Powered by GoogleTranslate

Occupational Safety and Health Administration OSHA

Inspection Detail

Inspection: 103434346 - Amoco Production Company

Inspection Information - Office: Baton Rouge

Nr: 103434346Report ID: 0625700Open Date: 02/13/1996

Amoco Production Company
716 Port Hudson Cemetery Road
Zachary, LA 70791
Union Status: NonUnion
SIC: 1311/Crude Petroleum and Natural Gas
Mailing: P.O. Box 3092, Houston, TX 77625

Inspection Type:Accident
Scope:Partial Advanced Notice:N
Ownership:Private
Safety/Health:Safety Close Conference:04/30/1996
Close Case:12/20/1996

Related Activity:TypeIDSafetyHealth
 Accident360907430    

Violation Summary
Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 19 19
Current Violations 6 3 9
Initial Penalty $80,000 $0 $0 $0 $0 $80,000
Current Penalty $7,500 $0 $0 $0 $0 $7,500
FTA Amount $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

Violation Items
# ID Type Standard Issuance Abate Curr$ Init$ Fta$ Contest LastEvent
  1. 01001 Serious 19100038 A02 08/07/1996 09/09/1996 $1,000 $5,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  2. 01002 Serious 19100038 A03 I 08/07/1996 09/09/1996 $1,000 $5,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 3. 01003 Serious 19100119 C01 08/07/1996 09/09/1996 $0 $5,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  4. 01004 Serious 19100119 D03 ID 08/07/1996 11/09/1996 $1,000 $5,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 5. 01005 Serious 19100119 E01 08/07/1996 09/09/1996 $0 $5,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  6. 01006 Serious 19100119 E03 V 08/07/1996 11/09/1996 $1,000 $5,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 7. 01007 Serious 19100119 E05 08/07/1996 09/09/1996 $0 $5,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 8. 01008 Serious 19100119 H02 I 08/07/1996 09/09/1996 $0 $5,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 9. 01009 Serious 19100119 H02 V 08/07/1996 09/09/1996 $0 $5,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  10. 01010 Serious 19100119 J02 08/07/1996 09/09/1996 $3,000 $5,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  11. 01011 Other 19100119 M04 I 08/07/1996 09/09/1996 $0 $5,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  12. 01012 Other 19100119 M05 08/07/1996 11/09/1996 $0 $5,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 13. 01013 Serious 19100119 O01 08/07/1996 09/09/1996 $0 $5,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  14. 01014 Other 19100132 D02 08/07/1996 11/09/1996 $0 $2,500 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 15. 01015 Serious 19100132 F01 I 08/07/1996 09/09/1996 $0 $2,500 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  16. 01016 Serious 19100147 C06 I 08/07/1996 09/09/1996 $500 $2,500 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 17. 01017 Serious 19100147 C07 IV 08/07/1996 09/09/1996 $0 $2,500 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 18. 01018 Serious 19100252 A02 IV 08/07/1996 09/09/1996 $0 $2,500 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 19. 01019 Serious 19101200 E01 I 08/07/1996 09/09/1996 $0 $2,500 $0 I - Informal Settlement

Accident Investigation Summary
Summary Nr: 170081830Event: 02/12/1996One Killed, One Injured When Pressurized Joint Comes Loose
Employees #1 and #2 were maintenance employees at a production facility where high pressure natural gas from 18 wells went through machines that separated gas from liquids. When a well was first brought on line, the flow line was routed through an indirectly fired heater where hot water around the flow line melted the paraffin in the gas. Chicksan joints (swivels) and 20 ft lengths of 2 in. diameter pipe with hammer union fittings on each end routed the flow line through the heater. Employees #1 and #2 had to replace a lead O-ring in a chicksan joint. They depressurized the system, changed the O-ring, then put the hammer union fitting back together. When they brought the well back up to approximately 4,200 psig, a 2 in. diameter threaded nipple stripped loose from a female flange, causing a chicksan joint to flail around. It struck Employee #1, killing him. Employee #2 was knocked down and bruised.
Keywords: maintenance, equipment failure, high pressure, struck by, gas well drilling, pressure release, contusion
Inspection Degree Nature Occupation
1 103434346 Hospitalized injury Fracture Occupation not reported
2 103434346 Fatality Fracture Occupation not reported

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close