Powered by GoogleTranslate

Occupational Safety and Health Administration OSHA

Inspection Detail

Case Status: CLOSED

Inspection: 494598.015 - A C & S, Incorporated

Inspection Information - Office: Charleston

 

Inspection Nr: 494598.015
Report ID: 0316400
Open Date: 07/01/2012

Site Address:
A C & S, Incorporated
150 Plant Road
Nitro, WV 25143

Mailing Address:
Po Box 335, Nitro, WV 25143

Union Status: Union

SIC:

NAICS: 325110/Petrochemical Manufacturing


Inspection Type: Fat/Cat

Scope: Complete

Advanced Notice: N

Ownership: Private

Safety/Health: Health

Close Conference: 07/10/2012

Emphasis: N:Chemnep

Close Case:01/15/2013


Related Activity
Type Activity Nr Safety Health
Accident 420630
Case Status: CLOSED
Violation Summary
Violations/Penalties Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 9 6 15
Current Violations 5 8 13
Initial Penalty $42,700 $0 $0 $0 $0 $42,700
Current Penalty $25,200 $0 $0 $5,600 $0 $30,800
FTA Penalty $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

Violation Items
# Citation ID Citaton Type Standard Issuance Date Abatement Due Date Current Penalty Initial Penalty FTA Penalty Contest Latest Event Note
1. 01001 Serious 5A0001 12/20/2012 12/27/2012 $7,000 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
2. 01002 Other 19100023 D01 IV 12/20/2012 $2,100 $2,100 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
3. 01003A Serious 19100119 D03 I C 12/20/2012 01/03/2013 $3,500 $3,500 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
4. 01003B Serious 19100307 C 12/20/2012 01/03/2013 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
5. 01003C Serious 19100119 D03 II 12/20/2012 01/03/2013 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
6. 01004 Other 19100119 E03 VII 12/20/2012 01/10/2013 $3,500 $3,500 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
7. 01005 Serious 19100119 E05 12/20/2012 01/10/2013 $4,900 $4,900 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
8. 01006A Serious 19100119 F01 I D 12/20/2012 01/10/2013 $4,900 $4,900 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
9. 01006B Serious 19100119 F04 12/20/2012 01/10/2013 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
10. 01007 Serious 19100119 J02 12/20/2012 01/10/2013 $4,900 $4,900 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
11. 01008 Serious 19100134 I08 12/20/2012 12/27/2012 $7,000 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
12. 01009 Serious 19101200 H01 12/20/2012 12/27/2012 $4,900 $4,900 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
13. 02001 Other 19100022 D01 12/20/2012 12/27/2012 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
14. 02002 Other 19100095 D01 12/20/2012 12/27/2012 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
15. 02003 Other 19100119 C01 12/20/2012 01/10/2013 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
16. 02004 Other 19100134 D01 III 12/20/2012 12/27/2012 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
17. 02005 Other 19100212 A01 12/20/2012 12/27/2012 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
18. 02006 Other 19100212 B 12/20/2012 12/27/2012 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement  

Investigation Summary

Investigation Nr: 20515.015
Event: 06/25/2012
Employee Dies Of Asphyxiation After Supplied Air Hood Is Hoo

On June 25, 2012, an employee was preparing to sand blast steel pylons on unit 2 A and 2B. A coworker was instructed by an authorized sandblaster to hook up the air hose across the road. The coworker hooked up the airline to a nitrogen lin e instead of a supplied airline. The employee donned the supplied air hood and l ost consciousness due to asphyxiation from the nitrogen and died.

Keywords:air hose, nitrogen, respirator, sandblasting

Investigated Inspection
# Inspection Age Sex Degree Nature Occupation
1 494598.015 Fatality Laborers, except construction
Back to Top

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close