Powered by GoogleTranslate

Occupational Safety and Health Administration OSHA

Inspection Detail

Inspection: 116525916 - B. G. Roberts Dba The Bargain Barn

Inspection Information - Office: Charleston

Nr: 116525916Report ID: 0316400Open Date: 04/19/1999

B. G. Roberts Dba The Bargain Barn
Lower Cedar Creek Rd
Glenville, WV 26351
Union Status: NonUnion
SIC: 2421/Sawmills and Planing Mills, General
Mailing: Rt 1 Box J, Glenville, WV 26351

Inspection Type:Accident
Scope:Partial Advanced Notice:N
Ownership:Private
Safety/Health:Safety Close Conference:05/26/1999
Close Case:08/23/1999

Related Activity:TypeIDSafetyHealth
 Accident100630235    

Violation Summary
Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 3 3
Current Violations 1 2 3
Initial Penalty $5,100 $0 $0 $0 $0 $5,100
Current Penalty $1,500 $0 $0 $0 $0 $1,500
FTA Amount $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

Violation Items
# ID Type Standard Issuance Abate Curr$ Init$ Fta$ Contest LastEvent
Deleted 1. 01001A Serious 19100266 H01 I 06/09/1999 06/21/1999 $1,500 $1,500 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  2. 01001B Other 19100266 H02 I 06/09/1999 06/21/1999 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  3. 01001C Other 19100266 H02 II 06/09/1999 06/21/1999 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 4. 01002A Serious 19100266 H02 VI 06/09/1999 06/21/1999 $2,100 $2,100 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  5. 01002B Other 19100266 H02 V 06/09/1999 06/21/1999 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  6. 01002C Other 19100266 H02 VII 06/09/1999 06/21/1999 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  7. 01003A Serious 19100266 I01 06/09/1999 06/28/1999 $1,500 $1,500 $0 -
  8. 01003B Serious 19100266 I07 I 06/09/1999 06/28/1999 $0 $0 $0 -
  9. 01003C Serious 19100266 I06 06/09/1999 06/28/1999 $0 $0 $0 -
  10. 01003D Serious 19100266 I03 06/09/1999 06/28/1999 $0 $0 $0 -
  11. 01003E Serious 19100266 I10 06/09/1999 06/28/1999 $0 $0 $0 -

Accident Investigation Summary
Summary Nr: 200630366Event: 04/13/1999Employee Killed When Struck By Limb Of Felled Tree
Employee #1 was felling a tree against which a bulldozer had been set to prevent it from falling in the wrong direction. As the tree was coming down, the wind caught it and changed the path of its fall. The bulldozer blocked Employee #1's diagonal retreat, and he was struck and killed by one of the limbs as the tree came down. The tree was improperly hinged because of a faulty boring and a backcut that removed over 3/4 of the hinge.
Keywords: high wind, tree felling, tree limb, unsecured, work rules, caught by, tree, struck by, logging
Inspection Degree Nature Occupation
1 116525916 Fatality Fracture Timber cutting and logging occupations

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close