalty $10,000 $0 $0 $0 $0 $10,000
FTA Amount $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

Violation Items
# ID Type Standard Issuance Abate Curr$ Init$ Fta$ Contest LastEvent
  1. 01001A Serious 19100107 C02 04/16/1997 05/19/1997 $1,750 $4,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  2. 01001B Serious 19100252 A02 VIC 04/16/1997 05/19/1997 $0 $0 $0 -
  3. 01002A Serious 19100147 C01 04/16/1997 05/19/1997 $1,750 $4,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  4. 01002B Serious 19100252 A02 VIII 04/16/1997 05/19/1997 $0 $0 $0 -
  5. 01002C Serious 19100252 A02 XIVC3 04/16/1997 07/01/1997 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  6. 01003 Serious 19100252 A02 IIIA 04/16/1997 05/19/1997 $1,750 $4,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  7. 01004A Serious 19100252 A02 IV 04/16/1997 05/19/1997 $1,750 $4,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  8. 01004B Serious 19100252 A02 VIA 04/16/1997 05/19/1997 $0 $0 $0 -
  9. 01004C Serious 19100252 A02 XIIIA 04/16/1997 05/19/1997 $0 $0 $0 -
  10. 01005A Serious 19100252 A02 XIIIC 04/16/1997 05/19/1997 $1,500 $4,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  11. 01005B Serious 19100254 D01 04/16/1997 05/19/1997 $0 $0 $0 -
  12. 01006 Serious 19100252 A02 XIVA 04/16/1997 05/19/1997 $1,500 $4,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement

Accident Investigation Summary
Summary Nr: 840199Event: 01/07/1997Five Employees Injured In Paint Powder Explosion
Employees #1 through #5 were spray painting in a powder paint booth while a coworker was welding a dust collector for the booth. The powder paint ignited in the dust collector and flashed through the duct work into the booth. The powder paint in the booth then ignited, resulting in an explosion that injured Employees #1 through #5. Employees #1, #2, and #3 were hospitalized. Employees #4 and #5 were treated for their injuries and released.
Keywords: flammable liquid, work rules, welding, dust collector, paint, explosion, combustible dust, paint booth
Inspection Degree Nature Occupation
1 122315229 Non Hospitalized injury Burn/Scald(Heat) Occupation not reported
2 122315229 Non Hospitalized injury Burn/Scald(Heat) Occupation not reported
3 122315229 Hospitalized injury Burn/Scald(Heat) Occupation not reported
4 122315229 Hospitalized injury Burn/Scald(Heat) Occupation not reported
5 122315229 Hospitalized injury Burn/Scald(Heat) Occupation not reported

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close