US Dept of Labor

Occupational Safety & Health AdministrationWe Can Help

Inspection Detail

Inspection: 106196801 - Samsung Guam Inc.

Inspection Information - Office: Inactive-Guam

Nr: 106196801Report ID: 0931310Open Date: 04/06/1995

Samsung Guam Inc.
Guam International Airport Expansion Project
Tamuning, GU 96911
Union Status: NonUnion
SIC: 1542/General Contractors-Nonresidential Buildings, Other than Industrial Buildings and Warehouses
Mailing: Pia Marine, Suite 912, 193 Tumon Lane, Tamuning, GU 96911

Inspection Type:Planned
Scope:Complete Advanced Notice:N
Ownership:Private
Safety/Health:Safety Close Conference:04/19/1995
Emphasis: L:PacislesClose Case:01/07/1998

Violation Summary
Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 118 118
Current Violations 118 118
Initial Penalty $8,260,000 $8,260,000
Current Penalty $1,829,000 $1,829,000
FTA Amount

Violation Items
# ID Type Standard Issuance Abate Curr$ Init$ Fta$ Contest LastEvent
  1. 01001 Serious 19260451 E10 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  2. 01002 Serious 19260501 A02 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  3. 01003 Serious 19260501 A02 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  4. 01004 Serious 19260501 A02 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  5. 01005 Serious 19260501 A02 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  6. 01006 Serious 19260501 B01 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  7. 01007 Serious 19260501 B01 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  8. 01008 Serious 19260501 B01 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  9. 01009 Serious 19260501 B01 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  10. 01010 Serious 19260501 B01 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  11. 01011 Serious 19260501 B01 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  12. 01012 Serious 19260501 B01 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  13. 01013 Serious 19260501 B01 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  14. 01014 Serious 19260501 B01 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  15. 01015 Serious 19260501 B01 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  16. 01016 Serious 19260501 B01 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  17. 01017 Serious 19260501 B01 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  18. 01018 Serious 19260501 B01 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  19. 01019 Serious 19260501 B01 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  20. 01020 Serious 19260501 B01 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  21. 01021 Serious 19260501 B01 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  22. 01022 Serious 19260501 B01 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  23. 01023 Serious 19260501 B01 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  24. 01024 Serious 19260501 B01 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  25. 01025 Serious 19260501 B01 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  26. 01026 Serious 19260501 B01 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  27. 01027 Serious 19260501 B01 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  28. 01028 Serious 19260501 B01 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  29. 01029 Serious 19260501 B01 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  30. 01030 Serious 19260501 B01 09/27/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  31. 01031 Serious 19260501 B01 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  32. 01032 Serious 19260501 B01 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  33. 01033 Serious 19260501 B01 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  34. 01034 Serious 19260501 B01 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  35. 01035 Serious 19260501 B01 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  36. 01036 Serious 19260501 B01 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  37. 01037 Serious 19260501 B01 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  38. 01038 Serious 19260501 B01 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  39. 01039 Serious 19260501 B01 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  40. 01040 Serious 19260501 B01 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  41. 01041 Serious 19260501 B01 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  42. 01042 Serious 19260501 B03 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  43. 01043 Serious 19260501 B04 I 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  44. 01044 Serious 19260501 B04 I 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  45. 01045 Serious 19260501 B04 I 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  46. 01046 Serious 19260501 B04 I 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  47. 01047 Serious 19260501 B04 I 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  48. 01048 Serious 19260501 B04 I 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  49. 01049 Serious 19260501 B04 I 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  50. 01050 Serious 19260501 B04 I 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  51. 01051 Serious 19260501 B04 I 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  52. 01052 Serious 19260501 B04 I 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  53. 01053 Serious 19260501 B04 I 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  54. 01054 Serious 19260501 B04 I 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  55. 01055 Serious 19260501 B04 I 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  56. 01056 Serious 19260501 B04 I 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  57. 01057 Serious 19260501 B04 I 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  58. 01058 Serious 19260501 B04 I 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  59. 01059 Serious 19260501 B04 I 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  60. 01060 Serious 19260501 B04 I 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  61. 01061 Serious 19260501 B04 I 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  62. 01062 Serious 19260501 B04 I 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  63. 01063 Serious 19260501 B04 I 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  64. 01064 Serious 19260501 B04 I 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  65. 01065 Serious 19260501 B04 I 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  66. 01066 Serious 19260501 B04 I 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  67. 01067 Serious 19260501 B04 I 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  68. 01068 Serious 19260501 B04 I 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  69. 01069 Serious 19260501 B04 I 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  70. 01070 Serious 19260501 B04 I 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  71. 01071 Serious 19260501 B04 I 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  72. 01072 Serious 19260501 B04 I 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  73. 01073 Serious 19260501 B04 I 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  74. 01074 Serious 19260501 B04 I 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  75. 01075 Serious 19260501 B04 I 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  76. 01076 Serious 19260501 B04 I 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  77. 01077 Serious 19260501 B04 I 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  78. 01078 Serious 19260501 B04 I 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  79. 01079 Serious 19260501 B04 I 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  80. 01080 Serious 19260501 B04 I 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  81. 01081 Serious 19260501 B04 I 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  82. 01082 Serious 19260501 B04 I 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  83. 01083 Serious 19260501 B04 I 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  84. 01084 Serious 19260501 B04 I 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  85. 01085 Serious 19260501 B06 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  86. 01086 Serious 19260501 B06 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  87. 01087 Serious 19260501 B06 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  88. 01088 Serious 19260502 A02 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  89. 01089 Serious 19260502 A02 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  90. 01090 Serious 19260502 A02 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  91. 01091 Serious 19260502 A02 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  92. 01092 Serious 19260502 A02 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  93. 01093 Serious 19260502 A02 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  94. 01094 Serious 19260502 A02 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  95. 01095 Serious 19260502 A02 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  96. 01096 Serious 19260502 A02 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  97. 01097 Serious 19260502 A02 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  98. 01098 Serious 19260502 A02 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  99. 01099 Serious 19260502 A02 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  100. 01100 Serious 19260502 A02 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  101. 01101 Serious 19260502 A02 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  102. 01102 Serious 19260502 A02 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  103. 01103 Serious 19260502 A02 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  104. 01104 Serious 19260502 A02 09/21/1995 09/30/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  105. 01105 Serious 19260502 A02 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  106. 01106 Serious 19260502 A02 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  107. 01107 Serious 19260502 A02 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  108. 01108 Serious 19260502 A02 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  109. 01109 Serious 19260502 A02 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  110. 01110 Serious 19260502 A02 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  111. 01111 Serious 19260502 A02 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  112. 01112 Serious 19260502 A02 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  113. 01113 Serious 19261051 A 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  114. 01114 Serious 19261051 A 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  115. 01115 Serious 19261053 B13 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  116. 01116 Serious 19261052 C04 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  117. 01117 Serious 19261052 C12 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  118. 01118 Serious 19261052 C12 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15,500 $70,000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement

Accident Investigation Summary
Summary Nr: 515734Event: 04/06/1995Employee Dies After Fall Through Unsecured Metal Decking
At approximately 8:00 a.m. on March 28, 1995, Employee #1 was walking to a roof edge to weld a bent plate at an airport expansion project. Unsecured decking came off the support members on the roof overhang, causing Employee #1 to fall 51 ft to the compacted soil. He died several hours later of internal bleeding and asphyxia.
Keywords: construction, metal decking, unsecured, roof, fall protection, work rules, fall, loss of blood, asphyxiated, airport
Inspection Degree Nature Occupation
1 106196801 Fatality Other Occupation not reported

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close