Powered by GoogleTranslate

Occupational Safety and Health Administration OSHA

Inspection Detail

Inspection: 103272134 - Ak Steel Corporation

Inspection Information - Office: Cincinnati

Nr: 103272134Report ID: 0522000Open Date: 12/06/1995

Ak Steel Corporation
1801 Crawford St.
Middletown, OH 45043
Union Status: Union
SIC: 3312/Steel Works, Blast Furnaces (Including Coke Ovens), and Rolling Mills

Inspection Type:Accident
Scope:Complete Advanced Notice:N
Ownership:Private
Safety/Health:Health Close Conference:05/03/1996
Close Case:09/23/1997

Related Activity:TypeIDSafetyHealth
 Accident360429294    

Violation Summary
Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 31 31
Current Violations 31 31
Initial Penalty $0 $0 $0 $0 $460,000 $460,000
Current Penalty $0 $0 $0 $0 $460,000 $460,000
FTA Amount $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

Violation Items
# ID Type Standard Issuance Abate Curr$ Init$ Fta$ Contest LastEvent
  1. 01001 Unclass 19100022 A01 05/03/1996 05/03/1996 $15,000 $15,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  2. 01002 Unclass 19100023 A08 05/03/1996 05/03/1996 $15,000 $15,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  3. 01003 Unclass 19100023 C01 05/03/1996 06/30/1996 $15,000 $15,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  4. 01004 Unclass 19100023 C02 05/03/1996 05/03/1996 $15,000 $15,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  5. 01005 Unclass 19100023 C03 05/03/1996 05/10/1996 $15,000 $15,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  6. 01006 Unclass 19100132 A 05/03/1996 05/08/1996 $15,000 $15,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  7. 01007 Unclass 19100132 A 05/03/1996 05/08/1996 $15,000 $15,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  8. 01008 Unclass 19100132 D01 05/03/1996 05/08/1996 $15,000 $15,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  9. 01009 Unclass 19100134 B08 05/03/1996 08/01/1996 $15,000 $15,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  10. 01010 Unclass 19100134 B09 05/03/1996 05/03/1996 $15,000 $15,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  11. 01011A Unclass 19100134 F01 05/03/1996 05/16/1996 $15,000 $15,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  12. 01011B Unclass 19100134 F01 05/03/1996 05/03/1996 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  13. 01012 Unclass 19100134 F02 IV 05/03/1996 05/03/1996 $15,000 $15,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  14. 01013 Unclass 19100146 D03 II 05/03/1996 06/30/1996 $15,000 $15,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  15. 01014 Unclass 19100146 D03 III 05/03/1996 05/03/1996 $15,000 $15,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  16. 01015 Unclass 19100146 D10 05/03/1996 06/30/1996 $15,000 $15,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  17. 01016 Unclass 19100147 C04 II 05/03/1996 05/03/1996 $15,000 $15,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  18. 01017 Unclass 19100147 C04 II 05/03/1996 06/30/1996 $15,000 $15,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  19. 01018 Unclass 19100147 C06 I 05/03/1996 06/30/1996 $15,000 $15,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  20. 01019 Unclass 19100147 D03 05/03/1996 05/03/1996 $15,000 $15,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  21. 01020 Unclass 19100147 D04 I 05/03/1996 05/03/1996 $15,000 $15,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  22. 01021 Unclass 19100147 D05 I 05/03/1996 05/03/1996 $15,000 $15,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  23. 01022 Unclass 19100147 D06 05/03/1996 05/03/1996 $15,000 $15,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  24. 01023 Unclass 19100147 D06 05/03/1996 05/08/1996 $15,000 $15,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  25. 01024 Unclass 19100178 L 05/03/1996 10/31/1996 $15,000 $15,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  26. 01025 Unclass 19100178 P01 05/03/1996 05/03/1996 $15,000 $15,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  27. 01026 Unclass 19100178 Q07 05/03/1996 07/31/1996 $15,000 $15,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  28. 01027 Unclass 19100179 E01 II 05/03/1996 05/03/1996 $15,000 $15,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  29. 01028 Unclass 19100303 G02 I 05/03/1996 05/03/1996 $15,000 $15,000 $0 -
  30. 01029 Unclass 19100305 B01 05/03/1996 05/03/1996 $15,000 $15,000 $0 -
  31. 01030 Unclass 19100305 B02 05/03/1996 05/08/1996 $15,000 $15,000 $0 -
  32. 01031 Unclass 19100305 J03 I 05/03/1996 05/08/1996 $10,000 $10,000 $0 -

Accident Investigation Summary
Summary Nr: 699686Event: 12/05/1995Fourteen Employees Injured In Blast Furnace Area Explosion
On December 5, 1995, Employees #1 through #14 were attempting to swivel a blank into place into a 56 in. pipe. The purge for the system had been turned off and the gas level inside the piping system had not been tested to confirm the adequacy of the purge. An explosion occurred, followed by two additional smaller explosions, injuring Employees #1 through 14.
Keywords: work rules, blast furnace, explosion, purging
Inspection Degree Nature Occupation
1 103272134 Hospitalized injury Burn/Scald(Heat) Occupation not reported
2 103272134 Non Hospitalized injury Burn/Scald(Heat) Occupation not reported
3 103272134 Non Hospitalized injury Other Occupation not reported
4 103272134 Non Hospitalized injury Hearing Loss Occupation not reported
5 103272134 Hospitalized injury Burn/Scald(Heat) Occupation not reported
6 103272134 Non Hospitalized injury Hearing Loss Occupation not reported
7 103272134 Non Hospitalized injury Burn/Scald(Heat) Occupation not reported
8 103272134 Non Hospitalized injury Hearing Loss Occupation not reported
9 103272134 Non Hospitalized injury Hearing Loss Occupation not reported
10 103272134 Non Hospitalized injury Hearing Loss Occupation not reported
11 103272134 Non Hospitalized injury Hearing Loss Occupation not reported
12 103272134 Hospitalized injury Burn/Scald(Heat) Occupation not reported
13 103272134 Non Hospitalized injury Burn/Scald(Heat) Occupation not reported
14 103272134 Hospitalized injury Burn/Scald(Heat) Occupation not reported

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close