Powered by GoogleTranslate

Occupational Safety and Health Administration OSHA

Inspection Detail

Inspection: 311632285 - Difama Concrete, Inc.

Inspection Information - Office: Manhattan

 

Inspection Nr: 311632285
Report ID: 0215000
Open Date: 01/14/2008

Site Address:
Difama Concrete, Inc.
246 Spring Street
New York, NY 10013

Mailing Address:
131 Imlay Street, Brooklyn, NY 11231

Union Status: Union

SIC:1771

NAICS: 238110/Poured Concrete Foundation and Structure Contractors


Inspection Type: Accident

Scope: Complete

Advanced Notice: N

Ownership: Private

Safety/Health: Safety

Close Conference: 06/17/2008

Emphasis: L:Fall, S:Fall From Height

Close Case:08/04/2008


Related Activity
Type Activity Nr Safety Health
Accident 102449683
Violation Summary
Violations/Penalties Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 7 3 10
Current Violations 3 2 5
Initial Penalty $66,500 $0 $37,500 $0 $0 $104,000
Current Penalty $19,000 $0 $25,000 $0 $0 $44,000
FTA Penalty $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

Violation Items
# Citation ID Citaton Type Standard Issuance Date Abatement Due Date Current Penalty Initial Penalty FTA Penalty Contest Latest Event Note
1. 01001 Serious 19260501 B04 I 07/11/2008 07/19/2008 $0 $2,500 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
2. 01002 Serious 19260703 A01 07/11/2008 07/19/2008 $7,000 $7,000 $0 -  
3. 01003 Serious 19260703 A02 07/11/2008 07/19/2008 $7,000 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
4. 01004 Serious 19260703 B01 07/11/2008 07/19/2008 $7,000 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
5. 01005 Serious 19260703 B07 07/11/2008 07/19/2008 $7,000 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
6. 01006A Serious 19260501 B04 I 07/11/2008 07/19/2008 $5,000 $2,500 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
7. 01006B Serious 19260502 I04 07/11/2008 07/19/2008 $0 $12,500 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
8. 01007A Serious 19260703 A02 07/11/2008 07/19/2008 $7,000 $7,000 $0 -  
9. 01007B Serious 19260703 B01 07/11/2008 07/19/2008 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
10. 01007C Serious 19260703 B07 07/11/2008 07/19/2008 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
11. 02001 Repeat 19260502 I04 07/11/2008 07/19/2008 $12,500 $12,500 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
12. 02002 Repeat 19260503 C03 07/11/2008 07/19/2008 $12,500 $12,500 $0 -  
13. 02003 Repeat 19260701 B 07/11/2008 07/19/2008 $12,500 $12,500 $0 -  

Investigation Summary

Investigation Nr: 202341939
Event: 01/14/2008
One Killed, One Injured When Concrete Forms Collapse

On January 14, 2008, Employees #1 and #2 and a coworker, of DiFama Concrete, Inc., were pouring concrete on the forty-second floor of a new building when the concrete forms collapsed and fell to the fortieth floor. Employee #1 fell all the way to the ground and was killed. Employee #2 fell into the cantilever net three floors below, and suffered a fractured arm and leg. He was successfully rescued from the netting by the Fire Department and by coworkers using a debris container suspended from a crane. The coworker with Employees #1 nad #2 was able to climb to safety. A coworker from another company who was on the pouring floor at the time of the accident was also able to climb to safety. Employee #2 was admitted to the hospital for treatment of his injuries. The coworkers were treated and released that same day.

Keywords:concrete form work, fracture, collapse, work rules, construction, equipment failure, fall, fall protection, arm, leg

Investigated Inspection
# Inspection Age Sex Degree Nature Occupation
1 311632285 Fatality Other Occupation not reported
2 311632285 Hospitalized injury Other Occupation not reported
Back to Top

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close