Powered by GoogleTranslate

Occupational Safety and Health Administration OSHA

Inspection Detail

Inspection: 108653833 - Aluminum Company Of America - Warrick Operations

Inspection Information - Office: Indiana

Nr: 108653833Report ID: 0551800Open Date: 02/15/1990

Aluminum Company Of America - Warrick Operations
Highway 66
Newburgh, IN 47630
Union Status: Union
SIC: 3334/Primary Production of Aluminum
Mailing: P O Box 10, Newburgh, IN 47630

Inspection Type:Accident
Scope:Partial Advanced Notice:N
Ownership:Private
Safety/Health:Safety Close Conference:08/03/1990
Planning Guide: Safety-Manufacturing Close Case:02/06/1992

Related Activity:TypeIDSafetyHealth
 Accident360471197    

Violation Summary
Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 12 12
Current Violations 12 12
Initial Penalty $12,000 $0 $0 $0 $0 $12,000
Current Penalty $10,000 $0 $0 $0 $0 $10,000
FTA Amount $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

Violation Items
# ID Type Standard Issuance Abate Curr$ Init$ Fta$ Contest LastEvent
  1. 01002 Serious 19100212 A03II 09/11/1990 12/22/1991 $1,000 $1,000 $0 10/10/1990 F - Formal Settlement
  2. 01003 Serious 19100303 B01 09/11/1990 12/22/1991 $1,000 $1,000 $0 10/10/1990 F - Formal Settlement
  3. 01004 Serious 19100303 C 09/11/1990 12/22/1991 $1,000 $1,000 $0 10/10/1990 F - Formal Settlement
  4. 01005 Serious 19100303 G02 I 09/11/1990 12/22/1991 $1,000 $1,000 $0 10/10/1990 F - Formal Settlement
  5. 01006 Serious 19100304 D01 I 09/11/1990 12/22/1991 $1,000 $1,000 $0 10/10/1990 F - Formal Settlement
  6. 01007 Serious 19100304 E01 I 09/11/1990 12/22/1991 $1,000 $1,000 $0 10/10/1990 F - Formal Settlement
  7. 01008 Serious 19100304 F03 I 09/11/1990 12/22/1991 $1,000 $1,000 $0 10/10/1990 F - Formal Settlement
  8. 01009 Serious 19100304 F04 09/11/1990 12/22/1991 $1,000 $1,000 $0 10/10/1990 F - Formal Settlement
  9. 01010 Serious 19100304 F05 IVA 09/11/1990 12/22/1991 $0 $1,000 $0 10/10/1990 F - Formal Settlement
  10. 01011 Serious 19100304 F06 I 09/11/1990 12/22/1991 $0 $1,000 $0 10/10/1990 F - Formal Settlement
  11. 01012 Serious 19100305 A01 I 09/11/1990 12/22/1991 $1,000 $1,000 $0 10/10/1990 F - Formal Settlement
  12. 01014 Serious 19100305 B02 09/11/1990 12/22/1991 $1,000 $1,000 $0 10/10/1990 F - Formal Settlement

Accident Investigation Summary
Summary Nr: 903617Event: 02/12/1990Burn - Electrical Fault In Disconnect Box
AN ELECTRICIAN WAS INVESTIGATING THE REASON FOR AN ELECTRICAL FAULT INVOLVING A 480-VOLT, WALL-MOUNTED ELECTRICAL DISCONNECT BOX. AN ELECTRIC ARC OCCURRED INSIDE THE DISCONNECT BOX. THE EMPLOYEE RECEIVED BURNS OVER 75 PERCENT OF HIS BODY; 60 PERCENT WERE THIRD DEGREE BURNS, AND 15 PERCENT WERE SECOND DEGREE BURNS. THE EMPLOYEE WAS TRANSPORTED TO A HOSPITAL, WHERE HE DIED ABOUT 1 MONTH LATER, ON MARCH 8, 1990.
Keywords: burn, clothing, electric arc, electrical, e gi vii, electrician, electrical work, electrical fault
Inspection Degree Nature Occupation
1 108653833 Fatality Burn/Scald(Heat) Electricians

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close