Powered by GoogleTranslate

Occupational Safety and Health Administration OSHA

Alert: Due to routine maintenance on the OSHA website, some pages may be temporarily unavailable.
To report an emergency, file a complaint with OSHA or ask a safety and health question, call 1-800-321-6742 (OSHA).

Inspection Detail



Violation Summary
Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 3 1 4
Current Violations 1 1 2
Initial Penalty $21,000 $70,000 $0 $0 $0 $91,000
Current Penalty $2,500 $0 $35,000 $0 $0 $37,500
FTA Amount $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

Violation Items
# ID Type Standard Issuance Abate Curr$ Init$ Fta$ Contest LastEvent
Deleted 1. 01001 Serious 19260021 B06 I 01/26/1998 03/13/1998 $7,000 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 2. 01002 Serious 19260651 G01 II 01/26/1998 02/05/1998 $7,000 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 3. 01003 Serious 19260651 G02 I 01/26/1998 02/05/1998 $7,000 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  4. 01004A Serious 19260021 B06 I 01/26/1998 03/13/1998 $2,500 $0 $0 Q - National Office Adjustment
  5. 01004B Serious 19260651 G01 II 01/26/1998 02/05/1998 $0 $0 $0 Q - National Office Adjustment
  6. 01004C Serious 19260651 G02 I 01/26/1998 02/05/1998 $0 $0 $0 Q - National Office Adjustment
  7. 02001 Repeat 19260651 G01 I 01/26/1998 02/27/1998 $35,000 $70,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement

Accident Investigation Summary
Summary Nr: 200200392 Event: 08/04/1997One Killed, Two Hospitalized From Carbon Monoxide Exposure
At approximately 4:30 p.m. on August 4, 1997, Employees #1 through #3 were working on a sewer system project in a residential area. Employee #1 descended into a12 ft deep manhole to apply jointing compound and to remove some laser sighting equipment. After several minutes, Employees #2 and #3 noticed that Employee #1 had collapsed. They shouted to the foreman, who ran to the manhole, surveyed the situation, and immediately called 911 from his truck. Meanwhile, Employees #2 and #3 entered the manhole to rescue Employee #1. Employee #3 later stated that he did not notice any unusual odors, but that he and Employee #2 began to feel dizzy during their rescue efforts. They lifted Employee #1 to coworkers at the surface, after which Employee #3 climbed out of the manhole and collapsed. Employee #2 tried to ascend the ladder, but collapsed to the bottom of the manhole. Employees #2 and #3 were taken to separate hospitals and treated for carbon monoxide exposure. Employee #1 was taken to the emergency room, where he was pronounced dead. The autopsy report listed the cause of death as carbon monoxide inhalation. The employer had confined space entry procedures in place, but did not implement them. At the time of the accident, there was no rescue equipment near the manhole and testing was not done for toxic or combustible gases prior to the employees' entry. No mechanical ventilation was used for the manhole.
Keywords: sewer, asphyxiated, ventilation, confined space, work rules, construction, inhalation, chemical vapor, overexposure, carbon monoxide
Inspection Degree Nature Occupation
1 122227283 Fatality Asphyxia Occupation not reported
2 122227283 Hospitalized injury Asphyxia Occupation not reported
3 122227283 Hospitalized injury Asphyxia Occupation not reported

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close