Powered by GoogleTranslate

Occupational Safety and Health Administration OSHA

Inspection Detail

Case Status: CLOSED
Inspection: 1210687.015 - Greer Steel Company

Inspection Information - Office: Columbus

Nr: 1210687.015Report ID: 0522500Open Date: 02/15/2017

Greer Steel Company
1 Boat Street
Dover, OH 44622
Union Status: Union
SIC:
NAICS: 331221/Rolled Steel Shape Manufacturing
Mailing: 624 Boulevard, Dover, OH 44622

Inspection Type:Referral
Scope:Partial Advanced Notice:N
Ownership:Private
Safety/Health:Safety Close Conference:02/15/2017
Emphasis: N:AmputateClose Case:08/21/2018

Related Activity:TypeIDSafetyHealth
 Referral1181841 Yes  
Case Status: CLOSED

Violation Summary
Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 6 6
Current Violations 3 1 4
Initial Penalty $76,051 $0 $0 $0 $0 $76,051
Current Penalty $22,000 $0 $0 $8,000 $0 $30,000
FTA Amount $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

Violation Items
# ID Type Standard Issuance Abate Curr$ Init$ Fta$ Contest LastEvent
  1. 01001 Serious 19100028 B03 05/02/2017 01/31/2018 $6,000 $9,054 $0 05/26/2017 F - Formal Settlement
Deleted 2. 01002A Serious 19100147 C04 II 05/02/2017 05/12/2017 $0 $12,675 $0 05/26/2017 F - Formal Settlement
Deleted 3. 01002B Serious 19100147 C06 I 05/02/2017 05/12/2017 $0 $0 $0 05/26/2017 F - Formal Settlement
Deleted 4. 01002C Serious 19100147 C06 II 05/02/2017 05/12/2017 $0 $0 $0 05/26/2017 F - Formal Settlement
  5. 01003 Other 19100147 C07 I A 05/02/2017 05/12/2017 $8,000 $12,675 $0 05/26/2017 F - Formal Settlement
  6. 01004 Serious 19100147 D 05/02/2017 01/31/2018 $8,000 $12,675 $0 05/26/2017 F - Formal Settlement
  7. 01005A Serious 19100212 A01 05/02/2017 01/31/2018 $8,000 $12,675 $0 05/26/2017 F - Formal Settlement
  8. 01005B Serious 19100219 C02 I 05/02/2017 01/31/2018 $0 $9,054 $0 05/26/2017 F - Formal Settlement
  9. 01005C Serious 19100219 C04 I 05/02/2017 01/31/2018 $0 $0 $0 05/26/2017 F - Formal Settlement
Deleted 10. 01007A Serious 19101030 C01 I 05/02/2017 05/12/2017 $0 $7,243 $0 05/26/2017 F - Formal Settlement
Deleted 11. 01007B Serious 19101030 F02 I 05/02/2017 05/12/2017 $0 $0 $0 05/26/2017 F - Formal Settlement
Deleted 12. 01007C Serious 19101030 G02 I 05/02/2017 05/12/2017 $0 $0 $0 05/26/2017 F - Formal Settlement

Accident Investigation Summary
Summary Nr: 93149.015Event: 02/08/2017Employee Is Caught Between Rotating Slitter Heads, Resulting
At 10:30 p.m. on February 8, 2017, Employee #1 bypassed the slitter jog button on a Stamco Slitter by jamming a metal clip in the button, in order to spray the slitter heads with solvent cleaner. The employee then began to wipe the two rotating slitter heads with a rag. The employee's right gloved hand became caught between the two slitter heads, pulling his hand into the slitter. Then the in-going nip point between the two slitter heads crushed Employee #1's hand and forearm, resulting in fractures and amputations of three fingers, and a partial amputation of the other two. The employee was hospitalized for his injuries.
Keywords: ppe, cleaning fluid, finger, fracture, lockout/tagout, machine guarding, nip point, amputation, hand, glove, forearm, crushed, caught between, slitter
Inspection Degree Nature Occupation
1 1210687.015 Hospitalized injury Cut/Laceration Machine operators, not specified

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close