Powered by GoogleTranslate

Occupational Safety and Health Administration OSHA

Inspection Detail

Inspection: 316505825 - H & G Underground Utilities Llc

Inspection Information - Office: Indiana

 

Inspection Nr: 316505825
Report ID: 0551800
Open Date: 05/21/2013

Site Address:
H & G Underground Utilities Llc
7324 Taft Street
Merrillville, IN 46410

Mailing Address:
7 Berkel Drive, La Porte, IN 46350

Union Status: Union

SIC:1623

NAICS: 237110/Water and Sewer Line and Related Structures Construction


Inspection Type: Accident

Scope: Complete

Advanced Notice: N

Ownership: Private

Safety/Health: Safety

Close Conference: 08/06/2013

Planning Guide: Safety-Construction

Emphasis: N:Trench

Close Case:10/29/2013


Related Activity
Type Activity Nr Safety Health
Accident 100994664
Violation Summary
Violations/Penalties Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 7 1 8
Current Violations 7 7
Initial Penalty $14,700 $0 $0 $2,100 $0 $16,800
Current Penalty $14,700 $0 $0 $0 $0 $14,700
FTA Penalty $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

Violation Items
# Citation ID Citaton Type Standard Issuance Date Abatement Due Date Current Penalty Initial Penalty FTA Penalty Contest Latest Event Note
1. 01001 Serious 19100333 C03 IIIA 09/23/2013 09/26/2013 $2,100 $2,100 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
2. 01002 Serious 19100333 C03 IIIB 09/23/2013 09/26/2013 $2,100 $2,100 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
3. 01003 Serious 19260020 B01 09/23/2013 11/08/2013 $2,100 $2,100 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
4. 01004 Serious 19260020 B02 09/23/2013 10/18/2013 $2,100 $2,100 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
5. 01005 Serious 19260021 B02 09/23/2013 09/26/2013 $2,100 $2,100 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
6. 01006 Serious 19260651 K01 09/23/2013 09/26/2013 $2,100 $2,100 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
7. 01007 Serious 19260652 A01 09/23/2013 09/26/2013 $2,100 $2,100 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
8. 02001 Other 19040039 A 09/23/2013 09/26/2013 $0 $2,100 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.

Investigation Summary

Investigation Nr: 202637567
Event: 05/17/2013
Worker Installing Water Pipeline Is Electrocuted

At approximately 12:15 p.m. on May 17, 2013, Employee #1, of H & G Underground Utilities LLC, was involved in the installation of a new water pipeline. He was attempting to guide a 16-inch ductile iron pipe into a trench. The pipe was attached to the excavator with a wire rope sling. At the same time, the excavator's boom was in contact with a 7,200-volt unprotected overhead power line. Employee #1 touched the pipe. Employee #1 was electrocuted.

Keywords:installing, overhead power line, boom, electrocuted, construction, trench, pipeline, excavator, water pipe, hand

Investigated Inspection
# Inspection Age Sex Degree Nature Occupation
1 316505825 Fatality Electric Shock Construction trades, n.e.c.
Back to Top

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close