Powered by GoogleTranslate

Occupational Safety and Health Administration OSHA

Inspection Detail

Inspection: 306139189 - West Pharmaceutical Services

Inspection Information - Office: Nc Raleigh

 

Inspection Nr: 306139189
Report ID: 0453710
Open Date: 01/29/2003

Site Address:
West Pharmaceutical Services
2525 Rouse Road Extension
Kinston, NC 28504

Mailing Address:
Po Box 1048, Kinston, NC 28503

Union Status: NonUnion

SIC:3061

NAICS: 326291/Rubber Product Manufacturing for Mechanical Use


Inspection Type: Accident

Scope: Partial

Advanced Notice: N

Ownership: Private

Safety/Health: Safety

Close Conference: 07/15/2003

Planning Guide: Safety-Manufacturing

Emphasis:

Close Case:10/08/2003


Related Activity
Type Activity Nr Safety Health
Accident 100354927
Violation Summary
Violations/Penalties Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 86 86
Current Violations 1 1
Initial Penalty $602,000 $0 $0 $0 $0 $602,000
Current Penalty $100,000 $0 $0 $0 $0 $100,000
FTA Penalty $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

Violation Items
# Citation ID Citaton Type Standard Issuance Date Abatement Due Date Current Penalty Initial Penalty FTA Penalty Contest Latest Event Note
1. 01001 Serious 95012901 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $100,000 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
2. 01002 Serious 95012901 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
3. 01003 Serious 95012901 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
4. 01004 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
5. 01005 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
6. 01006 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
7. 01007 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
8. 01008 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
9. 01009 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
10. 01010 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
11. 01011 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
12. 01012 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
13. 01013 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
14. 01014 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
15. 01015 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
16. 01016 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
17. 01017 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
18. 01018 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
19. 01019 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
20. 01020 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
21. 01021 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
22. 01022 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
23. 01023 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
24. 01024 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
25. 01025 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
26. 01026 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
27. 01027 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
28. 01028 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
29. 01029 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
30. 01030 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
31. 01031 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
32. 01032 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
33. 01033 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
34. 01034 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
35. 01035 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
36. 01036 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
37. 01037 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
38. 01038 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
39. 01039 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
40. 01040 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
41. 01041 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
42. 01042 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
43. 01043 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
44. 01044 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
45. 01045 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
46. 01046 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
47. 01047 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
48. 01048 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
49. 01049 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
50. 01050 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
51. 01051 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
52. 01052 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
53. 01053 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
54. 01054 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
55. 01055 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
56. 01056 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
57. 01057 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
58. 01058 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
59. 01059 Serious 19100307 B 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
60. 01060 Serious 19101200 H03 II 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
61. 01061 Serious 19101200 H03 II 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
62. 01062 Serious 19101200 H03 II 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
63. 01063 Serious 19101200 H03 II 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
64. 01064 Serious 19101200 H03 II 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
65. 01065 Serious 19101200 H03 II 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
66. 01066 Serious 19101200 H03 II 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
67. 01067 Serious 19101200 H03 II 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
68. 01068 Serious 19101200 H03 II 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
69. 01069 Serious 19101200 H03 II 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
70. 01070 Serious 19101200 H03 II 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
71. 01071 Serious 19101200 H03 II 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
72. 01072 Serious 19101200 H03 II 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
73. 01073 Serious 19101200 H03 II 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
74. 01074 Serious 19101200 H03 II 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
75. 01075 Serious 19101200 H03 II 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
76. 01076 Serious 19101200 H03 II 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
77. 01077 Serious 19101200 H03 II 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
78. 01078 Serious 19101200 H03 II 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
79. 01079 Serious 19101200 H03 II 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
80. 01080 Serious 19101200 H03 II 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
81. 01081 Serious 19101200 H03 II 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
82. 01082 Serious 19101200 H03 II 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
83. 01083 Serious 19101200 H03 II 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
84. 01084 Serious 19101200 H03 II 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
85. 01085 Serious 19101200 H03 II 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
86. 01086 Serious 19101200 H03 II 07/16/2003 08/11/2003 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.

Investigation Summary

Investigation Nr: 200352961
Event: 01/29/2003
Six Employees Died From Combustible Dust Explosion

On January 29, 2003, combustible dust was ignited and caused an initial explosion in the Milling Room, which dislodged ceiling tiles, steel beams, and wall panels. The explosion created a large quantity of combustible dust in suspension, which was added fuel to the blast wave from the first explosion, creating a second and larger explosion that exited through the roof of the northeast tower section of the building. Employees #1, #2, and #3 were killed in the explosion and Employees #4, #5, and #6 died later from their injuries at the UNC Burn Center in Chapel Hill, NC.

Keywords:explosion, combustible dust

Investigated Inspection
# Inspection Age Sex Degree Nature Occupation
1 306139189 Fatality Burn/Scald(Heat) Occupation not reported
2 306139189 Fatality Burn/Scald(Heat) Occupation not reported
3 306139189 Fatality Fracture Janitors and cleaners
4 306139189 Fatality Burn/Scald(Heat) Stock handlers and baggers
5 306139189 Fatality Burn/Scald(Heat) Occupation not reported
6 306139189 Fatality Burn/Scald(Heat) Stock handlers and baggers
Back to Top

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close