Inspection: 109061648 - Dayton Tire Company

Inspection Information - Office: Oklahoma City
Nr: 109061648Report ID:0627700Open Date: 10/19/1993
Dayton Tire Company
2500 S. Council Rd
Oklahoma City, OK 73128
Union Status: Union
SIC: 3011/Tires and Inner Tubes
Inspection Type:Accident
Scope:PartialAdvanced Notice:N
Ownership:Private
Safety/Health:SafetyClose Conference:11/17/1993
Planning Guide: Safety-Manufacturing Close Case:07/09/2013
Related Activity:TypeIDSafetyHealth
 Accident361148109    
 Referral900707894 Yes  

Violation Summary
Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 1
106



107
Current Violations 2
98



100
Initial Penalty 70000
7420000



7490000
Current Penalty 4500
193000



197500
FTA Amount






Violation Items
# ID Type Standard Issuance Abate Curr$ Init$ Fta$ Contest LastEvent
  1. 01001 WillFul 19100147 C04 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2500 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  2. 01002 WillFul 19100147 C04 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2500 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  3. 01003 WillFul 19100147 C04 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2500 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  4. 01004 Serious 19100147 C04 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2500 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  5. 01005 WillFul 19100147 C04 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2500 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  6. 01006 WillFul 19100147 C04 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2500 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  7. 01007 WillFul 19100147 C05 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $1500 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  8. 01008A WillFul 19100147 C06 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $1000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  9. 01008B WillFul 19100147 C06 II 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $0 $0 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  10. 01009 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  11. 01010 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  12. 01011 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  13. 01012 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
Deleted 14. 01013 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $70000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  15. 01014 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  16. 01015 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  17. 01016 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  18. 01017 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
Deleted 19. 01018 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $70000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  20. 01019 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $0 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  21. 01020 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  22. 01021 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  23. 01022 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  24. 01023 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  25. 01024 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  26. 01025 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  27. 01026 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  28. 01027 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  29. 01028 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  30. 01029 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  31. 01030 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
Deleted 32. 01031 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $70000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  33. 01032 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  34. 01033 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  35. 01034 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  36. 01035 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  37. 01036 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  38. 01037 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  39. 01038 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  40. 01039 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  41. 01040 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  42. 01041 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  43. 01042 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  44. 01043 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  45. 01044 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  46. 01045 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  47. 01046 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  48. 01047 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  49. 01048 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
Deleted 50. 01049 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $70000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  51. 01050 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  52. 01051 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  53. 01052 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  54. 01053 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  55. 01054 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  56. 01055 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  57. 01056 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  58. 01057 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  59. 01058 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  60. 01059 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  61. 01060 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  62. 01061 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  63. 01062 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  64. 01063 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  65. 01064 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  66. 01065 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  67. 01066 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  68. 01067 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  69. 01068 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  70. 01069 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  71. 01070 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  72. 01071 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  73. 01072 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  74. 01073 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  75. 01074 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  76. 01075 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  77. 01076 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  78. 01077 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  79. 01078 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  80. 01079 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  81. 01080 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  82. 01081 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  83. 01082 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  84. 01083 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
Deleted 85. 01084 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $70000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  86. 01085 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $0 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  87. 01086 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  88. 01087 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
Deleted 89. 01088 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $70000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  90. 01089 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  91. 01090 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  92. 01091 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  93. 01092 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  94. 01093 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  95. 01094 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  96. 01095 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  97. 01096 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  98. 01097 Serious 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  99. 01098 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
Deleted 100. 01099 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $70000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  101. 01100 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  102. 01101 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  103. 01102 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  104. 01103 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  105. 01104 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  106. 01105 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  107. 01106 WillFul 19100147 C07 I 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement
  108. 01107 WillFul 19100147 D 04/18/1994 04/21/1994 $2000 $70000 $0 05/03/1994 F - Formal Settlement

Accident Investigation Summary
Summary Nr: 14234223Event: 10/19/1993Employee Dies After Being Caught Between Machine Parts
At approximately 12:30 p.m. on October 19, 1993, Employee #1 was building chuck tires and making adjustments in the final phase of setting up a tire building machine. The tire building machine was energized as Employee #1 entered the point of operation between the band building chuck and the transfer assembly in order to adjust the grabs on the transfer assembly. While he was adjusting the grabs, the band building chuck unexpectedly cycled and caught Employee #1 between the band builder and the transfer assembly. Employee #1 suffered fractures in the facial area and impairment to his circulatory system, for which he was hospitalized in critical condition. He died on October 30, 1993.
Keywords: caught between, point of operation, circulatory blockage, fracture, face, lockout, work rules
Inspection Degree Nature Occupation
1 109061648 Fatality Fracture Occupation not reported