Powered by GoogleTranslate

Occupational Safety and Health Administration OSHA

Inspection Detail

Inspection: 108720111 - Midwest Metallics, L.P.

Inspection Information - Office: Calumet City

Nr: 108720111Report ID: 0521700Open Date: 01/26/1994

Midwest Metallics, L.P.
12901 S. Stony Island Ave.
Chicago, IL 60633
Union Status: NonUnion
SIC: 5093/Scrap and Waste Materials
Mailing: Box 131, 7955 W. 59th St., Chicago, IL 60501

Inspection Type:Accident
Scope:Partial Advanced Notice:N
Ownership:Private
Safety/Health:Health Close Conference:05/24/1994
Close Case:07/10/1995

Related Activity:TypeIDSafetyHealth
 Accident360966295    
 Complaint74866526   Yes

Violation Summary
Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 19 1 20
Current Violations 18 2 20
Initial Penalty $58,800 $0 $0 $700 $0 $59,500
Current Penalty $57,400 $0 $0 $0 $0 $57,400
FTA Amount $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

Violation Items
# ID Type Standard Issuance Abate Curr$ Init$ Fta$ Contest LastEvent
  1. 01001 Serious 19100038 A01 06/14/1994 08/02/1994 $1,750 $1,750 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  2. 01002A Serious 19100134 A01 06/14/1994 06/17/1994 $4,900 $4,900 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  3. 01002B Serious 19100146 D04 IV 06/14/1994 09/14/1994 $0 $0 $0 -
  4. 01003 Serious 19100146 C01 06/14/1994 09/14/1994 $4,900 $4,900 $0 -
  5. 01004 Serious 19100146 C02 06/14/1994 09/14/1994 $1,750 $1,750 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  6. 01005A Serious 19100146 C04 06/14/1994 09/14/1994 $4,900 $4,900 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  7. 01005B Serious 19100146 D02 06/14/1994 09/14/1994 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  8. 01005C Serious 19100146 D03 06/14/1994 09/14/1994 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  9. 01006 Serious 19100146 C05 IIB 06/14/1994 09/14/1994 $1,750 $1,750 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  10. 01007A Serious 19100146 C05 IIC 06/14/1994 09/14/1994 $4,900 $4,900 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  11. 01007B Serious 19100146 C05 IIH 06/14/1994 09/14/1994 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  12. 01007C Serious 19100146 D04 I 06/14/1994 09/14/1994 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  13. 01008 Serious 19100146 C05 IIE1 06/14/1994 09/14/1994 $1,750 $1,750 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  14. 01009A Serious 19100146 C05 IIG3 06/14/1994 09/14/1994 $3,500 $3,500 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  15. 01009B Serious 19100146 D04 VIII 06/14/1994 09/14/1994 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  16. 01010A Serious 19100146 D01 06/14/1994 09/14/1994 $3,500 $3,500 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  17. 01010B Serious 19100146 D09 06/14/1994 09/14/1994 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  18. 01011A Serious 19100146 D10 06/14/1994 09/14/1994 $3,500 $3,500 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  19. 01011B Serious 19100146 E01 06/14/1994 09/14/1994 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  20. 01012A Serious 19100146 G01 06/14/1994 09/14/1994 $3,500 $3,500 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  21. 01012B Serious 19100146 H01 06/14/1994 09/14/1994 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  22. 01013A Serious 19100146 I03 06/14/1994 09/14/1994 $3,500 $3,500 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  23. 01013B Serious 19100146 I04 06/14/1994 09/14/1994 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  24. 01014 Serious 19100333 B02 06/14/1994 09/14/1994 $1,400 $1,400 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  25. 01015 Serious 19101000 B02 06/14/1994 09/14/1994 $4,900 $4,900 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  26. 01016 Serious 19101025 D02 06/14/1994 07/18/1994 $3,500 $3,500 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  27. 01017 Serious 19101200 E01 I 06/14/1994 09/14/1994 $1,750 $1,750 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  28. 01018 Other 19101200 G01 06/14/1994 09/14/1994 $0 $1,400 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  29. 01019 Serious 19101200 H 06/14/1994 09/14/1994 $1,750 $1,750 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  30. 02001 Other 19030002 A01 06/14/1994 06/17/1994 $0 $700 $0 I - Informal Settlement

Accident Investigation Summary
Summary Nr: 14360911Event: 01/26/1994Employees Are Overcome By Fumes In Manhole
Employees #1 and #2 entered a manhole to attempt repairs and died. Employee #3 attempted to rescue Employee #2 and was overcome by the hydrogen sulfide fumes. Employee #4 was overcome by fumes while attempting to rescue Employee #3. Employee #5 was overcome by fumes while attempting to rescue Employee #4. Employees #4 and #5 exited the manhole. The local fire department rescued Employee #3. Employee #6 became ill while outside the manhole.
Keywords: repair, confined space, ppe, hydrogen sulfide, venting, work rules, toxic fumes, manhole, overexposure, respirator
Inspection Degree Nature Occupation
1 108720111 Hospitalized injury Poisoning(Systemic) Occupation not reported
2 108720111 Hospitalized injury Poisoning(Systemic) Occupation not reported
3 108720111 Hospitalized injury Poisoning(Systemic) Occupation not reported
4 108720111 Hospitalized injury Poisoning(Systemic) Occupation not reported
5 108720111 Fatality Asphyxia Occupation not reported
6 108720111 Fatality Asphyxia Occupation not reported

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close