Inspection: 106196801 - Samsung Guam Inc.

Inspection Information - Office: Inactive-Guam
Nr: 106196801Report ID:0931310Open Date: 04/06/1995
Samsung Guam Inc.
Guam International Airport Expansion Project
Tamuning, GU 96911
Union Status: NonUnion
SIC: 1542/General Contractors-Nonresidential Buildings, Other than Industrial Buildings and Warehouses
Mailing: Pia Marine, Suite 912, 193 Tumon Lane, Tamuning, GU 96911
Inspection Type:Planned
Scope:CompleteAdvanced Notice:N
Ownership:Private
Safety/Health:SafetyClose Conference:04/19/1995
Emphasis: L:PacislesClose Case:01/07/1998

Violation Summary
Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations
118



118
Current Violations 118




118
Initial Penalty
8260000



8260000
Current Penalty 1829000




1829000
FTA Amount






Violation Items
# ID Type Standard Issuance Abate Curr$ Init$ Fta$ Contest LastEvent
  1. 01001 Serious 19260451 E10 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  2. 01002 Serious 19260501 A02 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  3. 01003 Serious 19260501 A02 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  4. 01004 Serious 19260501 A02 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  5. 01005 Serious 19260501 A02 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  6. 01006 Serious 19260501 B01 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  7. 01007 Serious 19260501 B01 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  8. 01008 Serious 19260501 B01 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  9. 01009 Serious 19260501 B01 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  10. 01010 Serious 19260501 B01 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  11. 01011 Serious 19260501 B01 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  12. 01012 Serious 19260501 B01 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  13. 01013 Serious 19260501 B01 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  14. 01014 Serious 19260501 B01 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  15. 01015 Serious 19260501 B01 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  16. 01016 Serious 19260501 B01 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  17. 01017 Serious 19260501 B01 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  18. 01018 Serious 19260501 B01 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  19. 01019 Serious 19260501 B01 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  20. 01020 Serious 19260501 B01 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  21. 01021 Serious 19260501 B01 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  22. 01022 Serious 19260501 B01 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  23. 01023 Serious 19260501 B01 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  24. 01024 Serious 19260501 B01 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  25. 01025 Serious 19260501 B01 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  26. 01026 Serious 19260501 B01 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  27. 01027 Serious 19260501 B01 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  28. 01028 Serious 19260501 B01 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  29. 01029 Serious 19260501 B01 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  30. 01030 Serious 19260501 B01 09/27/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  31. 01031 Serious 19260501 B01 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  32. 01032 Serious 19260501 B01 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  33. 01033 Serious 19260501 B01 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  34. 01034 Serious 19260501 B01 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  35. 01035 Serious 19260501 B01 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  36. 01036 Serious 19260501 B01 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  37. 01037 Serious 19260501 B01 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  38. 01038 Serious 19260501 B01 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  39. 01039 Serious 19260501 B01 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  40. 01040 Serious 19260501 B01 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  41. 01041 Serious 19260501 B01 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  42. 01042 Serious 19260501 B03 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  43. 01043 Serious 19260501 B04 I 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  44. 01044 Serious 19260501 B04 I 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  45. 01045 Serious 19260501 B04 I 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  46. 01046 Serious 19260501 B04 I 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  47. 01047 Serious 19260501 B04 I 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  48. 01048 Serious 19260501 B04 I 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  49. 01049 Serious 19260501 B04 I 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  50. 01050 Serious 19260501 B04 I 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  51. 01051 Serious 19260501 B04 I 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  52. 01052 Serious 19260501 B04 I 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  53. 01053 Serious 19260501 B04 I 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  54. 01054 Serious 19260501 B04 I 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  55. 01055 Serious 19260501 B04 I 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  56. 01056 Serious 19260501 B04 I 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  57. 01057 Serious 19260501 B04 I 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  58. 01058 Serious 19260501 B04 I 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  59. 01059 Serious 19260501 B04 I 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  60. 01060 Serious 19260501 B04 I 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  61. 01061 Serious 19260501 B04 I 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  62. 01062 Serious 19260501 B04 I 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  63. 01063 Serious 19260501 B04 I 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  64. 01064 Serious 19260501 B04 I 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  65. 01065 Serious 19260501 B04 I 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  66. 01066 Serious 19260501 B04 I 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  67. 01067 Serious 19260501 B04 I 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  68. 01068 Serious 19260501 B04 I 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  69. 01069 Serious 19260501 B04 I 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  70. 01070 Serious 19260501 B04 I 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  71. 01071 Serious 19260501 B04 I 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  72. 01072 Serious 19260501 B04 I 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  73. 01073 Serious 19260501 B04 I 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  74. 01074 Serious 19260501 B04 I 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  75. 01075 Serious 19260501 B04 I 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  76. 01076 Serious 19260501 B04 I 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  77. 01077 Serious 19260501 B04 I 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  78. 01078 Serious 19260501 B04 I 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  79. 01079 Serious 19260501 B04 I 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  80. 01080 Serious 19260501 B04 I 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  81. 01081 Serious 19260501 B04 I 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  82. 01082 Serious 19260501 B04 I 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  83. 01083 Serious 19260501 B04 I 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  84. 01084 Serious 19260501 B04 I 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  85. 01085 Serious 19260501 B06 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  86. 01086 Serious 19260501 B06 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  87. 01087 Serious 19260501 B06 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  88. 01088 Serious 19260502 A02 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  89. 01089 Serious 19260502 A02 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  90. 01090 Serious 19260502 A02 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  91. 01091 Serious 19260502 A02 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  92. 01092 Serious 19260502 A02 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  93. 01093 Serious 19260502 A02 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  94. 01094 Serious 19260502 A02 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  95. 01095 Serious 19260502 A02 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  96. 01096 Serious 19260502 A02 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  97. 01097 Serious 19260502 A02 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  98. 01098 Serious 19260502 A02 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  99. 01099 Serious 19260502 A02 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  100. 01100 Serious 19260502 A02 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  101. 01101 Serious 19260502 A02 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  102. 01102 Serious 19260502 A02 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  103. 01103 Serious 19260502 A02 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  104. 01104 Serious 19260502 A02 09/21/1995 09/30/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  105. 01105 Serious 19260502 A02 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  106. 01106 Serious 19260502 A02 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  107. 01107 Serious 19260502 A02 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  108. 01108 Serious 19260502 A02 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  109. 01109 Serious 19260502 A02 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  110. 01110 Serious 19260502 A02 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  111. 01111 Serious 19260502 A02 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  112. 01112 Serious 19260502 A02 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  113. 01113 Serious 19261051 A 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  114. 01114 Serious 19261051 A 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  115. 01115 Serious 19261053 B13 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  116. 01116 Serious 19261052 C04 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  117. 01117 Serious 19261052 C12 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement
  118. 01118 Serious 19261052 C12 09/21/1995 09/27/1995 $15500 $70000 $0 10/24/1995 F - Formal Settlement

Accident Investigation Summary
Summary Nr: 515734Event: 04/06/1995Employee Dies After Fall Through Unsecured Metal Decking
At approximately 8:00 a.m. on March 28, 1995, Employee #1 was walking to a roof edge to weld a bent plate at an airport expansion project. Unsecured decking came off the support members on the roof overhang, causing Employee #1 to fall 51 ft to the compacted soil. He died several hours later of internal bleeding and asphyxia.
Keywords: construction, metal decking, unsecured, roof, fall protection, work rules, fall, loss of blood, asphyxiated, airport
Inspection Degree Nature Occupation
1 106196801 Fatality Other Occupation not reported