Powered by GoogleTranslate

Occupational Safety and Health Administration OSHA

Inspection Detail

Case Status: CLOSED

Inspection: 386022.015 - Express Energy Services Operating, Lp

Inspection Information - Office: Austin

 

Inspection Nr: 386022.015
Report ID: 0625400
Open Date: 04/05/2012

Site Address:
Express Energy Services Operating, Lp
County Road 192
Gonzales, TX 78629

Mailing Address:
9800 Richmond Ave Suite 700, Houston, TX 77042

Union Status: NonUnion

SIC:

NAICS: 213112/Support Activities for Oil and Gas Operations


Inspection Type: Fat/Cat

Scope: Partial

Advanced Notice: Y

Ownership: Private

Safety/Health: Safety

Close Conference:

Emphasis: L:Oilgas

Close Case:07/25/2013


Related Activity
Type Activity Nr Safety Health
Accident 255757
Case Status: CLOSED
Violation Summary
Violations/Penalties Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 3 1 4
Current Violations 2 1 3
Initial Penalty $21,000 $0 $0 $1,000 $0 $22,000
Current Penalty $14,000 $0 $0 $5,000 $0 $19,000
FTA Penalty $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

Violation Items
# Citation ID Citaton Type Standard Issuance Date Abatement Due Date Current Penalty Initial Penalty FTA Penalty Contest Latest Event Note
1. 01001 Serious 5A0001 09/28/2012 10/01/2012 $7,000 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
2. 01002 Serious 5A0001 09/28/2012 10/01/2012 $7,000 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
3. 01003A Serious 19100132 A 09/28/2012 10/01/2012 $7,000 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
4. 01003B Other 19100132 E 09/28/2012 10/01/2012 $5,000 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
5. 02001A Other 19040007 B03 09/28/2012 11/13/2012 $1,000 $1,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
6. 02001B Other 19040029 B01 09/28/2012 11/13/2012 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
7. 02001C Other 19040032 B06 09/28/2012 11/13/2012 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.

Investigation Summary

Investigation Nr: 14655.015
Event: 04/04/2012
Employee Is Killed In Fall From An Oil Derrick Rig

At 7:00 a.m. on April 4, 2012 an employee was working at the Patterson-UTI Rig N umber 235, just off County Road 192 in Gonzales County. The employee was guiding a walk board into place manually with both hands at a height of 50 feet on the oil rig derrick, Apex 1500. As the walk board was being hoisted into position, t he employee was guiding it to ensure it did not get stuck or damage while being raised. The employee was going to secure the walk board into place once position ed. The employee had on a fall protection derrick harness with a double-leg lany ard attached to the dorsal D-ring and a double-legged lanyard system. One of the lanyard legs was loose and the other was hooked to the employee's right, front harness strap. The employee was changing position on the derrick when his feet s lipped out from under him and he fell 50 feet on to the rig floor. The employee landed on the rig floor head first and bounced into a sitting position. One of t he hooks from the double-legged lanyard was hooked to his front, right harness s trap, while the other hook and lanyard was loose and not engaged. The derrick ha d excess crude oil or oil-based liquids visible on the beams of the derrick. Bot h legs of the lanyard system did not appear to have been engaged, and measured t o be approximately six feet in total length. The immediate supervisor was on sit e and in plain sight of the work being conducted by the employee. The employee a ppeared to have landed on the upper right side of his head, and was killed from blunt force trauma.

Keywords:digger/derrick, fall, fall protection, lost balance, oil well drilling/servicing

Investigated Inspection
# Inspection Age Sex Degree Nature Occupation
1 386022.015 Fatality Drillers, oil well
Back to Top

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close