Powered by GoogleTranslate

Occupational Safety and Health Administration OSHA

Inspection Detail

Inspection: 304982291 - M.A. Mortenson

Inspection Information - Office: Denver

 

Inspection Nr: 304982291
Report ID: 0830500
Open Date: 10/30/2002

Site Address:
M.A. Mortenson
2500 East 2nd Avenue
Denver, CO 80206

Mailing Address:
, , 00000

Union Status: NonUnion

SIC:1541

NAICS: 236220/Commercial and Institutional Building Construction


Inspection Type: Complaint

Scope: Partial

Advanced Notice: N

Ownership: Private

Safety/Health: Safety

Close Conference: 12/09/2002

Emphasis: L:Fall, S:Construction

Close Case:02/21/2003


Related Activity
Type Activity Nr Safety Health
Complaint 203811542 Yes
Violation Summary
Violations/Penalties Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 4 4
Current Violations 3 3
Initial Penalty $18,000 $0 $0 $0 $0 $18,000
Current Penalty $0 $0 $0 $13,500 $0 $13,500
FTA Penalty $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

Violation Items
# Citation ID Citaton Type Standard Issuance Date Abatement Due Date Current Penalty Initial Penalty FTA Penalty Contest Latest Event Note
1. 01001A Serious 19260451 E09 I 01/27/2003 02/13/2003 $0 $4,500 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
2. 01001B Other 19260451 E09 II 01/27/2003 02/13/2003 $4,500 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
3. 01002 Serious 19260451 E09 III 01/27/2003 02/13/2003 $0 $4,500 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
4. 01003 Other 19260451 F08 01/27/2003 02/13/2003 $4,500 $4,500 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
5. 01004 Other 19260454 C02 01/27/2003 02/13/2003 $4,500 $4,500 $0 I - Informal Settlement  

Investigation Summary

Investigation Nr: 201572229
Event: 10/22/2002
Employee Injured After Falling From Scaffolding

On October 22, 2002, Employee #1, a carpenter, was working with a crew of four to move approximately six 20-ft-long by 27-ft-high sections of scaffolding. The employer used a tower crane to move the scaffolding from one side of an excavation to another. The crew was instructed to climb the scaffolding using duel lanyard attached to a harness and scaffolding framework. Employee #1 climbed the scaffolding to rig it for the move; climbed down prior to the move; and then ascended it again to take off the rigging. The employee was on his way down when he fell approximately 22 ft. Employee #1 had climbed down the cross bracing, attached to a "sway bar" with his lanyard and his sway bar was not adequately secured, so when the employee fell, the lanyard gave way and he fell to the ground. Employee #1 was hospitalized.

Keywords:excavation, metal rail, unsecured, carpenter, lanyard, fall, fall protection, concussion, scaffold rigging, scaffold

Investigated Inspection
# Inspection Age Sex Degree Nature Occupation
1 304982291 Hospitalized injury Concussion Carpenters
Back to Top

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close